Kat and Meg Conquer the World

 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
819 0
Kat and Meg Conquer the World
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
November 07, 2017
ISBN
978-0062560803
Buy This Book
      
Kat and Meg couldn't be more different.

Kat's anxiety makes it hard for her to talk to new people. The only place she feels safe is in front of her computer, playing her favorite video game.

Meg hates being alone, but her ADHD keeps pushing people away. Friends. Her boyfriend. Even the stepfather who raised her.

But when the two girls are thrown together for a year-long science project, they discover they do have one thing in common: their obsession with the online gaming star LumberLegs and his hilarious videos.

Meg's pretty sure this is fate. Kat doesn't know how to deal with someone who talks faster than she thinks. But if they can stick together and stay out of their heads, they might figure out how to help each other--and build the kind of friendship Kat never knew she wanted and Meg never believed she'd find.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A friendship-focused YA with only touches of romance
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
WHAT I LOVED:
The course of friendship, like love, doesn’t run smoothly. Epcot at Disney World nearly broke up my best friend and me in high school, but we talked it out and we’ve now been friends for close to ten years. When Kat and Meg get paired up for their science fair project, their friendship has the same ebbs and flows, arguments and bonding moments that anyone would have with their best friend. It’ll make you appreciate yours more!

The angle of them bonding over their shared interest in the fictional gamer LumberLegs’s videos was familiar as well; I’m a huge fan of a YouTuber named Minx and her wife Krism. Regardless, that activity translated badly to the page. Even being someone who engages in the exact same behavior, reading about it just felt awkward. Maybe it’s because LumberLegs is a clear Pewdiepie copy and I despise that rancid, racist man? Or it’s just weird to read about someone watching videos.

WHAT LEFT ME WANTING:
The downside of the novel is how strong the secondhand cringe is. It took me back to the Actual Worst things from high school, which cut me so deeply that I could hardly stand reading it at times. Stuff like science fair projects, group projects in general, and procrastination-happy people. These things in the book took me back to doing all that and my fury came back to strongly I had to keep putting the book down!

(Seriously, I hated science fair projects so much that because honors science classes from seventh grade onward in my district required each student do one, I demanded to be put in regular-track science classes. I was perfectly capable of science at the honors level and made excellent grades in them, but I refused to endure the science fair projects. It and the Great Debates debacle were just two of my acts of academic self-sabotage. Feel free to ask about the latter, it's both deeply shameful and an impressive display of just how much I've always despised public speaking.)

(The message of that aside is GIVE KIDS OPTIONS. DO NOT MAKE A MASSIVE PART OF THEIR GRADE DEPEND ON A PROJECT THEY ARE NOT COMFORTABLE DOING.)

Kat’s anxiety counting habit grated on me as well. She finds counting like “one elephant, two elephant,” etc. boring. Instead, when she’s feeling anxious and trying to calm herself down, she counts like “one safety, two warm blanket, three LumberLegs screaming because he died in the game,” and it’s just– UGH. NO WORDS. JUST DISLIKE. It’s not the behavior itself that bugs me, it’s her counting method. The behavior is entirely realistic even if my anxiety attacks are too strong to let me count. My experience ain’t everyone’s.

Well, that’s that. Great if you need a friendship-focused YA with only touches of romance on the side (both girls are interested in different boys) and a modern set-up.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."
The Year of the Witching
 
5.0
"Immanuelle lives in the town of Bethel where the Prophet's word is law and the highest honor for a woman..."
By the Book
 
5.0
"'By the Book' is a charming ode to both romance and literature. Mary Porter-Malcolm sees life as points..."