Here, There, Everywhere

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1712 0
Here, There, Everywhere
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
13+
Release Date
December 19, 2017
ISBN
978-0062314031
Buy This Book
      

A funny and honest coming-of age-story about first love and finding yourself, Here, There, Everywhere is perfect for fans of Andrew Smith and Becky Albertalli. Zeus would rather be anywhere than here—Buffalo Falls, the tiny town his family moved to at the end of the school year. Having left all his friends back in Chicago, and with nothing to look forward to except helping out at his mother’s café and biking around town with his weird little brother, Zeus is pretty sure this is destined to be the worst summer of his life. But then he meets Rose. Rose is funny, beautiful, smart, and an incredible musician; Zeus can hardly believe that someone like her exists, let alone seems interested in being with him. However, while Zeus is counting down the minutes until he can see her next, Rose is counting down the days until she finds out whether she will be able to leave their small town to pursue her dreams. As the afternoons spent going on local adventures pass into nights discussing their deepest hopes, Zeus knows that he doesn’t have long to convince Rose that what they have is more than a summer fling...if only he’s brave enough to seize the chance.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Emotionally Beautiful
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
'Here, There, Everywhere' by Julia Durango and Tyler Terrones is a creative and enjoyable read about a spectrum of ideas, from friendship to family dynamics, finding inspiration in unlikely places to first loves. Main character Zeus finds himself stuck in small town Buffalo Falls after having lived in Chicago for most of his life. His mom has opened a hippie type of cafe and he deals with being her delivery boy for the first bit of summer. Nothing seems to be looking up for him as he misses his hometown until he meets Rose, a musical and pretty girl that he meets when delivering a meal to a senior home where Rose plays piano.

Zeus' relationship with Rose grows in a somewhat quick way, but it is done just as believably. They find themselves spending more and more time together, both at Hilltop Nursing Home and on outside dates. He soon finds out that she intends to move away at the end of the summer to spend her senior year at a music conservatory in New York. Having just met her, but at the same time having become completely enamored of her, he cannot imagine her not being around. As their relationship blossoms, conflicts occur that make them unsure how to move forward. These include issues related to Rose's school pursuits, Zeus' uneasiness about making friends, despite not really having trouble doing so, his little brother Grub's fascination with and admiration of an Alzheimer's patient at the nursing home, and the tables somewhat turning on what might happen next for all involved.

The story moves along very smoothly and with just enough going on in each chapter and scene that it doesn't feel over- or under-loaded. Zeus is basically the epitome of what a teenage boy should be - unsure of himself but trying to project confidence, at least when in front of a girl, as well as kind and good to his brother, yet with an underlying air of self-involvement that any normal teenager feels from time to time. His little brother Grub along with their mom, while secondary characters, shine through as important forces in Zeus' life, especially noted when Zeus realizes how disconnected he has been from them after trying to find himself as the summer progresses. The residents of Hilltop Nursing Home are well-drawn as well, and readers will feel for these older folks whom Zeus and Rose find solace with during their time spent there. And Rose is a friendly and talented girl who desperately wants to find herself, but gets caught up in her relationship with Zeus, causing friction that otherwise wouldn't have occurred. However, without friction and conflict, the end result does not seem quite as earned and deserved, and this is something Durango and Terrones did very well throughout the story.

The ending of 'Here, There, Everywhere' will bring smiles and tears, truly showing how the story reveled in beauty, not just of the physical variety, but even more so of the emotional type. Definitely recommended for lovers of contemporary young adult romances with a flavor of family dynamics and even more extended relationships.
Good Points
Without friction and conflict, the end result does not seem quite as earned and deserved, and this is something Durango and Terrones did very well throughout the story.

