OMG Classics: Greek Gods #squadgoals

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
746 0
OMG Classics: Greek Gods #squadgoals
Age Range
14+
Release Date
November 07, 2017
ISBN
1524715646
Buy This Book
      
OMG Classics, the greatest stories ever told . . . in texts. Imagine: What if Mount Olympus got WiFi and the gods and goddesses had smartphones? The classic Greek myths get new life in irreverent and hilarious texts and posts!

Zeus, a king of the gods always in search of a new bae.
A squad of goddesses who can’t resist stirring the pot.
And the selfie-obsessed heroes out for all the likes.

If you have trouble telling Perseus from Theseus (#Greek2Me) or have ever wondered about Oedipus’s tragic dating profile or why Medusa’s Instagram never got traction—this satirical book of Greek myths retold for the Internet age is for you!

tl;dr D’Aulaires’ and Homer’s Greek myths told through characters texting with emojis, posting photos, checking in at locations, and updating their relationship statuses. The perfect gift for any reader—young or old—with a sense of humor!


A glossary and cast of characters are included for those who need it. For example: tl;dr means too long; didn’t read.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

OMG ROTFLMAO
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
OMG Classics: Greek Gods #squadgoals
By Courtney Carbone

In the current climate of fast paced communications and bite sized bits of information comes OMG Classics, Greek Gods #Squadgoals.

As creative as it is hilariously entertaining, this clever little book gives the mythology buff something they’ve never seen before. And for young reluctant readers #Squadgoals gives a unique look into Greek mythology via a platform they can easily relate to: text stories. But the thing that really surprised me was how accurate the stories were. I can easily see how this book could become a gateway teaser to guide young readers into the wonderfully messed up world of the Greek Gods.
A quick read for sure, but I LOL’d my way through it while sitting in the waiting room at the doctor’s office. (I even took a few pics to send a friend because it was just THAT funny! Perseus’ GoSendMeDrachmas Fund LOL)
I was thrilled to see OMG Classics has a full line up of text tales that I will be adding to my personal library. Srsly Hamlet, YOLO Juliet, A Midsummer Night #Nofilter, Macbeth #Killingit, Scrooge #Worstgiftever, and Darcy swipes left (
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Life Below
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Immerse yourself in a strange and beautiful world as you...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The inspiring, deeply patriotic true story of John Glenn, a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A wildly imaginative introduction to yoga and nutrition by bestselling...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A book jam-packed with eight creative activities to make beautiful...
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tricia Levenseller, author of Daughter of the Pirate King, is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It had been a great day. Perhaps the Best Day…...

Latest Member Reviews

Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."