Honor Among Thieves (The Honors, #1)

Featured
 
4.7 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1702 0
Honor Among Thieves (The Honors, #1)
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
12+
Release Date
February 13, 2018
ISBN
978-0062570994
Buy This Book
      

Petty criminal Zara Cole has a painful past that’s made her stronger than most, which is why she chose life in New Detroit instead moving with her family to Mars. In her eyes, living inside a dome isn’t much better than a prison cell. Still, when Zara commits a crime that has her running scared, jail might be exactly where she’s headed. Instead Zara is recruited into the Honors, an elite team of humans selected by the Leviathan—a race of sentient alien ships—to explore the outer reaches of the universe as their passengers. Zara seizes the chance to flee Earth’s dangers, but when she meets Nadim, the alien ship she’s assigned, Zara starts to feel at home for the first time. But nothing could have prepared her for the dark, ominous truths that lurk behind the alluring glitter of starlight.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

captivating and lush YA sci-fi
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
HONOR AMONG THIEVES is an engaging YA sci-fi that takes place in a world where humanity has been introduced to the Leviathans, creatures born in space who act as living ships. Humans are chosen each year for an Honors Tour, which has a murky process, but is considered an incredible achievement. They spend a year with a Leviathan, learning from each other. Some of the Honors Tour participants are chosen for the Journey, where they head out with Leviathans for the rest of their lives, never to visit Earth again.

Zara has lived on the fringes of Detroit for a long time. She makes her way through thievery, as long as she stays away from her father. Her mother and sister live on Mars. She is surprised by her selection for the Honors program, but accepts to escape the crime lord she has angered. However, the journey to space is sure to change her in ways she could have never anticipated.

What I loved: This is a lush sci-fi with intense and detailed descriptions that really capture this world beautifully. I also really love the Farscape inspiration (I assume) with Leviathans and even an interview with a Leviathan named Moira shown in one interlude. I loved the way that the mystery and magic of the Leviathans are shown through these interludes in addition to Zara's story. Zara's point-of-view is also interspersed with that of Nadim, the ship on which she rides.

The book is full of action and interesting morality discussions about weaponry, emotions, and privacy that I found really intriguing. The characters are fully realized, and I love the primary characters of Bea, Zara, and Nadim. They grow throughout the novel and quickly become close to the heart. Their journey is one I am eager to continue in future books. I also really love that this story is done without a romance, focusing on friendship, connection, and adventure.

What left me wanting more: As a relatively small point, we maybe get too much background at first that slow down the story a bit. It does pick up after we get to space, and the adventures there are really fascinating.

Final verdict: This is an engaging sci-fi that will appeal to fans of IGNITE THE STARS, HEART OF IRON, and FARSCAPE. Highly recommend for anyone looking for a new space adventure.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Honor Among Thieves
(Updated: January 31, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Kara lives on the streets of New Detroit, where a pickpocket job goes terribly wrong. She finds herself running from Deluca, a crime/drug lord. Kara escapes to a rehab prison where she ends up being 'recruited' to be a part of the prestigious Honor Space program. Those lucky enough to be chosen live a celeb-like existence. Kara though wants nothing to do with it at first, but after a subtle threat, decides it might be the only way to get away for awhile. She gets to ride a Leviathan, a living alien spaceship for a year out to the farthest reaches of the galaxy. But there are dark secrets that the Leviathan haven't shared. Secrets that are even darker than space.

What worked: Totally engaging Sci-fi adventure set on a sentient spaceship where the brightest on Earth are set on a journey to the far reaches of space. From the first page I was hooked and couldn't put this book down!

The backstory shows readers street wise Kara and what she does to survive. Kara kind of reminded me of Bean from Ender's Game, only she survived on her own wits. Even her so-called friend, turns on her. We do see some of her vulnerabilities early on-she's close to her younger sister who now lives on Mars with their mother. Also there is a reveal that shows why Kara wants to run. This scene is crucial later on in the novel.

The story really starts moving when Kara is assigned to Nadim, a young Leviathan ship. Caine & Aguirre do a wonderful job with world building and showing readers the physiology of a Leviathan ship. The ship feels, speaks, and has an amazing structural system.

The dialogue exchange between Kara and her fellow Honor student Beatriz is punchy and funny at times. Both learn they have to work together in order to not only pass tests, but later on to survive. There are glimpses of aliens that are intriguing and horrific. There's lots of action scenes, especially later on in the novel.

