The Glass Spare

Featured
 
5.0
 
3.0 (1)
2036 0
The Glass Spare
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
October 24, 2017
ISBN
9780062491282
Buy This Book
      

The first in a new fantasy duology, The Glass Spare is a gorgeously told tale of love, loss, and deadly power from Lauren DeStefano, the bestselling author of the Chemical Garden series. Perfect for fans of Shannon Hale and Renee Ahdieh. Wilhelmina Heidle, the fourth child and only daughter of the king of the world’s wealthiest nation, has grown up in the shadows. Kept hidden from the world in order to serve as a spy for her father—whose obsession with building his empire is causing a war—Wil wants nothing more than to explore the world beyond her kingdom, if only her father would give her the chance. Until one night Wil is attacked, and she discovers a dangerous secret. Her touch turns people into gemstone. At first Wil is horrified—but as she tests its limits, she’s drawn more and more to the strange and volatile ability. When it leads to tragedy, though, Wil is forced to face the destructive power within her and finally leave her home to seek the truth and a cure. But finding the key to her redemption puts her in the path of a cursed prince who has his own ideas for what to do with Wil’s power. With a world on the brink of war and a power of ultimate destruction, can Wil find a way to help the kingdom that’s turned its back on her, or will she betray her past and her family forever?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A fast-paced King Midas retelling
(Updated: October 23, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I've not had the opportunity to read any of Lauren DeStefano's other books though I've been recommend them over and over again so when this book came across my path, I knew I had to grab it and I am so glad I did!

The Glass Spare is a twist on the King Midas myth, where the protagonist turns everything and everyone she touches into precious gemstones. Introduced as a steampunk/fantasy mash-up, The Glass Spare revolves around a handful of characters, and one plot. Wil, the only daughter of a king of the empire, has grown up in the shadows of her older brothers, raised instead to become the king's most reliable spy. Although she has three brothers, Wil is only close to two: the heir, Owen, and the scientist Gerdie. DeStefano really brought to life the complicated relationship of siblings, and the close bond that comes with loving someone unconditionally.

As the only one able to sneak in and out of the palace unnoticed, Wil is also the most reliable person Gerdie can send to pick up supplies for whatever machine or experiment he is working on. Her sense of adventure gave The Glass Spare that whimsical tone to it.

It's during one of these excursions that Wil is attacked by an angry vendor and her power manifests for the first time. Whatever Wil touches, as long as it's living, will crystallize until that person, or thing, is dead. When things take a turn for the worst she is banished from her kingdom, throwing Wil into an adventure she hadn't anticipated.

Wil soon comes across Loom, the son of a rival kingdom. A banished prince himself, Loom is trying to lead a revolution. Banished for the attempted murder on his father's life, he has no allies except his ex-fiancé and her young son, but discovering Wil's power means having one weapon in his arsenal that his father does not have: the power to kill with a single touch.

I really enjoyed the characters. The queen, Wil's mother, struck me as an incredibly important character. She loves her children more than she loves her husband, but it's all overshadowed by her OCD, her fretful need to tap surfaces and count under her breath, terrified that if she counts wrong, mis-taps the pattern, something terrible will befall her children. Particularly Owen, who spends a lot of time, as the heir, traveling the world and making connections.

The princes, individually, were also very interesting. Owen as the good son, the clever heir: he had the charisma, the personality, the good hair. Gerdie, and his ever working brain, who Wil and Owen love and protect fiercely. The sudden explosions caused by his experiment added a good dose of comic relief to the novel. Even the other brother, Baren, is interesting: he's mean, jealous of his brothers' and sister's friendship, but is also a tortured soul in his own right. I can't wait to see where she takes these relationships in the second book - I have the feeling we're just seeing the tip of the iceberg with these characters.

