Restart

FeaturedHot
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
4370 0
Restart
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
9+
Release Date
March 27, 2018
ISBN
B01M5J6AN3
Buy This Book
      

Chase's memory just went out the window. Chase doesn't remember falling off the roof. He doesn't remember hitting his head. He doesn't, in fact, remember anything. He wakes up in a hospital room and suddenly has to learn his whole life all over again . . . starting with his own name. He knows he's Chase. But who is Chase? When he gets back to school, he sees that different kids have very different reactions to his return. Some kids treat him like a hero. Some kids are clearly afraid of him. One girl in particular is so angry with him that she pours her frozen yogurt on his head the first chance she gets. Pretty soon, it's not only a question of who Chase is--it's a question of who he was . . . and who he's going to be. From the #1 bestselling author of Swindle and Slacker, Restart is the spectacular story of a kid with a messy past who has to figure out what it means to get a clean start.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Personality Do-Over
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Middle grade mystery with an amnesic twist—a friendship-centric tale of lost-and-found.

Readers are introduced to a cruel boy who sustains brain trauma and loses his memory; a bitter girl who’s missing her twin brother after he was run out of town; and a sassy old veteran with a misplaced Medal of Honor. Chase Ambrose isn’t far into recovery when he realizes his former self was at the center of a lot of things he can’t remember, and frankly, isn’t sure he wants to know. But facing who and what he used to be may be the only way to rebuild his life into something his new self can be proud of.

The book alternates between a wide range of first-person present-tense POVs. Readers are given the distinct perspective of nearly every middle school character mentioned in the story at some point (the adult characters are excluded, but this feels in keeping with the needs of the target audience.) On the upside, this gave lots of breathing room between less interesting viewpoints along with a wider range of empathy potential. (i.e. Brandan Espinoza is a huge highlight and welcome bit of comedy relief.) On the downside, some characters seemed underrepresented, and less multi-dimensional. (i.e. Kimberly Tooley comes off as little more than a shallow, lovesick airhead.)

It was nice to see that losing his personal memories didn’t completely alter everything about Chase. He quickly discovers he’s retained his knowledge of football, and an innate love for its physical and competitive aspects. He may not remember being a star player, but he understands why his former self enjoyed the game.

My biggest complaint would have to be concerning Chase’s father. From the very beginning, it’s easy to see how the man’s narrow-minded selfishness must have a lot to do with why Chase was such a conscience-free terror before his head injury. He is volatile, entitled, pompous, and has no regard for even his own son’s health. But while his noxious behavior is consistent nearly until the end, there’s curiously little reflection on Chase’s part over how much his dad’s dysfunction must have influenced his former self. And close to the conclusion of the story, there’s a sudden attempt to salvage his father into something redeemable—which felt entirely too forced. I sincerely wish there’d been more organic development in that regard.

Ultimately though, this reader sees plenty of value in this tale of bullying, understanding, loyalty, and redemption. And with no objectionable words or material, I’d be comfortable recommending it for kids as young as 9.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Twin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...

Latest Member Reviews

Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."