Genuine Fraud

FeaturedHot
 
3.3 (2)
 
3.7 (1)
5694 0
Genuine Fraud
Author(s)
Age Range
13+
Release Date
September 05, 2017
ISBN
978-0385744775
Buy This Book
      

The story of a young woman whose diabolical smarts are her ticket into a charmed life. But how many times can someone reinvent themselves? You be the judge. Imogen is a runaway heiress, an orphan, a cook, and a cheat. Jule is a fighter, a social chameleon, and an athlete. An intense friendship. A disappearance. A murder, or maybe two. A bad romance, or maybe three. Blunt objects, disguises, blood, and chocolate. The American dream, superheroes, spies, and villains. A girl who refuses to give people what they want from her. A girl who refuses to be the person she once was.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Genuine Fraud
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
GENUINE FRAUD by E. Lockhart is a character-driven thriller that is told in reverse chronological order. In essence, the book starts at the end of the story and then works its way backwards, slowly revealing the truth about the protagonist, Jule. Whether this approach is original or not, it works well for this book as it heightens the suspense and tension. I constantly was trying to figure it all out, and though I predicted some moments, there still were enough surprises to keep me on my toes.

Jule was also a refreshing female character. In a lot of young adult novels, the main characters are the kind of girls who don’t know how pretty they are until a male lead helps them realize it. They’re the girls who don’t go out of their way to enhance their appearances and are thrown off when someone finally notices them. Jule, conversely, is someone who likes to wear makeup and isn’t afraid to be feminine. Though she’s not necessarily a girly-girl, she does enjoy disguising herself and the act of becoming another person. The tomboy, dorky, late bloomers are easy to relate to, but it’s nice to finally have someone who is both counterculture to this and able to make feminist commentary. Jule can do a mean smoky eye AND kick someone’s butt. It’s possible to be and do both.

I also liked how the author used contemporary devices, such as YouTube, to enhance setting and really ground the story in this time period. This choice provided a tangibly realistic element in such a mysterious plot. With that being said, the payoff at the end of the story was not quite big enough. Based on how the book is set up, it needed a massive plot twist à la GONE GIRL, something that the audience could not see coming. It also needed stronger motivation for why Jule went crazy. The story didn’t make Jule an anti-hero, or a villain with whom we sympathize, and without any other characters to actually care about, it was hard to finish. In the end, I felt morally disgusted and unsure of Lockhart’s intent.

Overall, GENUINE FRAUD is a good book for those who enjoy character studies and those who like unconventional ways of telling a story. However, the novel, which started off with a lot of potential, ultimately fell short of delivering the final puzzle piece.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Creepy characters!
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
This is my first book by E. Lockhart and boy did it stress me out! Told in reverse, I flipped through pages to discover the mystery behind the characters that I wish to never cross.

What I Liked:

I can't remember the last time (if ever) that I read a book in a backwards timeline. It's so unusual, but I liked it! I wanted to reach the end of the book to know how everything happens and what made the main character land in a run-down motel in Baja California, Mexico (so close to me!). And whoa, quite a disturbing ride! Without spoiling much, what I can say is that one of the main characters is the kind of person I never want to cross paths with. The kind of character who gives me the chills and why I stray far away from thrillers/mysteries. She is a social chameleon alright, who must always get what she wants from you and be LOVED by you if you want to stay safe. Super creepy yet interesting to read about. Sort of.

What Left Me Wanting More:

I tried really hard to care for the characters in this book, but I couldn't. Sometimes, there wasn't even enough time for me to start liking them when the main characters would take them out of their lives. Often cold heartedly. And the main characters weren't likeable enough for some obvious reasons so at the end, I was left without a character to hold on to.

The end of Genuine Fraud left me a bit frustrated as well since there really wasn't any big reveal/plot twist to surprise me. It turned out to be predictable and the character doesn't seem to act any differently throughout the novel. It's not that I was expecting a redeeming arc, but I was expecting something more.

Final Verdict:

Genuine Fraud is certain to appeal to fans of mysteries with its backwards timeline and creepy characters. This is the type of read I kind of wish to erase from my mind, but I cannot deny it had me reading non-stop to get to the bottom of it all!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Interesting
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Interesting, quick read. You're held a bit at a distance because of the nature of this narrator, but it's worth it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

Christmas Parade
 
4.5
"CHRISTMAS PARADE is another cute and brightly colored board book from Boynton. In this book, children see a Christmas parade,..."
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
"BEST FRIEND IN THE WHOLE WORLD is a sweet picture book about friends and doing the right thing. Roland lives..."
The Threads of Magic
 
3.0
"Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box..."
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."
You and Me
 
5.0
"YOU AND ME is a sweet book about love between caregiver and child. The lyrical poetry of the rhyming text,..."
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
"BABY'S FIRST FARM takes readers on a delightful lift-the-flap journey around the farm. The board book is a simple story..."
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
"CAN I COME TOO? tells the story of a small mouse who decides to go on a big adventure to..."
Karma Moon: Ghost Hunter
 
3.0
"Karma Moon loves living with her dad in their New York neighborhood, answering phone calls for his Totally Rad documentary..."
Beetle and the Hollowbones
 
5.0
"Beetle is a goblin-witch who isn't loving the small magic her grandmother teaches her. She'd rather hang out with Blob..."