Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1276 0
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
April 10, 2018
ISBN
978-0062440907
Buy This Book
      

A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds can’t be broken. Princess Aurora, torn from the dream world, plots to assassinate the faerie queen Malfleur, only to confront temptations she never expected. Isabelle, meanwhile, opens her heart to Prince William as they attempt to unite their kingdoms and wage war against Malfleur’s army. But when the appearance of an unbreakable glass slipper prompts Isabelle to discover more about her lineage, her true identity begins to take shape and her legacy becomes as clear as ice. Devoted half-sisters Isabelle and Aurora will grapple with their understanding of love and loyalty as they face a threat even greater than that of the evil queen—the threat of losing each other forever.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Stunning Conclusion!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Prepare yourself, Winter Glass is set to destroy all the feels! This stunning conclusion full of sisterly love, romance, and magic had me flipping pages non-stop... and agonizing over a conclusion I never wished to come.

What I Liked:

When I first read Spindle Fire, I fell in love with Aurora and Isbe, of how much they loved each other and how far they'd go to make sure they were okay. Sisterly affection is rarely seen in books, and I was happy to continue their stories in this new installment.

I must say my favorite character has always been Isbe, her journey throughout both books has been full of so many twists and turns. And romance! But most importantly, this has been a character who sacrifices everything for her sister, who dares to embark on an impossible journey throughout kingdoms in order to save Aurora and a kingdom that shunned her since she was an infant, and now in Winter Glass, through a darker journey where she needs to learn about who she really is. Following along her footsteps is NEVER boring, and I would gladly read more of her if there was ever another opportunity! ?

However, I do love Aurora as well! Her quest to find true love and understand what true love really means takes us on a surprising twist I never would have guessed based on what we read in Spindle Fire! It felt natural, though I must admit that I wept for a certain character I had fallen for in book 1. Won't say more about it though ;)

Spindle Fire starts as a retelling of Sleeping Beauty with Aurora, but Winter Glass evolves into a Cinderella retelling focusing on Isbe! I LOVE retellings, and author Lexa Hillyer does a fantastic job developing both tales into something unique. I particularly enjoyed how we even get the point of views of the antagonists, learning about their own side of the stories, dark motivations and all.

Aaah, there's just so much that I loved about this book! Even the epic conclusion that somehow broke my heart. I just cannot stop thinking about this imaginative story that give me everything that I wanted (Isbe and William!!! ?) I was expecting to enjoy Winter Glass as much as Spindle Fire, but no, my love for it goes beyond! It is now an all-time favorite and gosh, I hope I can learn to live without more.

Final Verdict:

Magic! Romance! Non-stop adventure! Winter Glass gives it all and WILL destroy you. It's a book about true love, of finding and discovering yourself, as well as doing what it takes to not lose what matters the most.
Good Points
Great sibling relationship! Beatiful world-building too.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...

Latest Member Reviews

A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."