Top Ten

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1435 0
Top Ten
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
October 03, 2017
ISBN
978-0062418302
Buy This Book
      

Ryan McCullough and Gabby Hart are the unlikeliest of friends. Introverted, anxious Gabby would rather do literally anything than go to a party. Ryan is a star hockey player who can get any girl he wants—and does, frequently. But against all odds, they became not only friends, but each other’s favorite person. Now, as they face high school graduation, they can’t help but take a moment to reminisce and, in their signature tradition, make a top ten list—counting down the top ten moments of their friendship: 10. Where to begin? Maybe the night we met. 9. Then there was our awkward phase. 8. When you were in love with me but never told me… 7. Those five months we stopped talking were the hardest of my life. 6. Through terrible fights… 5. And emotional makeups. 4. You were there for me when I got my heart broken. 3. …but at times, you were also the one breaking it. 2. Above all, you helped me make sense of the world. 1. Now, as we head off to college—how am I possibly going to live without you?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Beautiful and amazing
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
TOP TEN was an amazing contemporary book that was the perfect blend of adorable and kicks you in the feels. It follows Gabby and Ryan as they graduate high school and look back on the best moments of their friendship. Gabby suffers from anxiety and would much rather stay home with her books while Ryan is a star hockey player who is a social butterfly and can have his pick of any girl at school. Gabby and Ryan are the last two people in the world you would expect to be best friends, but despite the doubt, they make it work. Told in flashbacks and alternating POVs Gabby and Ryan go through their list of top ten best moments throughout high school.

What I liked

I’ve been in a huge contemporary binge and after hearing all the praise this book was getting I knew I had to get my hands on it. And can I just say I absolutely loved it. It was cute, funny, charming, with some of the best relationships. Gabby and Ryan were so different from each other but they still fit so perfectly together and despite all the fights they still were there for each other in the end. I loved that Ryan kind of became this permanent fixture in Gabby’s life. And he was someone who Gabby could really depend on. There were always people who came into either Gabby or Ryan’s life but none of that ever changed the way they felt about each other. It was also really nice to see a book where they didn’t shy away from talking about big issues and they talked to each other about their problems. This book is told in flashbacks starting with freshman year and I really loved how it gave you time to understand and love these characters, but also that it was a really interesting way to tell this story. Something that might not have worked but I think Katie pulled it off. I do have to say at times the story got a bit confusing but it wasn’t anything that made me want to stop reading. That might have to do with the fact that I needed to know what would happen to these characters.

I really loved that this book was about the friendship between Gabby and Ryan, but that it also brought attention to the anxiety that Gabby suffered from. Throughout the book, we see more and more how anxiety affects Gabby and how in the beginning she thinks she can handle it herself. But ultimately learns that asking for help, getting help does not make her weak or vulnerable. She begins to take things on her own and she learned that leaning on people isn’t a bad thing. Katie does a great job at understanding anxiety and really portraying it on the page. I was kinda bummed by the ending because of that one thing that won’t be mentioned (it’s not a bad thing promise) but also because it felt a bit rushed. I really wish we could have seen Gabby and Ryan really kinda settle into the choices they made and being away from home and where that would lead. I liked getting to know both of these characters and I would have loved to see a bit more of a resolution to everything they both were dealing with. Don’t get me wrong I still really loved this book and the ending was a great ending.

One more quick side note I really really loved how present Gabby’s parents were. They were there from the beginning, they supported Gabby in every choice and they never forced her into uncomfortable situations with her anxiety. I also liked this sense that they weren’t sure how to handle it, they didn’t know how to help her and weren’t sure how far to push. It shows this kinda helpless feeling when someone we love deals with anxiety. I just loved Gabby’s parents and how supportive and loving they were. Overall this book was amazing. It was all the perfect things I love in a YA contemporary and more. Katie not only developed amazing characters, but she wrote about issues people don’t always understand or care about in such a brilliant way. I loved Top Ten and I would highly recommend this book to anyone who loves contemporary.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
 
5.0
"Loved it!"
ExtraNormal Academy (ExtraNormal Academy, #1)
 
4.0
"A different take on Academy books with the main character as an alien from another planet, sent to observe humans...."
 
5.0
"I strongly recommend this novel. It has the perfect combination of action, plot twists, and cool characters that kept my..."
 
5.0
"I had no idea about how serious the fallout for teens who sext can be until I read this book...."
 
5.0
"I loved this book so much I didn’t want it to end! I totally related to the characters and the..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"When country music sensation Becks leaps off the stage mid performance and kisses Nicky everything he’s worked so hard to..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"The story: When Callie's parents send her to help her uncle for the summer working at the Circus of..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"An intriguing and twisty book. The story: Callie is just a girl who loves to surf...."
The Hunt
 
4.5
"What a ride! The story: Tempest is our fierce heroine who wants nothing more than to become the..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"'Dating Nashville' by Michelle MacQueen and Ann Maree Craven follows some of the same characters that graced the pages of..."
Glass Kingdom
 
5.0
"I don't even know where to start with this book. I practically finished it in one day (and I would..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"Growing up with the stories of the Nihryst, Adalina wants nothing more than to find them and break their curse...."
Jesse and the Ice Princess (Gulf City High)
 
4.8
" The story: Jesse Kerrigan has it all: good looks, charisma, and popularity. Even though he’s..."
Fae Hunter
 
4.5
"An enjoyable tale of a young woman who loses her sister and her sight to the Fae, but that is..."
Dragon Rebellion (The Hidden Warrior)
 
4.8
"Fantastic conclusion! Dragon Rebellion by M. Lynn is the final book in The Hidden Warrior duology picking up weeks after..."