Here, There, Everywhere

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1818 0
Here, There, Everywhere
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
13+
Release Date
December 19, 2017
ISBN
978-0062314031
Buy This Book
      

A funny and honest coming-of age-story about first love and finding yourself, Here, There, Everywhere is perfect for fans of Andrew Smith and Becky Albertalli. Zeus would rather be anywhere than here—Buffalo Falls, the tiny town his family moved to at the end of the school year. Having left all his friends back in Chicago, and with nothing to look forward to except helping out at his mother’s café and biking around town with his weird little brother, Zeus is pretty sure this is destined to be the worst summer of his life. But then he meets Rose. Rose is funny, beautiful, smart, and an incredible musician; Zeus can hardly believe that someone like her exists, let alone seems interested in being with him. However, while Zeus is counting down the minutes until he can see her next, Rose is counting down the days until she finds out whether she will be able to leave their small town to pursue her dreams. As the afternoons spent going on local adventures pass into nights discussing their deepest hopes, Zeus knows that he doesn’t have long to convince Rose that what they have is more than a summer fling...if only he’s brave enough to seize the chance.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Emotionally Beautiful
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
'Here, There, Everywhere' by Julia Durango and Tyler Terrones is a creative and enjoyable read about a spectrum of ideas, from friendship to family dynamics, finding inspiration in unlikely places to first loves. Main character Zeus finds himself stuck in small town Buffalo Falls after having lived in Chicago for most of his life. His mom has opened a hippie type of cafe and he deals with being her delivery boy for the first bit of summer. Nothing seems to be looking up for him as he misses his hometown until he meets Rose, a musical and pretty girl that he meets when delivering a meal to a senior home where Rose plays piano.

Zeus' relationship with Rose grows in a somewhat quick way, but it is done just as believably. They find themselves spending more and more time together, both at Hilltop Nursing Home and on outside dates. He soon finds out that she intends to move away at the end of the summer to spend her senior year at a music conservatory in New York. Having just met her, but at the same time having become completely enamored of her, he cannot imagine her not being around. As their relationship blossoms, conflicts occur that make them unsure how to move forward. These include issues related to Rose's school pursuits, Zeus' uneasiness about making friends, despite not really having trouble doing so, his little brother Grub's fascination with and admiration of an Alzheimer's patient at the nursing home, and the tables somewhat turning on what might happen next for all involved.

The story moves along very smoothly and with just enough going on in each chapter and scene that it doesn't feel over- or under-loaded. Zeus is basically the epitome of what a teenage boy should be - unsure of himself but trying to project confidence, at least when in front of a girl, as well as kind and good to his brother, yet with an underlying air of self-involvement that any normal teenager feels from time to time. His little brother Grub along with their mom, while secondary characters, shine through as important forces in Zeus' life, especially noted when Zeus realizes how disconnected he has been from them after trying to find himself as the summer progresses. The residents of Hilltop Nursing Home are well-drawn as well, and readers will feel for these older folks whom Zeus and Rose find solace with during their time spent there. And Rose is a friendly and talented girl who desperately wants to find herself, but gets caught up in her relationship with Zeus, causing friction that otherwise wouldn't have occurred. However, without friction and conflict, the end result does not seem quite as earned and deserved, and this is something Durango and Terrones did very well throughout the story.

The ending of 'Here, There, Everywhere' will bring smiles and tears, truly showing how the story reveled in beauty, not just of the physical variety, but even more so of the emotional type. Definitely recommended for lovers of contemporary young adult romances with a flavor of family dynamics and even more extended relationships.
Good Points
Without friction and conflict, the end result does not seem quite as earned and deserved, and this is something Durango and Terrones did very well throughout the story.

