Top Ten

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1424 0
Top Ten
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
October 03, 2017
ISBN
978-0062418302
Buy This Book
      

Ryan McCullough and Gabby Hart are the unlikeliest of friends. Introverted, anxious Gabby would rather do literally anything than go to a party. Ryan is a star hockey player who can get any girl he wants—and does, frequently. But against all odds, they became not only friends, but each other’s favorite person. Now, as they face high school graduation, they can’t help but take a moment to reminisce and, in their signature tradition, make a top ten list—counting down the top ten moments of their friendship: 10. Where to begin? Maybe the night we met. 9. Then there was our awkward phase. 8. When you were in love with me but never told me… 7. Those five months we stopped talking were the hardest of my life. 6. Through terrible fights… 5. And emotional makeups. 4. You were there for me when I got my heart broken. 3. …but at times, you were also the one breaking it. 2. Above all, you helped me make sense of the world. 1. Now, as we head off to college—how am I possibly going to live without you?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Beautiful and amazing
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
TOP TEN was an amazing contemporary book that was the perfect blend of adorable and kicks you in the feels. It follows Gabby and Ryan as they graduate high school and look back on the best moments of their friendship. Gabby suffers from anxiety and would much rather stay home with her books while Ryan is a star hockey player who is a social butterfly and can have his pick of any girl at school. Gabby and Ryan are the last two people in the world you would expect to be best friends, but despite the doubt, they make it work. Told in flashbacks and alternating POVs Gabby and Ryan go through their list of top ten best moments throughout high school.

What I liked

I’ve been in a huge contemporary binge and after hearing all the praise this book was getting I knew I had to get my hands on it. And can I just say I absolutely loved it. It was cute, funny, charming, with some of the best relationships. Gabby and Ryan were so different from each other but they still fit so perfectly together and despite all the fights they still were there for each other in the end. I loved that Ryan kind of became this permanent fixture in Gabby’s life. And he was someone who Gabby could really depend on. There were always people who came into either Gabby or Ryan’s life but none of that ever changed the way they felt about each other. It was also really nice to see a book where they didn’t shy away from talking about big issues and they talked to each other about their problems. This book is told in flashbacks starting with freshman year and I really loved how it gave you time to understand and love these characters, but also that it was a really interesting way to tell this story. Something that might not have worked but I think Katie pulled it off. I do have to say at times the story got a bit confusing but it wasn’t anything that made me want to stop reading. That might have to do with the fact that I needed to know what would happen to these characters.

I really loved that this book was about the friendship between Gabby and Ryan, but that it also brought attention to the anxiety that Gabby suffered from. Throughout the book, we see more and more how anxiety affects Gabby and how in the beginning she thinks she can handle it herself. But ultimately learns that asking for help, getting help does not make her weak or vulnerable. She begins to take things on her own and she learned that leaning on people isn’t a bad thing. Katie does a great job at understanding anxiety and really portraying it on the page. I was kinda bummed by the ending because of that one thing that won’t be mentioned (it’s not a bad thing promise) but also because it felt a bit rushed. I really wish we could have seen Gabby and Ryan really kinda settle into the choices they made and being away from home and where that would lead. I liked getting to know both of these characters and I would have loved to see a bit more of a resolution to everything they both were dealing with. Don’t get me wrong I still really loved this book and the ending was a great ending.

One more quick side note I really really loved how present Gabby’s parents were. They were there from the beginning, they supported Gabby in every choice and they never forced her into uncomfortable situations with her anxiety. I also liked this sense that they weren’t sure how to handle it, they didn’t know how to help her and weren’t sure how far to push. It shows this kinda helpless feeling when someone we love deals with anxiety. I just loved Gabby’s parents and how supportive and loving they were. Overall this book was amazing. It was all the perfect things I love in a YA contemporary and more. Katie not only developed amazing characters, but she wrote about issues people don’t always understand or care about in such a brilliant way. I loved Top Ten and I would highly recommend this book to anyone who loves contemporary.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...

Latest Member Reviews

Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
"STANLEY'S TOOLBOX is a delightful board book that shows many tools in action as Stanley helps to repair Little Woo's..."
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
"SPRING IS HERE! is a delightful board book that features several animals in the springtime setting. The book is extra..."
Lali's Feather
 
5.0
"LALI'S FEATHER is a delightful and colorful picture book that explores birds and imagination. Lali is playing when she finds..."
A Friend for Mole
 
3.5
"A FRIEND FOR MOLE is a cute picture book that speaks to unlikely friendships and shared experiences. Mole is happy..."
 
5.0
"This book is a winner the moment a reader lays eyes on that cover--and the title. My niece--who is picky..."
 
5.0
"This book is absolutely adorable. Dragons can suddenly show up wherever the characters are and they have to..."
The Girl and the Ghost
 
4.0
"5 Reasons to Read THE GIRL AND THE GHOST 1.) Beautiful prose- This was my first time..."
Brother's Keeper
 
5.0
"BROTHER'S KEEPER is a highly engrossing and heartfelt read about a 12-year-old girl and her dangerous journey from North to..."
Izzy Gizmo and the Invention Convention
 
5.0
"IZZY GIZMO AND THE INVENTION CONVENTION is a delightful, rhyming book about staying true to yourself and getting creative. Izzy..."
The Welcome Wagon
 
3.0
"THE WELCOME WAGON features four friends who decide to welcome a new family to Cubby Hill. As they travel to..."
Once Upon a Crime: Batman Tales
 
3.5
"BATMAN TALES: ONCE UPON A CRIME reimagines fairytales as Batman stories. There are four main stories in this graphic novel...."
Finder, Coal Mine Dog
 
4.5
"Thomas' father perished in a mining accident, so when his mother became ill and died, he ended up with his..."
Bo the Brave
 
5.0
"BO THE BRAVE is a delightful story about courage and not judging others too quickly. Bo lives with her brothers,..."