Book of Fire

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
997 0
Book of Fire
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
August 25, 2017
ISBN
978-0-00-827154-1
Buy This Book
      

Life outside the domes is not possible. At least that’s what Insiders are told. Twins Eli and Talia shouldn’t exist. They’re Outsiders. Their home is a secret. Their lives are a secret. Arafel is secret. An unexpected forest raid forces Talia into a desperate mission to rescue her family whilst also protecting the sacred Book of Arafel from those who would use it as a weapon. As Talia and her lifelong friend Max enter the dome, she makes some unexpected discoveries, and allies, in the form of rugged Insider August, that will change the course of her life forever. Talia will stop at nothing to save her family but will she sacrifice her heart in the process? The Fire Sermon meets Gladiator in this brilliant YA debut and start of a fantastic new trilogy. Perfect for fans of Francesca Haig, Suzanne Collins and Veronica Roth, Michelle Kenney’s debut novel will have readers asking August or Max? Insider or Outsider? And, most importantly, what would you do for family?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Book of Fire is a unique and interesting start to a new dystopian series.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Book of Fire is a fast paced and action packed debut that dystopian fans will not want to miss. It’s set in a world divided: those who live inside the Dome and those who live outside of the Dome. Those inside the Dome think they safe after the nuclear war and aren’t aware that the outside world is habitable. Those outside of the Dome live out in the wilderness were they’ve made their home for many generations. However they live in fear of the people inside the Dome, as soldiers will come into the forest and kidnap their friends and family who are never seen again.

The book starts with main character Talia and her family out in the forest. Her Grandfather was one of the original people who inhabited the forest and made it the home they have today but with his responsibility for his people he’s been hiding many secrets. Talia discovers she’s to be the next guardian of the book of Arafal, a book that in the wrong hands could be used as a weapon. Suddenly soldiers from inside the Dome attack Talia’s home and take her twin brother and Grandfather as prisoners, leaving Talia determined to rescue them.

Talia is a fierce heroine from the very beginning; she’s impulsive and reckless in her beliefs and decisions and will stop at nothing to save her family. Talia and her best friend Max aren’t prepared for what they finds inside the Dome and to be honest I wasn’t either, it was like something out of my nightmares. Think Sarah J. Maas’ Under the Mountain meet Susan Ee’s Alcatraz.

Under the Dome Talia forms an unlikely alliance with Insider August, an elite soldier charged with the task of finding the book. August’s character is shrouded in mystery as he works directly under Octavia, leader of the dome and villain of the story but also takes risks to help Talia rescue her family leaving you guessing as to who’s side he’s really on and where his loyalties lie.

Talia and August's relationship is slow to progress but one I truly savoured, there’s obvious distrust as their both on opposite sides and the tentative and gradual progression to something that looks a lot like friends, though Talia would never call it that! I would love to see more development between Talia and August because I am all for the slow burn forbidden romance. I can definitely see a potential love triangle as poor Max didn't really get a lot of time to Talia how he feels as she's generally being a badass and trying to save the world and he's such a sweet character but for me there's only one winner and I am #TeamAugust all the way. No need for a love triangle, choice made!

Book of Fire is a unique and interesting start to a new dystopian series. Kenney wonderfully weaves mythology, history and science together creating a thrilling and gripping read filled with myths and monsters. It’s fast paced, full of action and heart. I’m looking forward to finding out a bit more about the world and to getting some much needed answers to some questions I have.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old Faith has always known she was different and her...
The Mall
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The year is 1991. Scrunchies, mixtapes and 90210 are, like,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Poems to Live Your Life By, Chris Riddell, political...
The Claires
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Four beautiful girls. Quadruplets. They are not identical.But each is...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo,...
What He Hides
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
She wants the truth... or does she? They say...
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tricia Levenseller, author of Daughter of the Pirate King,...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
"more forgetting time. more midnight dances with yourself."...
The Upside of Falling
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
It’s been years since eighteen-year-old Becca Hart believed in...
More Than His Best Friend
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
She’s got a strict rule against dating. Could her...
Salty, Bitter, Sweet
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A slow-burn romance in a cutthroat kitchen! There’s more to...
The Midnight Lie (The Midnight Lie, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Set in the world of the New York Times–bestselling Winner’s...
The Winter Duke
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
She survived the curse. Now she must survive the throne....
Most Likely (Most Likely, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the creator of the hit TV series The Bold...
Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...

Latest Member Reviews

TBH, This is SO Awkward
 
4.0
"'TBH, This is SO Awkward: A Novel in Text' by Lisa Greenwald is quite interesting in that it is written..."
Look Both Ways
 
5.0
"I often hear it said that writers are bred, and sure you can breed some decent writers with whatever amount..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
On These Magic Shores
 
5.0
"Twelve-year-old Minerva "Minnie" Soledad Miranda has big goals. She wants to be the first Latina president of the United States..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"I always struggle to review these types of novels--these black lives matter, civil rights-esque novels. I often go into them..."
Soldier Dogs #5: Battle of the Bulge
 
4.5
"Juliette's father is a baker in Belgium in 1944, and has been threatened by the occupying Nazis into giving them..."
Dog Days in the City
 
4.0
"In The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City, Josie and her large family adopted Hamlet, a pig. When..."
Daniel Coldstar #2: The Betrayer
 
4.0
"Copy provided by Young Adult Books Central After the evens in The Relic War, Daniel, Jasper the..."
The Dragon Egg Princess
 
5.0
"Change is coming to Kidahara, a magical forest in the Joson, a kingdom in a diverse realm where there is..."
Efrén Divided
 
5.0
"Efrén and his family work very hard, but still struggle to make ends meet. His father works several jobs, and..."
Worse Than Weird
 
4.0
"Mac lives with her parents, Hank and Coral, in a small house in Portland. Small, as in she sleeps in..."
Daring Darleen, Queen of the Screen
 
4.0
"Darleen comes from a long line of entertainers; her father and his siblings are all part of Matchless Studios, a..."
In the Red
 
4.0
"Michael Prasad and his family live on a colony on Mars, under a dome that controls the environment. His father,..."
Pippin No Lickin'
 
5.0
"As a family with 2 busy boys, 14 and 12, we appreciate Layne’s contribution to helping children understand the importance..."
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
"'Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party' by Kimberly & James Dean is a cute story about friendship and..."
The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
"Agatha loves the work of Detective Hercule Poirot. He's actually her imaginary friend and she uses his work to influence..."
Starfell: Willow Moss & the Lost Day (Starfell, #1)
 
4.0
"STARFELL is a charming and magic-filled middle grade fantasy that sweeps young readers away into another world. Willow Moss seemed..."
Journey of the Pale Bear
 
5.0
"What an adventure I just had! From the moment, I opened the book, I was transported to the 13th century..."
Hey Grandude!
 
4.5
"'Hey Grandude!' by Paul McCartney, illustrated by Kathryn Durst, is a fun, colorful, and exciting adventure. The illustrations enhance the..."