Genuine Fraud

Featured
 
3.3 (2)
 
3.7 (1)
2637 0
Genuine Fraud
Author(s)
Age Range
13+
Release Date
September 05, 2017
ISBN
978-0385744775
Buy This Book
      

The story of a young woman whose diabolical smarts are her ticket into a charmed life. But how many times can someone reinvent themselves? You be the judge. Imogen is a runaway heiress, an orphan, a cook, and a cheat. Jule is a fighter, a social chameleon, and an athlete. An intense friendship. A disappearance. A murder, or maybe two. A bad romance, or maybe three. Blunt objects, disguises, blood, and chocolate. The American dream, superheroes, spies, and villains. A girl who refuses to give people what they want from her. A girl who refuses to be the person she once was.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Genuine Fraud
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
GENUINE FRAUD by E. Lockhart is a character-driven thriller that is told in reverse chronological order. In essence, the book starts at the end of the story and then works its way backwards, slowly revealing the truth about the protagonist, Jule. Whether this approach is original or not, it works well for this book as it heightens the suspense and tension. I constantly was trying to figure it all out, and though I predicted some moments, there still were enough surprises to keep me on my toes.

Jule was also a refreshing female character. In a lot of young adult novels, the main characters are the kind of girls who don’t know how pretty they are until a male lead helps them realize it. They’re the girls who don’t go out of their way to enhance their appearances and are thrown off when someone finally notices them. Jule, conversely, is someone who likes to wear makeup and isn’t afraid to be feminine. Though she’s not necessarily a girly-girl, she does enjoy disguising herself and the act of becoming another person. The tomboy, dorky, late bloomers are easy to relate to, but it’s nice to finally have someone who is both counterculture to this and able to make feminist commentary. Jule can do a mean smoky eye AND kick someone’s butt. It’s possible to be and do both.

I also liked how the author used contemporary devices, such as YouTube, to enhance setting and really ground the story in this time period. This choice provided a tangibly realistic element in such a mysterious plot. With that being said, the payoff at the end of the story was not quite big enough. Based on how the book is set up, it needed a massive plot twist à la GONE GIRL, something that the audience could not see coming. It also needed stronger motivation for why Jule went crazy. The story didn’t make Jule an anti-hero, or a villain with whom we sympathize, and without any other characters to actually care about, it was hard to finish. In the end, I felt morally disgusted and unsure of Lockhart’s intent.

Overall, GENUINE FRAUD is a good book for those who enjoy character studies and those who like unconventional ways of telling a story. However, the novel, which started off with a lot of potential, ultimately fell short of delivering the final puzzle piece.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Creepy characters!
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
This is my first book by E. Lockhart and boy did it stress me out! Told in reverse, I flipped through pages to discover the mystery behind the characters that I wish to never cross.

What I Liked:

I can't remember the last time (if ever) that I read a book in a backwards timeline. It's so unusual, but I liked it! I wanted to reach the end of the book to know how everything happens and what made the main character land in a run-down motel in Baja California, Mexico (so close to me!). And whoa, quite a disturbing ride! Without spoiling much, what I can say is that one of the main characters is the kind of person I never want to cross paths with. The kind of character who gives me the chills and why I stray far away from thrillers/mysteries. She is a social chameleon alright, who must always get what she wants from you and be LOVED by you if you want to stay safe. Super creepy yet interesting to read about. Sort of.

What Left Me Wanting More:

I tried really hard to care for the characters in this book, but I couldn't. Sometimes, there wasn't even enough time for me to start liking them when the main characters would take them out of their lives. Often cold heartedly. And the main characters weren't likeable enough for some obvious reasons so at the end, I was left without a character to hold on to.

The end of Genuine Fraud left me a bit frustrated as well since there really wasn't any big reveal/plot twist to surprise me. It turned out to be predictable and the character doesn't seem to act any differently throughout the novel. It's not that I was expecting a redeeming arc, but I was expecting something more.

