Book of Fire

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1188 0
Book of Fire
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
August 25, 2017
ISBN
978-0-00-827154-1
Buy This Book
      

Life outside the domes is not possible. At least that’s what Insiders are told. Twins Eli and Talia shouldn’t exist. They’re Outsiders. Their home is a secret. Their lives are a secret. Arafel is secret. An unexpected forest raid forces Talia into a desperate mission to rescue her family whilst also protecting the sacred Book of Arafel from those who would use it as a weapon. As Talia and her lifelong friend Max enter the dome, she makes some unexpected discoveries, and allies, in the form of rugged Insider August, that will change the course of her life forever. Talia will stop at nothing to save her family but will she sacrifice her heart in the process? The Fire Sermon meets Gladiator in this brilliant YA debut and start of a fantastic new trilogy. Perfect for fans of Francesca Haig, Suzanne Collins and Veronica Roth, Michelle Kenney’s debut novel will have readers asking August or Max? Insider or Outsider? And, most importantly, what would you do for family?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Book of Fire is a unique and interesting start to a new dystopian series.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Book of Fire is a fast paced and action packed debut that dystopian fans will not want to miss. It’s set in a world divided: those who live inside the Dome and those who live outside of the Dome. Those inside the Dome think they safe after the nuclear war and aren’t aware that the outside world is habitable. Those outside of the Dome live out in the wilderness were they’ve made their home for many generations. However they live in fear of the people inside the Dome, as soldiers will come into the forest and kidnap their friends and family who are never seen again.

The book starts with main character Talia and her family out in the forest. Her Grandfather was one of the original people who inhabited the forest and made it the home they have today but with his responsibility for his people he’s been hiding many secrets. Talia discovers she’s to be the next guardian of the book of Arafal, a book that in the wrong hands could be used as a weapon. Suddenly soldiers from inside the Dome attack Talia’s home and take her twin brother and Grandfather as prisoners, leaving Talia determined to rescue them.

Talia is a fierce heroine from the very beginning; she’s impulsive and reckless in her beliefs and decisions and will stop at nothing to save her family. Talia and her best friend Max aren’t prepared for what they finds inside the Dome and to be honest I wasn’t either, it was like something out of my nightmares. Think Sarah J. Maas’ Under the Mountain meet Susan Ee’s Alcatraz.

Under the Dome Talia forms an unlikely alliance with Insider August, an elite soldier charged with the task of finding the book. August’s character is shrouded in mystery as he works directly under Octavia, leader of the dome and villain of the story but also takes risks to help Talia rescue her family leaving you guessing as to who’s side he’s really on and where his loyalties lie.

Talia and August's relationship is slow to progress but one I truly savoured, there’s obvious distrust as their both on opposite sides and the tentative and gradual progression to something that looks a lot like friends, though Talia would never call it that! I would love to see more development between Talia and August because I am all for the slow burn forbidden romance. I can definitely see a potential love triangle as poor Max didn't really get a lot of time to Talia how he feels as she's generally being a badass and trying to save the world and he's such a sweet character but for me there's only one winner and I am #TeamAugust all the way. No need for a love triangle, choice made!

Book of Fire is a unique and interesting start to a new dystopian series. Kenney wonderfully weaves mythology, history and science together creating a thrilling and gripping read filled with myths and monsters. It’s fast paced, full of action and heart. I’m looking forward to finding out a bit more about the world and to getting some much needed answers to some questions I have.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Jackaby
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Newly arrived in New Fiddleham, New England, 1892, and in...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And not...
The Last Fallen Star (Gifted Clans, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Riley Oh can't wait to see her sister get initiated...
Take Me Home: Forests of the World
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Bite-sized facts about forests from around the globe, pointing out...
Hurricane Summer
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this sweeping debut, Asha Bromfield takes readers to the...
All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this tender, nuanced coming-of-age love story, two boys—one who...
Reign of Secrets
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
At the Midnight Ball, leave your inhibitions at the...
The Forest of Stolen Girls
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1426, Joseon (Korea). Hwani's family has never been the...
Go the Distance
 
4.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
What if Meg had to become a god? After...
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A young prince must rely on a mysterious stranger...
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates...
Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bite-sized facts about bodies of water from around the globe,...

Latest Member Reviews

Jackaby
 
4.7
"This book was a pleasant surprise. Jackaby by William Ritter is the first in the series by the same name...."
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
"GUTTER GIRL is a unique YA contemporary romance that follows two main characters, Jace and McKenna. McKenna is an outcast..."
Go the Distance
 
4.0
"Go the Distance by Jen Calonita is the latest installment in Disney’s Twisted Tale series. This time the story focuses..."
Unchosen
 
4.7
"UNCHOSEN by Katharyn Blair is a YA Dystopian novel set in the future after the Crimson, a virus-like curse, turns..."
Hurricane Summer
 
4.3
"HURRICANE SUMMER is a sweeping coming-of-age story that captures the difficult and at times dangerous transition to womanhood. Tilla is..."
All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
"ALL KINDS OF OTHER is an intriguing YA contemporary that follows two boys as they start at a new school...."
This Is My America
 
5.0
"WHAT I LOVED: Tracy's family is an outsider in multiple ways in their Texas town: they're one of the..."
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
"COUNTING DOWN WITH YOU is a heart-wrenching and visceral YA contemporary read. Karina (Myra is her familial name) is a..."
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
"IN DEEPER WATERS is an intriguing and fast-paced YA fantasy. Tal is the fourth of five royal children in a..."
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
"THESE FEATHERED FLAMES is an enchanting YA fantasy about sisterhood, power, and destiny. When twins are born in the royal..."
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
"THE OTHER SIDE OF PERFECT is an engrossing YA contemporary about loss, grief, moving on, friendship, and sisterhood. Alina has..."
Indivisible
 
5.0
"INDIVISIBLE is a heartfelt and riveting YA contemporary about family, feeling different, and immigration in the US. Mateo is a..."
My Last Summer with Cass
 
5.0
"“A good friendship is like a work of art.” Megan and Cass have been friends forever. Their..."
The Prison Healer (The Prison Healer, #1)
 
5.0
"THE PRISON HEALER is a stunning and captivating YA fantasy read. This book takes place in a prison, Zalindov, which..."
The Forest of Stolen Girls
 
5.0
"There were so many things I really liked about this book. The case of the missing girls was obviously the..."
Poison Priestess (Lady Slayers, #2)
 
3.3
"POISON PRIESTESS is an intriguing YA historical fiction that follows Catherine Monvoisin, a fortune teller and infamous master of poisons...."
Ember of Night
 
4.3
"EMBER OF NIGHT is an intense and steamy YA fantasy read. The book follows Harley, an almost 18-year-old who has..."
The Sky Above Us
 
3.3
"THE SKY ABOVE US is a YA drama about grief, loss, and the search for something better. The book follows..."
Poisoned
 
4.3
"POISONED by Jennifer Donnelly is a YA fairytale retelling of the original Snow White by the Brothers Grimm. In it,..."
Sex Kittens and Horn Dawgs Fall in Love
 
N/A
"[b]AMOXIL[/b] is used to treat many different types of infections caused by bacteria, such as ear infections, bladder infections, pneumonia,..."