The ending of 'Here, There, Everywhere' will bring smiles and tears, truly showing how the story reveled in beauty, not just of the physical variety, but even more so of the emotional type.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Wings of Ebony (Wings of Ebony, #1)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this riveting, keenly emotional debut fantasy, a Black teen...
You Say It First
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
One conversation can change everything. Meg has her entire...
My High School Royal Boyfriend
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
ALEX A tragedy at Langley Estate puts my family...
The Forgotten World (The World Apart Series Book 3)
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
Clark thought he knew what grief was. Addie thought...
Tales from the Hinterland
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A gorgeously illustrated collection of twelve “lush and deliciously...
Sisters of Shadow and Light
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
From the acclaimed author of Defy, Sara B. Larson,...
In the Penalty Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Willow Figure skating was supposed to be my whole...
Unchosen
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Katharyn Blair crafts a fiercely feminist fantasy with a horrifying...
Miracle Girl
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Leanne Strong hates June eighth even though it's supposed to...
The Memory Thief  (Thirteen Witches #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Rosie Singer’s mom is missing whatever it is that...
Singled Out: The True Story of Glenn Burke
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
On October 2nd, 1977, Glenn Burke, outfielder for the Los...
The Elephant in the Room
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's been almost a year since Sila's mother traveled halfway...
Alone in the Woods
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jocelyn and Alex have always been best friends...until they aren't....
Disaster Days
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hannah Steele loves living on Pelling, a tiny island near...
Wild River
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Daniel Redmayne is fast asleep on the first night of...
The Last Hurrah
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
3 nights, 2 days, and 1 massive music fest ....

Latest Member Reviews

The Forgotten World (The World Apart Series Book 3)
 
5.0
"I don't know how this series keeps getting better, but it does. This third book is just... so much happens..."
The Tempest Sea
 
5.0
"This book... oof. It hurt. But if you know me at all, you know my favorite books are the kind..."
The Fractured Empire
 
5.0
"This book grabbed me from the very beginning, throwing me into this beautifully-crafted, intriguing new world. The plot is fast-paced..."
My High School Royal Boyfriend
 
4.0
"'My High School Royal Boyfriend' by Kylie Key follows new River Valley High students Blaire and Alex, as they try..."
Born at Dawn
 
3.7
"BORN AT DAWN is an upper YA fantasy full of adventure - the main character is half human and half..."
Born Royal
 
3.8
"As a girl, Vi suffered various forms of torture from her mom and she was the equivalent to a lab..."
The Lost Prince (The Nihryst Book 2)
 
5.0
"THE LOST PRINCE opens up where the first one left off. Ada is with Lee searching for a cure to..."
Edge of Light
 
5.0
"This book literally starts out with a bang as multiple meteorites strike cities across the earth at the same time,..."
The Runaway (Barrett Boys #1)
 
5.0
"Annie lives in a small town where everyone knows everything about each other. She is usually the subject of the..."
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.5
"A cute story. The story: My High School Rebel Boyfriend stars a high school senior, Harper,..."
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
"Definitely a book that's worth a read. The Story: Kenna wants to be able..."
Golden Curse (The True Story of Rapunzel)
 
5.0
"This beautiful story is highly enjoyable. The writing flows easily, and the characters feel relatable. The main conflict was interesting..."
The Raven and the Dove
 
4.0
"An intriguing tale of forbidden love as two young lovers fight to stay together. Well written and entertaining. ..."
The Devil's Apprentice
 
4.5
"This was actually a pretty interesting story. At first I really wasn't sure how it was going to go so..."
Heart Sister
 
4.8
"The story: When Emmitt’s twin sister Minnie dies in a tragic accident, it cripples not only him..."
Mastery of Earth (Legends of the Tri-Gard Book 3)
 
5.0
"Oh the feels this book gave me. Davi's officially back but still not really? His memories are all over the..."
Glass Princess
 
5.0
"This second entry was good, well technically fifth. I am really glad that the story picked up right after the..."
Depths: A Tale of the Little Mermaid
 
3.8
"Set in a Greek/Roman era, where not only one but three worlds are colliding, Arianna is a human girl who..."
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
4.0
"'My High School Rebel Boyfriend' by Kylie Key follows main characters Harper and Mitchell as they have to find a..."
Launch (Rise of the Anointed #1)
 
5.0
"This superhero tale is a lot of fun, with likeable characters, lots of action, and a thread of faith that..."