Zombie Abbey

Featured
 
4.0
 
2.3 (1)
1404 0
Zombie Abbey
Age Range
12+
Release Date
April 03, 2018
ISBN
978-1633759114
Buy This Book
      

1920, England And the three teenage Clarke sisters thought what they’d wear to dinner was their biggest problem… Lady Kate, the entitled eldest. Lady Grace, lost in the middle and wishing she were braver. Lady Lizzy, so endlessly sunny, it’s easy to underestimate her. Then there’s Will Harvey, the proud, to-die-for—and possibly die with!—stable boy; Daniel Murray, the resourceful second footman with a secret; Raymond Allen, the unfortunate-looking young duke; and Fanny Rogers, the unsinkable kitchen maid. Upstairs! Downstairs! Toss in some farmers and villagers! None of them ever expected to work together for any reason. But none of them had ever seen anything like this.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Downton Abbey with Zombies!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
It's been a long time since I had read a zombie novel and even more, one as entertaining as Zombie Abbey! Reminiscent to one of my favorite TV shows, Downton Abbey, and one of my all-time favorite novels, Pride and Prejudice -- this novel turned out to be a delight to read about from page one!

What I Liked:

I've never been much of a fan of zombies (gore and horror is not really my thing), but after reading the premise of this novel, I just knew I had to read it. And let me tell you, it did not disappoint AT ALL. I laughed, I swooned a bit, perhaps even felt stressed and sad as a few favorite characters were taken down and turned into zombies. Before I knew it, I was done with the novel and in need for more! (Will there be more?! Hope so!)

Zombie Abbey has several alternating points of view, from the three Clarke sisters to the staff working at Porthampton Abbey. It's a bit hard keeping up with them at first, but as soon as I managed to recognize who is who based on Downton Abbey, it proved to be a much easier read for me and also a lot more fun since I could easily picture them in my head (I just looove Downton Abbey's characters so much!). In this novel, my favorite POVs/characters turned out to be Fanny (the maid), and the Clarke Sisters (especially Grace and Lizzy).

This book might have a slow start since it takes its time to introduce the situation of Porthampton Abbey's occupants, but it later turns into an action-packed chaos as the Upstairs (Clarkes) and the Downstairs (the staff) have to set aside their prejudices and work together before they get their hearts eaten and turned into zombies! It's well worth the wait if you ask me. ;)

However, if you are expecting horror, then you might not get what you want since it's not truly a horrifying read. It has quite a bit of gore, but the overall take on Zombies and the reactions of Porthampton Abbey's residents when they face them is super funny. I loved it this way, but I can see how some might not really enjoy it. But if you are faint of heart like me, this might also be your kind of read! With Zombies!

What Left Me Wanting More:

I have to admit that I was a expecting more right at the ending. It's left a bit too loose and I'm afraid we will never know how things turn out for some of characters as this seems to be a standalone novel. But perhaps there is hope for a sequel? Crossing fingers!

Final Verdict:

If you are looking for a diverting paranormal read à la Downton Abbey and Pride and Prejudice with lots and lots of zombies, then you'll surely enjoy Zombie Abbey and come to love everyone at Porthampton Abbey! ?
Good Points
Lots of humor!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
2.3
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
2.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
2.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
too similar to downton abbey
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
2.0
Writing Style 
 
2.0
"Zombie Abbey" is Downton Abbey with zombies (and characters names changed). Although it's been a while since I watched Downton Abbey, all the characters reminded me of specific characters from the show (just names were changed). The difference here is the zombies in the vein of the "Pride and Prejudice and Zombies" book published in 2009 (and made into a movie in 2016). As such, I didn't find this to be as novel as other reviewers, but I was surprised at how closely the characters mirrored Downton Abbey's characters. For instance, the three sisters are almost exactly like the sisters in the show, plus the parents are similar, the distant cousin who will inherit, the house manager that views the eldest daughter as if she were his own, the sassy, young kitchen attendant whose mouth will get her in trouble, etc. The only characters I did not remember from the show are the cats, who surprisingly get their own points-of-view in the book.

We skip from person to person in the book, getting a glimpse of their thoughts and ideas before going to the next. It is not hard to follow, despite the many characters whose points-of-view we witness. Many of the characters are not easy to like, particularly the eldest daughter (similar to the show) and the footman/acting valet, Daniel, who steals money and is generally discontent. We seem to get their perspective more frequently (at least it seems that way to me) and neither is particularly likable. The most likable are the middle (somewhat forgotten) and youngest (naive but brave) daughters that mirror the ones in the show.

The build to the zombies seems rather slow with the annoying doctor discounting everyone's experiences (until his fate catches up to him) and a slow discovery of what is happening/when it becomes a real issue. It does take a while to set up the many characters. I almost felt like this could be fanfiction for Downton Abbey that was turned into a book (maybe intended to be a parody?). I'm not sure how I felt about it overall, but I think it does have an audience- just maybe not me. And I think this was largely due to expectations of this being something new and learning that it was not so new. It did have some funny moments and would be great for fans of "Pride and Prejudice and Zombies!"

Please note that I received an ARC from the publisher through netgalley. All opinions are my own.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

Christmas Parade
 
4.5
"CHRISTMAS PARADE is another cute and brightly colored board book from Boynton. In this book, children see a Christmas parade,..."
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
"BEST FRIEND IN THE WHOLE WORLD is a sweet picture book about friends and doing the right thing. Roland lives..."
The Threads of Magic
 
3.0
"Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box..."
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."
You and Me
 
5.0
"YOU AND ME is a sweet book about love between caregiver and child. The lyrical poetry of the rhyming text,..."
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
"BABY'S FIRST FARM takes readers on a delightful lift-the-flap journey around the farm. The board book is a simple story..."
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
"CAN I COME TOO? tells the story of a small mouse who decides to go on a big adventure to..."
Karma Moon: Ghost Hunter
 
3.0
"Karma Moon loves living with her dad in their New York neighborhood, answering phone calls for his Totally Rad documentary..."
Beetle and the Hollowbones
 
5.0
"Beetle is a goblin-witch who isn't loving the small magic her grandmother teaches her. She'd rather hang out with Blob..."