Dare You to Lie

Featured
 
4.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1921 0
Dare You to Lie
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
September 04, 2018
ISBN
978-0765397676
Buy This Book
      

When her FBI agent father is framed for murder, Kylene is forced to move in with her grandfather, back to the small town that turned its back on her, and the boy who betrayed her. All Ky cares about is clearing her father’s name, but someone won’t let her forget the photo scandal that drove her away two years ago. As the threats gain momentum, Ky finds an unlikely ally in the rookie FBI agent sent to keep an eye on her. Determined to expose the town's hidden skeletons, Ky unwittingly thrusts herself into a much bigger plot. They thought she’d forgive and forget. They’re about to learn they messed with the wrong girl.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Dare You to Lie
(Updated: October 22, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
DARE YOU TO LIE by Amber Lynn Natusch is a young adult suspense novel that follows Kylene after she moves back to a small town, the place she left after nude photos of her were spread through her high school. When it happened, she suspected six football players, including her ex-boyfriend, but no one was ever charged with the crime. Her father, on the other hand, was unfairly convicted for a separate incident and sent to prison. Kylene is determined to prove her dad’s innocence, but realizes she needs to find out who did her wrong first. With the help of a lawyer, her mom’s best friend, and an FBI agent, her father’s old partner, Kylene starts searching for the truth, but the closer she gets, the more dangerous it becomes.

I love Kylene’s character. She’s a witty, sarcastic, modern-day Nancy Drew. She’s too angry for her own good, which tends to get her into trouble, but her smarts save her time and time again. She also has wonderful people around her that have her back. I have a soft spot in my heart for Gramps, and Tabby is a compelling character, who I would have loved to see come through in more resourceful ways like she does in the parking lot scene. After that, Natusch relegates her to the yappy, upbeat sidekick, and we the audience, lose out on all she has to offer.

The book itself is a very enjoyable read and I was invested in the story, but with that being said, so much happens in such quick succession that I never felt the lingering effects of fear. As a result, though entertaining, it wasn’t necessarily a page-turner. It was a book I had to digest in sections.

I would have liked this book to be a standalone, or at least for both crimes to have been solved by the end. It felt like it took a little while to really get the ball rolling. However, I am happy that there’s potential for a sequel, so we can see Kylene put her sleuthing skills back to the test.

Overall, DARE YOU TO LIE is timely, delivering a relevant political message with sass and ingenuity.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Thrilling page turner
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
DARE YOU TO LIE follows Kylene Danners after her father is framed for murder. After being found guilty Ky must return to the town that she ran from after a photo scandal. Ky’s only care is clearing her fathers' name but no one will let her forget her past and Ky will have to decide how far she’s willing to go to uncover the truth, get her father out of prison, and keep her and her friends safe.

Dare You to Lie was the perfect blend of creepy and intriguing and there is nothing I like more than an intense page-turner. Ky from the very beginning was a great character who at times could be unlikable. She couldn’t let things go and she always had to have the last word but those moments made her feel more real to me. She was a character that stuck to her guns even if someone didn’t agree and I admired how dedicated she was to clearing her fathers' name.

Other than the characters what really pulled me into this and had me turning the pages as fast as I could was the conspiracy behind both Ky and her fathers' cases. Two seemingly random cases that begin to relate to each other more and more. And every time you got more of the puzzle you just ended up more confused than ever. I love being able to guess who the bad guys are but even I was stumped. Natusch not only writes great characters but writes an amazing plot that keeps you guessing far past the ending. One thing I will mention is that this book does have mentions of sexual assault and abuse. It’s nothing graphic and they don’t go into detail but it does come up throughout this book.

