A Taxonomy of Love

Featured
 
3.7 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
2429 0
A Taxonomy of Love
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
16+
Release Date
January 09, 2018
ISBN
1419725416

The moment Spencer meets Hope the summer before seventh grade, it’s . . . something at first sight. He knows she’s special, possibly even magical. The pair become fast friends, climbing trees and planning world travels. After years of being outshone by his older brother and teased because of his Tourette syndrome, Spencer finally feels like he belongs. But as Hope and Spencer get older and life gets messier, the clear label of “friend” gets messier, too. Through sibling feuds and family tragedies, new relationships and broken hearts, the two grow together and apart, and Spencer, an aspiring scientist, tries to map it all out using his trusty system of taxonomy. He wants to identify and classify their relationship, but in the end, he finds that life doesn’t always fit into easy-to-manage boxes, and it’s this messy complexity that makes life so rich and beautiful.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

The Story of a Friendship--and More!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Spencer feels like an outsider. His mom left the family when he was five. His dad and brother exclude him as they bond over competitive sports and the outdoors. He's teased mercilessly by kids who think he's a freak thanks to the tics that come with Tourette's Syndrome. And he's pretty sure that no girl will ever like him--especially since the minute a girl meets his brother Dean she immediately falls for him, and Spencer is relegated to the role of geeky little brother rather than potential love interest.

Then, when Spencer is thirteen-years-old, a beautiful, cool, smart girl moves in next door. Hope is the same age as Spencer, and she treats him like a real human being. In fact, they become friends--best friends.

A TAXONOMY OF LOVE by Rachael Allen follows Spencer and Hope from age 13 to 19. The story of their friendship is a standard one with ups and downs, crushes and jealousies, intimacies and periods of not speaking, and hurts, triumphs, and dramas. Spencer's struggles to work through the challenges presented by Tourette's syndrome add an extra layer to all aspects of the story without overwhelming it. Spencer is the primary narrator of A TAXONOMY OF LOVE, and his voice is great. His and Hope's relationships with their families, friends, and each other all ring true, and the varied problems faced by them and the other characters in the book ensure an opportunity for engagement for most readers. The taxonomies/flow charts that Spencer draws as he works out things that bother or interest him are little bonus sections that make the story all the more fun. I'm especially happy that there's a book out in the world that allows teens with Tourette's syndrome to see themselves in literature in an overwhelmingly positive light. Spencer's Tourette's is a part of his life, of course, but it definitely doesn't define him.

I really enjoyed hanging out with Spencer, his friends, and his family. A TAXONOMY OF LOVE is well written and character driven, and it makes me want to read everything else that Rachael Allen has written.

My thanks to the publisher and YA Books Central for a copy of the book in exchange for my unbiased review.
Good Points
Enjoyable primary characters
A unique main character
Well written
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
An Endearing Love
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
A story of love that spans a childhood.

The story:
Spencer is a lonely boy with Tourette's when he meets Hope. He's learned to categorize people into the ones who make fun of him or shy away from him and the ones who don't. To his surprise, Hope is the latter. She is everything he needs. A friend, a protector, a confident. But growing up tends to complicate relationships between boys and girls. As they age, Spencer falls deeper in love with the friend he thinks will never be his. They go through many years of heartache until they're ready to finally be who they're meant to be.

What I loved:
This book made me cry and I love to cry when reading because it means I've made an emotional connection. There are things that happen in these pages that just gut the reader. It's easy to feel sorry for Spencer. There's so much emotion packed into these pages. A lot of the things that happen are things anyone who is or has been a teenager can relate to. The author perfectly depicts those awkward years.
The best part was the treatment of Spencer's Tourettes. Anyone who has ever been different can relate. The reader gets an inside look at every cruel remark or embarrassing moment and Spencer's strength in dealing with them.

What was just okay:
Neither Spencer or Hope were particularily likable, especially Hope - even before the tragedy. So much of the drama could have been cleared up with just a little honesty and some of the things she did or choices she made didn't make much sense.
The book is written in quite a young style for characters who are having some of the raw experiences for the first time. That being said, I still read it in one day.

Final Verdict:
A cute story of longing throughout the awkward teenage years that packs an enormous amount of emotional punch.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...

Latest Member Reviews

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
"CITY OF SPELLS is a stunning conclusion to an enthralling YA fantasy duology. The book plunges us into the story..."
The Project
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one intense psychological tale of a girl trying to reconnect with her sister after she joins..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."
Crush (Crave, #2)
 
4.7
"CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first..."
The Shadow War
 
3.0
"Audiobook review: Following 5 teens trying to survive, THE SHADOW WAR imagines World War II with a..."