A Touch of Gold

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1024 0
A Touch of Gold
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
August 14, 2018
ISBN
978-0310766353
Buy This Book
      

King Midas once had the ability to turn all he touched into gold. But after his gift—or curse—almost killed his daughter, Midas relinquished The Touch forever. Ten years later, Princess Kora still bears the consequences of her father’s wish: her skin shines golden, rumors follow her everywhere she goes, and she harbors secret powers that are getting harder to hide. Kora spends her days locked in the palace, concealed behind gloves and veils, trying to ignore the stares and gossip of courtiers. It isn’t until a charming young duke arrives that Kora realizes there may be someone out there who doesn’t fear her or her curse. But their courtship is disrupted when a thief steals precious items from the kingdom, leaving the treasury depleted and King Midas vulnerable. Thanks to her unique ability to sense gold, Kora is the only one who can track the thief down. As she sails off on her quest, Kora learns that not everything is what it seems—not thieves, not pirates, and not even curses. She quickly discovers that gold—and the power it brings—is more dangerous than she’d ever believed. Midas learned his lesson at a price. What will Kora’s journey cost?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

One seriously wild ride
(Updated: August 14, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
When I read the synopsis for this book I was immediately intrigued. I love retellings and this book seemed right up my alley. A TOUCH OF GOLD follows Kora, King Midas’s daughter. When an accident almost results in her death Midas gives up his power and retreats behind the safety of his palace walls. Leaving Kora alone to deal with her curse alone. When a thief steals valuable items, the only one who can bring the items back is Kora. She will have to face her fear of the outside world and what her curse could do if she hopes to save her kingdom.

What I loved about this book was immediately how drawn I was into the story. Annie had me invested from the very first page. Giving us mysteries bit by bit and leading us across the ocean to battle pirates and thieves. I went into it knowing nothing and Ioved that everything was so unexpected and that at each turn the characters surprised me. The pace of the story was also extremely well done. There was a lot of time spent at sea and I never once felt like it was dragging on. Each moment was important and nothing felt forced or put in as a placeholder for the next scene.

One of the reasons this book worked so well for me was because of the characters and their growth throughout the book. When I first met Kora and Hettie and got inside Kora’s head I wasn’t sure how I felt about either of them. But the more I read the more I fell in love with them. Kora spends a lot of the time making assumptions about the people closest to her and the entire book you see how all of her assumptions are based on her fears rather than truth. There’s a lot of really great characters but Kora is by far the one with the most character development. She spent her life being afraid and it takes this journey to show her that it doesn’t have to be that way. People will always be afraid of her but the right people will love her and support her regardless. Then there’s Hettie. When she first came on board I wasn’t sure I liked her, but I have never fallen in love with a character faster. Because we see her through the eyes of Kora we get this image of Hettie being spoiled and lazy, but as time continues on the ship we get the real Hettie. Who is funny, brave, and loyal.

One more thing I loved was PIRATES. I mean who doesn’t love a good pirate book. This one had them and more. That being said, A couple things I wasn’t a fan of how fast the ending seemed. It felt a bit rushed and a little convenient. And for me, it was a bit easy to guess who was going to betray Kora. Those were my only issues with the book, which in the end aren’t enough to take away from how great this story was. I was just as invested and in love with this story as ever. And that ending, despite being fast definitely left me wanting more! I’m not sure if this will turn into more books, so far it says it’s a stand alone. But I would love to know what happens next for Kora and Hettie, and Royce. Something tells me this is not the end for our lovely group.

Overall I loved this book. I have been in a bit of a slump and this book was the perfect blend of mystery, fantasy, and amazing characters. I went into this not knowing anything about King Midas and walked away with a story that will be stuck in my head for days. Annie took a myth that I never thought I would be interested in and completely grabbed my attention. I highly highly recommend this one. Especially if you like retellings.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Violet Choudhury has a huge secret. During the day she's part of her Midwestern town's cheer squad and at..."
Daughter of Chaos (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #2)
 
5.0
"DAUGHTER OF CHAOS is another delightful spin-off book from the Netflix version of Sabrina. This one takes place between Parts..."