Overall I went into this book only knowing it was related to Veronica Mars and I left with a whole mess of questions and a need for the next book. Natusch has caught my attention and kept it. With a plot that won’t quit and characters you can’t help but like Dare You to Lie is a must read. It’s clever, funny, edge of your seat thrilling and I read the entire book in a day. If mysteries and town conspiracies are your thing then I highly recommend picking up Dare You to Lie.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates are...
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mischievous Ntombi is not at all afraid of the fearsome...
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Brave young Pedro faces monsters and greedy guards when he...
What Beauty There Is
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Beauty There Is is Cory Anderson's stunning YA...
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This original board book series, which begins with America's favorite...
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This hilarious story of a pangolin with an identity crisis...
Poison Priestess (Lady Slayers, #2)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
In 17th-century Paris, 19-year-old Catherine Monvoisin is a well-heeled...
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
When Sam can’t sleep, he decides to ask all the...
The Prison Healer (The Prison Healer, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kiva Meridan has spent the last ten years...
Fate Calling
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A cursed fae prince. A lonely human lass. A...
Welcome to California
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to California! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
Zoe Rosenthal is Not Lawful Good
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A buttoned-up overachiever works overtime to keep her inner...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi, this...
The Sky Above Us
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
From the author of We Speak in Storms comes...
Zoom: Dinosaur Adventure
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Join Jasmine and Jamie as they travel back in time...
Let's Pretend Fire Station
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's a busy day at the fire station! Chldren can...

Latest Member Reviews

The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
"‘The Mother of Monsters’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, tells the story of Ntombi, the chief's daughter. She..."
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
"‘Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, is great for younger elementary readers and anyone who..."
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
"BASEBALL BABY is a delightful board book about baseball. The book begins with heading to the park to play baseball..."
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
"I AM NOT A PENGUIN is a silly picture book that manages to teach young readers about pangolins. A pangolin..."
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
"SAM CAN'T SLEEP is a fun picture book read that introduces the concept of nocturnal animals. It's nighttime, and all..."
Welcome to California
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO CALIFORNIA is a fun picture book of facts about the state. It covers topics from the state capitol..."
Zoom: Dinosaur Adventure
 
4.5
"ZOOM: DINOSAUR ADVENTURE takes the reader on a journey to the time of the dinosaurs. Jamie and Jasmine are going..."
Let's Pretend Fire Station
 
5.0
"LET'S PRETEND FIRE STATION is a delightful peek-through board book about firefighters. The book features pictures of children, firetrucks, and..."
Rosa Loves Dinosaurs / A Rosa Le Encantan Los Dinosaurios
 
3.5
"ROSA LOVES DINOSAURS/ A ROSA LE ENCANTAN LOS DINOSAURIOS is a fun bilingual board book about a love of dinosaurs...."
Eva Evergreen, Semi-Magical Witch
 
5.0
"Eva Evergreen is a young witch about to embark on her Novice Quest. As the daughter of one of the..."
Homer on the Case
 
4.5
"HOMER ON THE CASE is a delightful middle grade mystery, featuring unlikely detectives. Homer, a homing pigeon, and Lulu, a..."
The Thingity-Jig
 
5.0
"THE THINGITY-JIG is a fun picture book read about invention and friendship. Although all his friends are asleep, Bear feels..."
Bridge of Souls (City of Ghosts #3)
 
4.0
"What worked: This is a satisfying conclusion to City of Ghosts series. Engaging characters, fast-paced plot, and spooky magic woven..."
This is Your World
 
5.0
"THIS IS YOUR WORLD is a lovely picture book that introduces the world and the importance of taking care of..."
Mermaid Life: The Joy of Making Waves
 
5.0
"MERMAID LIFE is a fun collection of artwork themed around mermaids. With a few fun facts, silly moments, and inspirational..."
Yawn
 
4.5
"YAWN is a cute book about the contagious nature of yawns. A little boy begins a yawn that carries through..."
The Bear in the Boat
 
4.5
"THE BEAR IN THE BOAT is a sweet story of kindness and helping your neighbors. A storm is arriving, and..."
It's Bath Time! (Indestructibles)
 
4.5
"IT'S BATH TIME! is an adorable installment in the Indestructibles series. The book features baby animals and baby who have..."
I Really, Really Need to Pee!
 
4.0
"I REALLY, REALLY NEED TO PEE! is a silly picture book about a bush baby that is out and about..."
Bloom
 
4.5
"BLOOM is a sweet picture book about the power of kind words. A young girl passes by a beautiful flower..."