Captivating Sci-Fi adventure meets The 100, this story will keep you turning the pages until the early morning. Spell bounding world building with a living alien ship and a kick ass heroine that bond together in ways neither of them could predict. Fans of Beth Revis's Across The Universe series will totally love this new series. I can't wait to see what lays in store for Nadim, Kara, and Beatriz in the next book.
Good Points
1. Fast-paced adventure set on a sentient spaceship
2.Totally engaging with punchy dialogue and characters we care about
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates are...
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mischievous Ntombi is not at all afraid of the fearsome...
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Brave young Pedro faces monsters and greedy guards when he...
What Beauty There Is
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Beauty There Is is Cory Anderson's stunning YA...
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This original board book series, which begins with America's favorite...
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This hilarious story of a pangolin with an identity crisis...
Poison Priestess (Lady Slayers, #2)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
In 17th-century Paris, 19-year-old Catherine Monvoisin is a well-heeled...
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
When Sam can’t sleep, he decides to ask all the...
The Prison Healer (The Prison Healer, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kiva Meridan has spent the last ten years...
Fate Calling
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A cursed fae prince. A lonely human lass. A...
Welcome to California
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to California! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
Zoe Rosenthal is Not Lawful Good
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A buttoned-up overachiever works overtime to keep her inner...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi, this...
The Sky Above Us
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
From the author of We Speak in Storms comes...
Zoom: Dinosaur Adventure
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Join Jasmine and Jamie as they travel back in time...
Let's Pretend Fire Station
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's a busy day at the fire station! Chldren can...

Latest Member Reviews

These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
"THESE FEATHERED FLAMES is an enchanting YA fantasy about sisterhood, power, and destiny. When twins are born in the royal..."
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
"THE OTHER SIDE OF PERFECT is an engrossing YA contemporary about loss, grief, moving on, friendship, and sisterhood. Alina has..."
Indivisible
 
5.0
"INDIVISIBLE is a heartfelt and riveting YA contemporary about family, feeling different, and immigration in the US. Mateo is a..."
My Last Summer with Cass
 
5.0
"“A good friendship is like a work of art.” Megan and Cass have been friends forever. Their..."
The Prison Healer (The Prison Healer, #1)
 
5.0
"THE PRISON HEALER is a stunning and captivating YA fantasy read. This book takes place in a prison, Zalindov, which..."
The Forest of Stolen Girls
 
5.0
"There were so many things I really liked about this book. The case of the missing girls was obviously the..."
Poison Priestess (Lady Slayers, #2)
 
3.3
"POISON PRIESTESS is an intriguing YA historical fiction that follows Catherine Monvoisin, a fortune teller and infamous master of poisons...."
Ember of Night
 
4.3
"EMBER OF NIGHT is an intense and steamy YA fantasy read. The book follows Harley, an almost 18-year-old who has..."
The Sky Above Us
 
3.3
"THE SKY ABOVE US is a YA drama about grief, loss, and the search for something better. The book follows..."
Poisoned
 
4.3
"POISONED by Jennifer Donnelly is a YA fairytale retelling of the original Snow White by the Brothers Grimm. In it,..."
Sex Kittens and Horn Dawgs Fall in Love
 
N/A
"[b]AMOXIL[/b] is used to treat many different types of infections caused by bacteria, such as ear infections, bladder infections, pneumonia,..."
What Beauty There Is
 
5.0
"WHAT BEAUTY THERE IS is a consuming and compelling YA thriller. The book is told from several points-of-view, but primarily..."
Havoc (Haven, #2)
 
3.7
"HAVOC is an intriguing continuation of a YA paranormal romance. In this world, witches and werewolves live side by side..."
Coming Up for Air
 
4.7
"COMING UP FOR AIR is an intense and heart-wrenching YA contemporary with some heavy themes. The book is told between..."
A Curse of Ash & Embers (The Blackbone Witches, #1)
 
3.7
"A CURSE OF ASH AND EMBERS is an intriguing, character-driven YA fantasy read. Elodie has received a letter of employment..."
Zoe Rosenthal is Not Lawful Good
 
4.0
"ZOE ROSENTHAL IS NOT LAWFUL GOOD is a fun YA contemporary about embracing what you love and finding your people...."
All our Hidden Gifts
 
4.0
"While being forced to clean an old room in her Catholic school, Maeve finds an old tarot deck that instantly..."
Just Our Luck
 
4.3
"JUST OUR LUCK is a charming YA contemporary about loss, anxiety, and friendship. Leo is a bit of a loner,..."
Flamefall (The Aurelian Cycle, #2)
 
5.0
"FLAMEFALL is the absolutely stunning and enthralling sequel to FIREBORNE, and the second in the Aurelian Cycle trilogy. The book..."
The Glass Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil, #2)
 
5.0
"Return to Enchantia and meet the Glass Queen in this second installment of Gena Showalter‘s series Forest of Good and..."