Fire and Bone

Featured
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
1063 0
Fire and Bone
Publisher
Age Range
16+
Release Date
February 20, 2018
ISBN
9781503946750

“Gossip Girl meets Percy Jackson in the glitz and grit of L.A...." In Hollywood’s underworld of demigods, druids, and ancient bonds, one girl has a dangerous future. Sage is eighteen, down on her luck, and struggling to survive on the streets of Los Angeles. Everything changes the night she’s invited to a party — one that turns out to be a trap. Thrust into a magical world hidden within the City of Angels, Sage discovers that she’s the daughter of a Celtic goddess, with powers that are only in their infancy. Now that she is of age, she’s asked to pledge her service to one of the five deities, all keen on winning her favor by any means possible. She has to admit that she’s tempted — especially when this new life comes with spells, Hollywood glam, and a bodyguard with secrets of his own. Not to mention a prince whose proposal could boost her rank in the Otherworld. As loyalties shift, and as the two men vie for her attention, Sage tries to figure out who to trust in a realm she doesn’t understand. One thing's for sure: the trap she’s in has bigger claws than she thought. And it’s going to take a lot more than magic for this Celtic demigoddess to make it out alive.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Otherborn #1
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
FIRE AND BONE by Rachel A. Marks is the beginning of a new young adult fantasy series. In many ways, it is similar to the Shadowhunter books by Cassandra Clare, but instead of New York City, FIRE AND BONE is set in Los Angeles. Marks replaces the grit of the streets with the glamour of Tinsel Town, and thus, breathes a new energy into this realm of fiction.

The story opens with Sage, a homeless teenager, discovering she’s actually a powerful demigoddess, coveted by many. Reeling from this drastic change and struggling to control her abilities, she begins to have strange, vivid dreams. Her protector, Faelan, another demigod, helps her navigate what’s happening, but the truth of who she is ends up being much darker than anyone expected.

This book is a complete and utter guilty pleasure. It’s lusty, romantic, and full of revenge. I enjoy the dual P.O.V. from Sage and Faelan, as they both have unique perspectives. Since they don’t necessarily communicate what they’re thinking with one another, it’s nice to have direct access to their minds. I also love how the author sets up the ultimate roadblock between Sage and Faelan. Faelan’s chastity vow makes a romantic relationship between them borderline dangerous, which immediately makes me as the reader more invested in them figuring it out.

The writing overall is good enough. There are moments when the dialogue is unnatural, or even a bit sexist. Though it’s offsetting at first, remembering that the male characters are from hundreds of years ago and are products of their time help to see past that. FIRE AND BONE also cashes in on a few tropes, particularly the one in which the main character is considered unattractive until she gains her powers. It reminds me of the TWILIGHT series when Bella becomes a vampire and is magically less awkward and more beautiful. I’m not a huge fan of this trope or how it was used in this book. Marks discusses Sage’s disappointing looks too often. While it may be a reality of Los Angeles culture, it’s quite tiresome.

With that being said, FIRE AND BONE is pure entertainment. It’s the perfect book for anyone needing a fun escape from the real world. I continually looked forward to reading it and honestly, cannot wait for the next installment. The story ends on quite a cliffhanger and I am certain this is only the beginning for Sage.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."