True Storm

Featured
 
3.7
 
3.7 (1)
990 0
True Storm
Age Range
12+
Release Date
May 01, 2018
ISBN
978-1640631762
Buy This Book
      

Lucy’s twin sister, Margot, may be safely back with her―but all is not well in Plague-ravaged Dominion City. The Watchers have come out of hiding, spreading chaos and death throughout the city, and suddenly Lucy finds herself torn between three men with secrets of their own. Betrayal is a cruel lesson, and the Fox sisters can hardly believe who is behind the plot against them. To survive this deadly game of politics, Lucy is forced to agree to a marriage of convenience. But DNA isn't the only thing they want from Lucy...or her sister. As they say in Dominion, rogue genes can never have a happy ending...

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Politics, Drama, and Dystopia
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
TRUE STORM is the final book in the True Born Series. With Margot back home with Lucy, Nolan Storm believes they should go back and finish school because it's important to graduate. As their guardian, they have to do as he says. It's hard to return to mundane life of school when both of them are so different now after what they've been through. The Watchers are still out there somewhere, so they'll have to watch their back.

Lucy also faces three men who seek her hand. Alastair, Storm, and Jared. Jared is so hot and cold, but Lucy can't help the way she feels for him. She only wishes that he'd make up his mind about her. With the truth of Margot and Lucy revealed and all that's happened, Margot isn't herself. She pushes Lucy away and won't tell her what's happened. Even with three guys wanting her attention, Lucy still feels alone without the conversations with her sister.

TRUE STORM answers any lingering questions I've had. It ties everything together and we finally learn what their parents have been up to. I was a little upset about Alastair's character because I liked him so much in the last one. The romance still isn't there as much, but the action, betrayal, and secrets are. I absolutely love the secret language between Margot and Lucy. It was great to see them back together again even though both, especially Margot, are mentally scarred.


Final Verdict: This series has been full of so many secrets and information on genetics that I liked to see it all come together in this last book. I would recommend this to fans of drama, politics, post-apocalyptic times, and mutations in genetics (like X-Men).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
pretty good
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
"True Storm" is the conclusion to the trilogy I have been loving since the first book. In this unique world, a plague has infected humanity, resulting in a old-style Western atmosphere. At the age of 18, everyone is classified according to their plague status- Laster (will die from the plague), Splicer (they can have genetic therapies to live a little longer- if they have the money), or True Born (mutations which make them immune to the plague but manifest in animal-like characteristics such as fur or tails).

Lucinda (Lucy or Lu) and Margot are something else entirely, and we've waited through the first two books. They were conjoined twins, separated at birth- and their separation scars resemble a lock and key. Lucy is able to sense Margot's feelings, and this comes in handy when Margot disappears. Lucy goes to the True Borns for help to find and rescue Margot. Now, in the aftermath, Lucy feels fractured- Margot is blocking her out. Margot seems traumatized by her experiences (which makes sense- she was kidnapped and her eggs were harvested and turned into some sort of plague "cure"). Things are more complicated than they appear, as we find out later. Add to the mix that people are saying that together, somehow, Margot and Lucy are supposed to be the key to the permanent plague cure, and we have some plot intensity.

Luckily, we get answers about what exactly Margot and Lucy are, and how they tie into the prophecy/plague cure. If you enjoyed the back-and-forth between Lucy and her instalove Jared, you are in luck because it continues in this book. I loved their romance and the idea of the two of them together (plus they had so many steamy kisses!) but I wished they would quit it with the "but we can't/shouldn't be together"- it seemed like they were pushing/pulling a lot. The love triangle with Ali is back, and it takes some turns that really surprised me! I won't say more to avoid spoilers.

I enjoyed the book overall, but I felt that the ending was too abrupt, and I would have liked to see things play out a little further. It almost felt like there would be another follow-up, but I doubt it as this is the third book in a trilogy. We are left with the impressions of what will follow, but it's not as clear/determined as I would have hoped (an epilogue or something for full closure would have been nice in my opinion). The writing is great- fast-paced and enthralling. I think fans of the first books will enjoy this finale overall (although I will mention as a warning that there is a main character death that shocked me- and it's very sad!).

Please note that I received an ARC from the publisher through netgalley. All opinions are my own.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...

Latest Member Reviews

Anchored
 
5.0
"Unlike anything I've read before. The Story: Alora is of two worlds. During her..."
The Curse of Jenny Greene
 
5.0
"I should start by saying The Curse of Jenny Greene is far from my normal genre preferences. I’m not usually..."
Emmie and the Tudor Queen
 
4.5
"This sequel resolved a lot of questions I had that weren’t answered in the first book like where did the..."
The Reclaimed Kingdom (The Syphon Series, Book 1)
 
5.0
"I’m a new fan of Dana Claire as I recently read “The Connection” and loved it. While I eagerly..."
Sleeping Beauty's Spindle
 
4.0
"Briar Rose hasn't had any easy life. After losing her parents, she's struggling to keep her siblings together as a..."
The First Holidays
 
5.0
"A sweet and perfect novella to go with this series. The Story: Four best..."
The Connection
 
4.8
"I’ll cut to the chase before I delve into a more detailed review; I loved this book! I binge-read The..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
" The Parkour Club is a rollicking good read! Bronte’s journey to find her place in the world..."
The Forgotten World (The World Apart Series Book 3)
 
5.0
"I don't know how this series keeps getting better, but it does. This third book is just... so much happens..."
The Tempest Sea
 
5.0
"This book... oof. It hurt. But if you know me at all, you know my favorite books are the kind..."
The Fractured Empire
 
5.0
"This book grabbed me from the very beginning, throwing me into this beautifully-crafted, intriguing new world. The plot is fast-paced..."
My High School Royal Boyfriend
 
4.0
"'My High School Royal Boyfriend' by Kylie Key follows new River Valley High students Blaire and Alex, as they try..."
Born at Dawn
 
3.7
"BORN AT DAWN is an upper YA fantasy full of adventure - the main character is half human and half..."
Born Royal
 
3.8
"As a girl, Vi suffered various forms of torture from her mom and she was the equivalent to a lab..."
The Lost Prince (The Nihryst Book 2)
 
5.0
"THE LOST PRINCE opens up where the first one left off. Ada is with Lee searching for a cure to..."
Edge of Light
 
5.0
"This book literally starts out with a bang as multiple meteorites strike cities across the earth at the same time,..."
The Runaway (Barrett Boys #1)
 
5.0
"Annie lives in a small town where everyone knows everything about each other. She is usually the subject of the..."
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.5
"A cute story. The story: My High School Rebel Boyfriend stars a high school senior, Harper,..."
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
"Definitely a book that's worth a read. The Story: Kenna wants to be able..."
Golden Curse (The True Story of Rapunzel)
 
5.0
"This beautiful story is highly enjoyable. The writing flows easily, and the characters feel relatable. The main conflict was interesting..."