Frat Girl

Featured
 
4.3
 
4.0 (1)
1381 0
Frat Girl
Author(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
March 27, 2018
ISBN
978-0373212347
Buy This Book
      

College life can be complicated—challenging, rewarding, downright frustrating—and a lot of fun. Warren University freshman Cassandra “Cassie” Davis is more than up for all of it. Which leaves Cassie facing the dreaded F-word… Fraternity—specifically Delta Tau Chi, a frat house on the verge of being banned from the school. Accused of offensive, sexist behavior, they have one year to clean up their act. With one shot at a scholarship to the school of her dreams, Cassie pitches an unusual research project—to pledge Delta Tau Chi, take on the boys’ club and provide proof of their misogynistic behavior. It’s different, but it’s not against the rules, and she’s pretty sure she knows exactly what to expect once she gets there. Which means the DTC brothers will have to face the dreaded F-word… Feminist—the type of girl who thinks they’re nothing but tank-top-wearing “bros” and is determined to see them booted from the school. But Cassie soon realizes things aren’t as simple as they appeared. Some of the DTC brothers, including her fellow pledge, Jordan Louis, are much more than she ever expected to find in a frat house. With her academic future on the line, and her heart all tangled in a web of her own making, Cassie will ultimately have to define for herself what the F-word is all about.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A Feminist Joins a Frat!
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
College life is rarely (if ever) simple, and in Kiley Roache's FRAT GIRL, Cassie Davis makes things even harder on herself by tying her full-ride scholarship to an elite school to a controversial secret research project: Cassie becomes a pledge at a fraternity, and she documents everything that happens over the course of her first year there in an effort to expose the misogynistic behavior she expects to find. And she doesn't choose just any frat. Cassie is determined to join Delta Tau Chi as a legacy (her dad was a DTC), and it's a fraternity that is on probation specifically for its treatment of women.

The premise of FRAT GIRL had me at the get-go, and I loved Cassie's voice from its opening pages, too. Cassie is a girl who is desperate to break free of her strict, middle class, Midwestern, Catholic school upbringing (and the expectations that come with it), and she wants to find freedom in the form of an expensive California college education. It's a bonus that her school of choice is home to one of her feminist heroes (who is also the faculty advisor on Cassie's research project).

FRAT GIRL could have been trite. Cassie could have been a walking talking feminist cliché. Thank goodness author Kiley Roache wrote Cassie as a nuanced, sympathetic, strong, and awesome character. Although the ancillary characters in the book could have used some more depth, Cassie and the story line carry the day along with the teaching moments that spring up throughout the novel. FRAT GIRL manages seminars on feminist theory and female sexuality while also discussing the difficulties of being part of a complex social movement. The book also offers a good portrayal of college life in general, though I can't speak to its accuracy when it come to being in a fraternity or a sorority since I've never been involved in either (outside of attending parties, of course). The inevitable romance is also well done, although a little too perfect.

I really enjoyed this book, and I'm passing FRAT GIRL on to my feminist teen daughter because I want her to read it as a springboard to discussions on all of the issues that arise through the course of Cassie's story. I highly recommend the book to parents and teens headed into college, but it's also an entertaining read to darn near anyone.

My thanks to YA Books Central and the publisher for a copy of the book in exchange for my honest review.
Good Points
Feminist theory in a fictional setting
A smart and likeable main character
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
A fun read
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
The writing style is what really stands out in this book-- SO easy to read, conversational, believable character interactions. It wasn't quite as politically strong as I'd hoped but was a quick and well-written read.
Good Points
Really readable
Pacing was good
Descriptions drew me in
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...

Latest Member Reviews

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
"BERNARD MAKES A SPLASH is an overall cute story about stepping outside of your comfort zone. Bernard practices diving whenever..."
Lost for Words
 
5.0
"LOST FOR WORDS is a sweet picture book about finding your own way to express yourself. Tapir has a new..."
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
"STANLEY'S PAINT BOX is a charming board book about colors. Stanley is helping Sophie, Little Woo, and Benjamin paint boxes...."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
"STANLEY'S TOOLBOX is a delightful board book that shows many tools in action as Stanley helps to repair Little Woo's..."
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
"SPRING IS HERE! is a delightful board book that features several animals in the springtime setting. The book is extra..."
Lali's Feather
 
5.0
"LALI'S FEATHER is a delightful and colorful picture book that explores birds and imagination. Lali is playing when she finds..."
A Friend for Mole
 
3.5
"A FRIEND FOR MOLE is a cute picture book that speaks to unlikely friendships and shared experiences. Mole is happy..."
 
5.0
"This book is a winner the moment a reader lays eyes on that cover--and the title. My niece--who is picky..."
 
5.0
"This book is absolutely adorable. Dragons can suddenly show up wherever the characters are and they have to..."
The Girl and the Ghost
 
4.0
"5 Reasons to Read THE GIRL AND THE GHOST 1.) Beautiful prose- This was my first time..."
Brother's Keeper
 
5.0
"BROTHER'S KEEPER is a highly engrossing and heartfelt read about a 12-year-old girl and her dangerous journey from North to..."
Izzy Gizmo and the Invention Convention
 
5.0
"IZZY GIZMO AND THE INVENTION CONVENTION is a delightful, rhyming book about staying true to yourself and getting creative. Izzy..."
The Welcome Wagon
 
3.0
"THE WELCOME WAGON features four friends who decide to welcome a new family to Cubby Hill. As they travel to..."