The Darkest Star

Featured
 
4.7
 
4.3 (1)
2953 0
The Darkest Star
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
October 30, 2018
ISBN
978-1250175731
Buy This Book
      

n the world of the Lux, secrets thrive, lies shatter, and love is undeniable. #1 New York Times, USA Today, and internationally bestselling author Jennifer L. Armentrout brings her trademark drama and intrigue to a new romantic YA science fiction series with The Darkest Star. A girl pulled into in a world she doesn't understand finds herself confronted by long buried secrets, a betrayal that could tear her life apart...and Armentrout's most swoonworthy book boyfriend yet. Seventeen-year-old Evie Dasher knows firsthand the devastating consequences of humanity's war with the aliens. When she's caught up in a raid at a notorious club known as one of the few places where humans and the surviving Luxen can mingle freely, she meets Luc, an unnaturally beautiful guy she initially assumes is a Luxen...but he is in fact something much more powerful. Her growing attraction for Luc will lead her deeper and deeper into a world she'd only heard about, a world where everything she thought she knew will be turned on its head...

Editor reviews

1 reviews

The Darkest Star
(Updated: September 06, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
After the alien invasion, things have calmed down. Well, somewhat. Evie doesn't know her world will be turned upside down after she goes with her friend to bar known to host Luxen. Secrets are everywhere. Secrets that involve her too. And there's a new alien in town. Only he's not Luxen, but something else. Can Evie trust him enough to learn the truth about not only herself, but her family as well?

What worked: I'm a huge fan of Armentrout's Lux series. I even named my bird after Daemon, the hot Lux alien! So when I found out she wrote another book in that world, I had to read it!

Let's just say I wasn't disappointed!

There's much to love about this new book in the Lux world. Evie is someone who is loyal to her friends and her mother. That doesn't mean she doesn't question about her dead father and parts of her memory of the time before the invasion. When she meets Luc, it's not love at first sight. He's abrupt and almost rude to her in the bar. Later though sparks do fly.

I have to admit, I love Daemon in the Lux series. Luc at first comes across as cocky and full of himself. What I love is how Armentrout shows little vulnerabilities Luc has like how he tries to help Luxen that are on the run from a government that has prejudices against them. He also looks out for Evie even when she does her best to push him away. Luc worms into readers hearts though. By the end of the book I wanted more between them!

Captivating new book in the Lux world with a new hot hero to root for. I hope this isn't the end of Luc and Evie! Fans of the Lux series will totally love this story too!
Good Points
1. Exciting new book in the Lux world
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Worth the Read
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Okay, let's be honest here. Let's just get everything out in the open, shall we? No one and I mean no one is every going to replace Katy and Daemon. Never. That being said, I really like Luc. I've been interested in his character since I read the Lux series. Evie on the other hand... seems a little bland me to me. She's a perfectly fine character and I liked following her around. I loved getting to see her reactions to the big secrets and I loved the little bits of Daemon we got and meeting all these new characters.

I just loved being back in this world again, even if it feels like everything has changed. Sometimes it felt like this new Lux story world mirrored ours in ways that just left a sour taste in my mouth. I read to escape the horrid world in which I live in, not to see glimpses of it through a different lens. I know not everything everything this way and so I knocked no stars for it. Because this is al personal opinions.

Now, I really liked the friendship moments we got in here, you could see that Evie had some great friends and I loved how everyone seemed to work so perfectly together. It's nice to see the man that Luc is growing into, poor guy had been through way too much in his short life and I like that he can still laugh and smile through it.

Evie also went through a lot and really overall, I thought she handled it well. All the characters were great as any JLA book and the dialogue was great, there was even a little banter between our two leads. I also think that if you've never read the Lux series, you could jump into this one with no issues but I FULLY recommend reading the Lux series first as it's breathtakingly amazing!

My only real compliant with this story is just.... the feel of it. Maybe this is also just me but the world in this book just felt less vivid than the pervious one. None of the places really stood out as much in my mind. The Club, her home and Luc's apartment were all that really stood out.

Anyway, I'm knit-picking now, overall, I loved reading this, powered through it in only two days. Laughed my butt off at certain parts and gasped in others when something twisty happened. If you're looking for a fun read with some freaking great characters, grab this book! I can't believe I waited so long to read it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...

Latest Member Reviews

Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."
Crush (Crave, #2)
 
4.7
"CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first..."
The Shadow War
 
3.0
"Audiobook review: Following 5 teens trying to survive, THE SHADOW WAR imagines World War II with a..."
Meet Cute: Some people are destined to meet
 
4.0
"MEET CUTE is a fun, romantic anthology featuring stories about people first meeting. Ranging from cute to funny to dark..."
Glimpsed
 
3.7
"GLIMPSED gives us a twist on the typical fairytale with Charity, a fairy godmother from a line of fairy godmothers...."