Overall, this was an incredibly easy world to get into and the story kept me turning page after page.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
OK
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
"The Glass Spare" follows Wil, the youngest child of a warmonger king. One day, her life changes- in a dispute, her pulse races and her touch turns a human into a gemstone. With a twist on the King Midas touch (with any precious gem), Wil is at first intrigued and then later horrified. Seeking a way to get rid of this cursed ability, she ventures into the world. She soon meets up with a handsome boy, Loom, the prince of a rival kingdom. Loom is the love interest that doesn't quite fully develop until the end of the book.

Overall, I liked the premise, but I did get lost in places where it felt like filler/the story did not advance so much. I would have liked a faster pace, I think, to build the world more and push the characters into more activity. However, I really did like the premise and am looking forward to reading the next in the series, so I am bumping up my rating.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Handpicked by Amazon kids’ books editor, Seira Wilson, for Prime...
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join Gray Malin’s menagerie of wild animals for a stay...
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Hattie the magician―she’s a natural performer, and you’re invited...
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When spring arrives, baby animals come out to play with...
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The delightful follow-up to When Dimple Met Rishi and There’s...
The Child of Chaos
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This is what fantasy fiction should be." --Piers Anthony, New...
Want to Read Rate this book 1 of 5 stars2 of 5 stars3 of 5 stars4 of 5 stars5 of 5 stars Preview Star-Spangled: The Story of a Flag, a Battle, and the American Anthem
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
“O say can you see” begins one of the most...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
July 20, 1969. It’s a day that has earned a...
Thurgood Marshall
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Thurgood Marshall—the great grandson of a slave—was born, African...
Down Under the Pier
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
There’s lots of fun to be had up on the...

Latest Member Reviews

The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
"STANLEY'S TOOLBOX is a delightful board book that shows many tools in action as Stanley helps to repair Little Woo's..."
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
"SPRING IS HERE! is a delightful board book that features several animals in the springtime setting. The book is extra..."
Lali's Feather
 
5.0
"LALI'S FEATHER is a delightful and colorful picture book that explores birds and imagination. Lali is playing when she finds..."
A Friend for Mole
 
3.5
"A FRIEND FOR MOLE is a cute picture book that speaks to unlikely friendships and shared experiences. Mole is happy..."
 
5.0
"This book is a winner the moment a reader lays eyes on that cover--and the title. My niece--who is picky..."
 
5.0
"This book is absolutely adorable. Dragons can suddenly show up wherever the characters are and they have to..."
The Girl and the Ghost
 
4.0
"5 Reasons to Read THE GIRL AND THE GHOST 1.) Beautiful prose- This was my first time..."
Brother's Keeper
 
5.0
"BROTHER'S KEEPER is a highly engrossing and heartfelt read about a 12-year-old girl and her dangerous journey from North to..."
Izzy Gizmo and the Invention Convention
 
5.0
"IZZY GIZMO AND THE INVENTION CONVENTION is a delightful, rhyming book about staying true to yourself and getting creative. Izzy..."
The Welcome Wagon
 
3.0
"THE WELCOME WAGON features four friends who decide to welcome a new family to Cubby Hill. As they travel to..."
Once Upon a Crime: Batman Tales
 
3.5
"BATMAN TALES: ONCE UPON A CRIME reimagines fairytales as Batman stories. There are four main stories in this graphic novel...."
Finder, Coal Mine Dog
 
4.5
"Thomas' father perished in a mining accident, so when his mother became ill and died, he ended up with his..."
Bo the Brave
 
5.0
"BO THE BRAVE is a delightful story about courage and not judging others too quickly. Bo lives with her brothers,..."
Double Trouble!
 
3.0
"DOUBLE TROUBLE! features twins, Ellis and Erin, who are looking for trouble. They search all over the house, in the..."
The Derby Daredevils: Kenzie Kickstarts a Team: (The Derby Daredevils Book #1)
 
4.5
"Kenzie and her best friend Shelley love roller derby, a sport in which they are interested because Kenzie's mother is..."
Nina Soni, Former Best Friend
 
5.0
"Nina is nine years old, and struggling with several things. Her father has to spend his week working away from..."