Final Verdict:

Genuine Fraud is certain to appeal to fans of mysteries with its backwards timeline and creepy characters. This is the type of read I kind of wish to erase from my mind, but I cannot deny it had me reading non-stop to get to the bottom of it all!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Interesting
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Interesting, quick read. You're held a bit at a distance because of the nature of this narrator, but it's worth it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Red Queen,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The world is brimming full of incredible inventions - but...
Sisters of Shadow and Light
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The night my sister was born, the stars died and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He thinks she's shallow, she thinks he's a nerd. What...
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A groovy New York Times bestseller! ...
Seneca Element (The Seneca Society Book 2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you knew that creating singularity between your mind...
Our Year of Love and Parties
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this poignant, funny, and romantic novel, four nights...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Elemental Manipulation is tricky. Only those with the power can...
The Path Divided
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every choice has a consequence. When a magical picture...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Marlee Stanley joins her two sisters and the...
Shadowscent
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
An Ember in the Ashes meets Indiana Jones in...
Reverie
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inception meets The Magicians, except with better wigs and...

Latest Member Reviews

Pippin No Lickin'
 
5.0
"As a family with 2 busy boys, 14 and 12, we appreciate Layne’s contribution to helping children understand the importance..."
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
"'Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party' by Kimberly & James Dean is a cute story about friendship and..."
The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
"Agatha loves the work of Detective Hercule Poirot. He's actually her imaginary friend and she uses his work to influence..."
Starfell: Willow Moss & the Lost Day (Starfell, #1)
 
4.0
"STARFELL is a charming and magic-filled middle grade fantasy that sweeps young readers away into another world. Willow Moss seemed..."
Journey of the Pale Bear
 
5.0
"What an adventure I just had! From the moment, I opened the book, I was transported to the 13th century..."
Hey Grandude!
 
4.5
"'Hey Grandude!' by Paul McCartney, illustrated by Kathryn Durst, is a fun, colorful, and exciting adventure. The illustrations enhance the..."
The Peacock Detectives
 
4.0
"THE PEACOCK DETECTIVES is a story told by a young narrator, who is in Grade 6 but reads at a..."
Big Nate: Back to Back Hits: On a Roll and Goes for Broke
 
5.0
"This is a combination of two Big Nate novels; Big Nate on a Roll and Big Nate Goes For Broke...."
The Fowl Twins (The Fowl Twins, #1)
 
5.0
"I have never read the original Artemis Fowl books but now I absolutely intend to. The Fowl Twins is highly..."
Amelia Bedelia & Friends: Beat the Clock
 
5.0
"Brilliant. This was the perfect book to read with my five year old niece. It's every bit as..."
Amelia Bedelia & Friends: The Cat's Meow
 
5.0
"Cute and Fun There's no end to the adorableness of Amelia Bedelia and this book is no different. Amelia..."
The Monster Hypothesis
 
5.0
"THE MONSTER HYPOTHESIS is a really fun middle grade investigative mystery. Kick is living with her grandmother, a fake psychic..."
Carnevil (Monsterstreet #3)
 
5.0
"Ren and Kip aren't sure what to expect when they visit their Aunt for Halloween. She works at an Old..."
Stuffed
 
4.0
"STUFFED follows Clark and Foon. Clark is a boy who loves stuffed animals and feels that they keep him safe...."
The Edge of the Word (Mightier than the Sword, #2)
 
5.0
"THE EDGE OF THE WORD is another absolutely delightful interactive story, where you are the main character in the book...."
Rat Rule 79: An Adventure (Yonder, #1)
 
5.0
"RAT RULE 79 is charming, ridiculous, and completely engaging. Fred is about to turn thirteen in a new place, as..."
Magic Tree House Deluxe Holiday Edition: Christmas in Camelot
 
4.0
"Jack and Annie get an invitation from "M" to spend Christmas in Camelot, which excites them since they haven't heard..."
Awesome Dog 5000 (#1)
 
4.0
"Marty Fontana and his mother move to a new town for her job, and have a house that belonged to..."
The Big Game
 
4.0
"Danny lives in Texas with his mother and former Pittsburgh Steelers player father, who now sells farm machinery. The father..."
Pippa Park Raises Her Game
 
4.0
"Pippa loves to play basketball and struggles a tiny bit in school. She lives with her much older sister, Mina,..."