True Storm

Featured
 
3.7
 
3.7 (1)
880 0
True Storm
Age Range
12+
Release Date
May 01, 2018
ISBN
978-1640631762
Buy This Book
      

Lucy’s twin sister, Margot, may be safely back with her―but all is not well in Plague-ravaged Dominion City. The Watchers have come out of hiding, spreading chaos and death throughout the city, and suddenly Lucy finds herself torn between three men with secrets of their own. Betrayal is a cruel lesson, and the Fox sisters can hardly believe who is behind the plot against them. To survive this deadly game of politics, Lucy is forced to agree to a marriage of convenience. But DNA isn't the only thing they want from Lucy...or her sister. As they say in Dominion, rogue genes can never have a happy ending...

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Politics, Drama, and Dystopia
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
TRUE STORM is the final book in the True Born Series. With Margot back home with Lucy, Nolan Storm believes they should go back and finish school because it's important to graduate. As their guardian, they have to do as he says. It's hard to return to mundane life of school when both of them are so different now after what they've been through. The Watchers are still out there somewhere, so they'll have to watch their back.

Lucy also faces three men who seek her hand. Alastair, Storm, and Jared. Jared is so hot and cold, but Lucy can't help the way she feels for him. She only wishes that he'd make up his mind about her. With the truth of Margot and Lucy revealed and all that's happened, Margot isn't herself. She pushes Lucy away and won't tell her what's happened. Even with three guys wanting her attention, Lucy still feels alone without the conversations with her sister.

TRUE STORM answers any lingering questions I've had. It ties everything together and we finally learn what their parents have been up to. I was a little upset about Alastair's character because I liked him so much in the last one. The romance still isn't there as much, but the action, betrayal, and secrets are. I absolutely love the secret language between Margot and Lucy. It was great to see them back together again even though both, especially Margot, are mentally scarred.


Final Verdict: This series has been full of so many secrets and information on genetics that I liked to see it all come together in this last book. I would recommend this to fans of drama, politics, post-apocalyptic times, and mutations in genetics (like X-Men).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
pretty good
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
"True Storm" is the conclusion to the trilogy I have been loving since the first book. In this unique world, a plague has infected humanity, resulting in a old-style Western atmosphere. At the age of 18, everyone is classified according to their plague status- Laster (will die from the plague), Splicer (they can have genetic therapies to live a little longer- if they have the money), or True Born (mutations which make them immune to the plague but manifest in animal-like characteristics such as fur or tails).

Lucinda (Lucy or Lu) and Margot are something else entirely, and we've waited through the first two books. They were conjoined twins, separated at birth- and their separation scars resemble a lock and key. Lucy is able to sense Margot's feelings, and this comes in handy when Margot disappears. Lucy goes to the True Borns for help to find and rescue Margot. Now, in the aftermath, Lucy feels fractured- Margot is blocking her out. Margot seems traumatized by her experiences (which makes sense- she was kidnapped and her eggs were harvested and turned into some sort of plague "cure"). Things are more complicated than they appear, as we find out later. Add to the mix that people are saying that together, somehow, Margot and Lucy are supposed to be the key to the permanent plague cure, and we have some plot intensity.

Luckily, we get answers about what exactly Margot and Lucy are, and how they tie into the prophecy/plague cure. If you enjoyed the back-and-forth between Lucy and her instalove Jared, you are in luck because it continues in this book. I loved their romance and the idea of the two of them together (plus they had so many steamy kisses!) but I wished they would quit it with the "but we can't/shouldn't be together"- it seemed like they were pushing/pulling a lot. The love triangle with Ali is back, and it takes some turns that really surprised me! I won't say more to avoid spoilers.

I enjoyed the book overall, but I felt that the ending was too abrupt, and I would have liked to see things play out a little further. It almost felt like there would be another follow-up, but I doubt it as this is the third book in a trilogy. We are left with the impressions of what will follow, but it's not as clear/determined as I would have hoped (an epilogue or something for full closure would have been nice in my opinion). The writing is great- fast-paced and enthralling. I think fans of the first books will enjoy this finale overall (although I will mention as a warning that there is a main character death that shocked me- and it's very sad!).

Please note that I received an ARC from the publisher through netgalley. All opinions are my own.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."
Summer and July
 
5.0
"'Summer and July' by Paul Mosier is a beautifully written story perfect for summer reading. Readers will find themselves immersed..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
"SCARLET ODYSSEY is a high fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Men are often raised to be..."
Tigers, Not Daughters
 
5.0
"TIGERS, NOT DAUGHTERS is a lyrical book of sisterhood and grief. The Torres sisters had tried to escape their father..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
4.0
"The fallout and protests following police choking George Floyd to death in Minnesota has consumed social media for the last..."
when you were everything
 
4.3
"WHEN YOU WERE EVERYTHING by Ashley Woodfolk is a YA Contemporary novel told in two timelines, “then” and “now.” The..."
Path of Night (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #3)
 
5.0
"PATH OF NIGHT is another great installment of the books based on the Netflix show, CHILLING ADVENTURES OF SABRINA. This..."