The ending of 'Here, There, Everywhere' will bring smiles and tears, truly showing how the story reveled in beauty, not just of the physical variety, but even more so of the emotional type.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

There's No Ham in Hamburgers: Facts and Folklore About Our Favorite Foods
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From hot dogs and hamburgers to ice cream and pizza,...
The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
As their communities were being destroyed, groups of Jewish women...
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A young prince must rely on a mysterious stranger to...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Outer Space
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Blast off into outer space with this mess-free sticker craft!...
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates are...
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mischievous Ntombi is not at all afraid of the fearsome...
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Brave young Pedro faces monsters and greedy guards when he...
What Beauty There Is
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Beauty There Is is Cory Anderson's stunning YA...
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This original board book series, which begins with America's favorite...
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This hilarious story of a pangolin with an identity crisis...
Poison Priestess (Lady Slayers, #2)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
In 17th-century Paris, 19-year-old Catherine Monvoisin is a well-heeled...
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
When Sam can’t sleep, he decides to ask all the...
The Prison Healer (The Prison Healer, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kiva Meridan has spent the last ten years...
Fate Calling
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
A cursed fae prince. A lonely human lass. A...
Welcome to California
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to California! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
Zoe Rosenthal is Not Lawful Good
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A buttoned-up overachiever works overtime to keep her inner...

Latest Member Reviews

The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
"‘The Mother of Monsters’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, tells the story of Ntombi, the chief's daughter. She..."
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
"‘Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, is great for younger elementary readers and anyone who..."
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
"BASEBALL BABY is a delightful board book about baseball. The book begins with heading to the park to play baseball..."
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
"I AM NOT A PENGUIN is a silly picture book that manages to teach young readers about pangolins. A pangolin..."
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
"SAM CAN'T SLEEP is a fun picture book read that introduces the concept of nocturnal animals. It's nighttime, and all..."
Welcome to California
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO CALIFORNIA is a fun picture book of facts about the state. It covers topics from the state capitol..."
Zoom: Dinosaur Adventure
 
4.5
"ZOOM: DINOSAUR ADVENTURE takes the reader on a journey to the time of the dinosaurs. Jamie and Jasmine are going..."
Let's Pretend Fire Station
 
5.0
"LET'S PRETEND FIRE STATION is a delightful peek-through board book about firefighters. The book features pictures of children, firetrucks, and..."
Rosa Loves Dinosaurs / A Rosa Le Encantan Los Dinosaurios
 
3.5
"ROSA LOVES DINOSAURS/ A ROSA LE ENCANTAN LOS DINOSAURIOS is a fun bilingual board book about a love of dinosaurs...."
Eva Evergreen, Semi-Magical Witch
 
5.0
"Eva Evergreen is a young witch about to embark on her Novice Quest. As the daughter of one of the..."
Homer on the Case
 
4.5
"HOMER ON THE CASE is a delightful middle grade mystery, featuring unlikely detectives. Homer, a homing pigeon, and Lulu, a..."
The Thingity-Jig
 
5.0
"THE THINGITY-JIG is a fun picture book read about invention and friendship. Although all his friends are asleep, Bear feels..."
Bridge of Souls (City of Ghosts #3)
 
4.0
"What worked: This is a satisfying conclusion to City of Ghosts series. Engaging characters, fast-paced plot, and spooky magic woven..."
This is Your World
 
5.0
"THIS IS YOUR WORLD is a lovely picture book that introduces the world and the importance of taking care of..."
Mermaid Life: The Joy of Making Waves
 
5.0
"MERMAID LIFE is a fun collection of artwork themed around mermaids. With a few fun facts, silly moments, and inspirational..."
Yawn
 
4.5
"YAWN is a cute book about the contagious nature of yawns. A little boy begins a yawn that carries through..."
The Bear in the Boat
 
4.5
"THE BEAR IN THE BOAT is a sweet story of kindness and helping your neighbors. A storm is arriving, and..."
It's Bath Time! (Indestructibles)
 
4.5
"IT'S BATH TIME! is an adorable installment in the Indestructibles series. The book features baby animals and baby who have..."
I Really, Really Need to Pee!
 
4.0
"I REALLY, REALLY NEED TO PEE! is a silly picture book about a bush baby that is out and about..."
Bloom
 
4.5
"BLOOM is a sweet picture book about the power of kind words. A young girl passes by a beautiful flower..."