Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1510 0
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
April 10, 2018
ISBN
978-0062440907
Buy This Book
      

A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds can’t be broken. Princess Aurora, torn from the dream world, plots to assassinate the faerie queen Malfleur, only to confront temptations she never expected. Isabelle, meanwhile, opens her heart to Prince William as they attempt to unite their kingdoms and wage war against Malfleur’s army. But when the appearance of an unbreakable glass slipper prompts Isabelle to discover more about her lineage, her true identity begins to take shape and her legacy becomes as clear as ice. Devoted half-sisters Isabelle and Aurora will grapple with their understanding of love and loyalty as they face a threat even greater than that of the evil queen—the threat of losing each other forever.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Stunning Conclusion!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Prepare yourself, Winter Glass is set to destroy all the feels! This stunning conclusion full of sisterly love, romance, and magic had me flipping pages non-stop... and agonizing over a conclusion I never wished to come.

What I Liked:

When I first read Spindle Fire, I fell in love with Aurora and Isbe, of how much they loved each other and how far they'd go to make sure they were okay. Sisterly affection is rarely seen in books, and I was happy to continue their stories in this new installment.

I must say my favorite character has always been Isbe, her journey throughout both books has been full of so many twists and turns. And romance! But most importantly, this has been a character who sacrifices everything for her sister, who dares to embark on an impossible journey throughout kingdoms in order to save Aurora and a kingdom that shunned her since she was an infant, and now in Winter Glass, through a darker journey where she needs to learn about who she really is. Following along her footsteps is NEVER boring, and I would gladly read more of her if there was ever another opportunity! ?

However, I do love Aurora as well! Her quest to find true love and understand what true love really means takes us on a surprising twist I never would have guessed based on what we read in Spindle Fire! It felt natural, though I must admit that I wept for a certain character I had fallen for in book 1. Won't say more about it though ;)

Spindle Fire starts as a retelling of Sleeping Beauty with Aurora, but Winter Glass evolves into a Cinderella retelling focusing on Isbe! I LOVE retellings, and author Lexa Hillyer does a fantastic job developing both tales into something unique. I particularly enjoyed how we even get the point of views of the antagonists, learning about their own side of the stories, dark motivations and all.

Aaah, there's just so much that I loved about this book! Even the epic conclusion that somehow broke my heart. I just cannot stop thinking about this imaginative story that give me everything that I wanted (Isbe and William!!! ?) I was expecting to enjoy Winter Glass as much as Spindle Fire, but no, my love for it goes beyond! It is now an all-time favorite and gosh, I hope I can learn to live without more.

Final Verdict:

Magic! Romance! Non-stop adventure! Winter Glass gives it all and WILL destroy you. It's a book about true love, of finding and discovering yourself, as well as doing what it takes to not lose what matters the most.
Good Points
Great sibling relationship! Beatiful world-building too.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Babies and toddlers can lift the flaps to look inside...
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join a tiny mouse as she searches for the biggest...
The Shadow War
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inglourious Basterds meets Stranger Things in this dark and...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. ...

Latest Member Reviews

shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."
Crush (Crave, #2)
 
4.7
"CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first..."