Book of Fire

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1103 0
Book of Fire
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
August 25, 2017
ISBN
978-0-00-827154-1
Buy This Book
      

Life outside the domes is not possible. At least that’s what Insiders are told. Twins Eli and Talia shouldn’t exist. They’re Outsiders. Their home is a secret. Their lives are a secret. Arafel is secret. An unexpected forest raid forces Talia into a desperate mission to rescue her family whilst also protecting the sacred Book of Arafel from those who would use it as a weapon. As Talia and her lifelong friend Max enter the dome, she makes some unexpected discoveries, and allies, in the form of rugged Insider August, that will change the course of her life forever. Talia will stop at nothing to save her family but will she sacrifice her heart in the process? The Fire Sermon meets Gladiator in this brilliant YA debut and start of a fantastic new trilogy. Perfect for fans of Francesca Haig, Suzanne Collins and Veronica Roth, Michelle Kenney’s debut novel will have readers asking August or Max? Insider or Outsider? And, most importantly, what would you do for family?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Book of Fire is a unique and interesting start to a new dystopian series.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Book of Fire is a fast paced and action packed debut that dystopian fans will not want to miss. It’s set in a world divided: those who live inside the Dome and those who live outside of the Dome. Those inside the Dome think they safe after the nuclear war and aren’t aware that the outside world is habitable. Those outside of the Dome live out in the wilderness were they’ve made their home for many generations. However they live in fear of the people inside the Dome, as soldiers will come into the forest and kidnap their friends and family who are never seen again.

The book starts with main character Talia and her family out in the forest. Her Grandfather was one of the original people who inhabited the forest and made it the home they have today but with his responsibility for his people he’s been hiding many secrets. Talia discovers she’s to be the next guardian of the book of Arafal, a book that in the wrong hands could be used as a weapon. Suddenly soldiers from inside the Dome attack Talia’s home and take her twin brother and Grandfather as prisoners, leaving Talia determined to rescue them.

Talia is a fierce heroine from the very beginning; she’s impulsive and reckless in her beliefs and decisions and will stop at nothing to save her family. Talia and her best friend Max aren’t prepared for what they finds inside the Dome and to be honest I wasn’t either, it was like something out of my nightmares. Think Sarah J. Maas’ Under the Mountain meet Susan Ee’s Alcatraz.

Under the Dome Talia forms an unlikely alliance with Insider August, an elite soldier charged with the task of finding the book. August’s character is shrouded in mystery as he works directly under Octavia, leader of the dome and villain of the story but also takes risks to help Talia rescue her family leaving you guessing as to who’s side he’s really on and where his loyalties lie.

Talia and August's relationship is slow to progress but one I truly savoured, there’s obvious distrust as their both on opposite sides and the tentative and gradual progression to something that looks a lot like friends, though Talia would never call it that! I would love to see more development between Talia and August because I am all for the slow burn forbidden romance. I can definitely see a potential love triangle as poor Max didn't really get a lot of time to Talia how he feels as she's generally being a badass and trying to save the world and he's such a sweet character but for me there's only one winner and I am #TeamAugust all the way. No need for a love triangle, choice made!

Book of Fire is a unique and interesting start to a new dystopian series. Kenney wonderfully weaves mythology, history and science together creating a thrilling and gripping read filled with myths and monsters. It’s fast paced, full of action and heart. I’m looking forward to finding out a bit more about the world and to getting some much needed answers to some questions I have.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Instant Karma
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
In New York Times bestselling author Marissa Meyer's young adult...
Put Yourself in My Shoes
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Cricket goes for a walk, he finds Ladybug searching...
Selma
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Selma is asked: What is happiness? ...
Benjamin's Blue Feet
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young bird with a flair for discovery and invention...
Pocket Piggies: I Love You!
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
What’s the best thing in the world? I...
Everything Under the Sun
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sun’s Reach is in dire peril. The last...
Lizzy Albright and the Attic Window
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lizzy Albright, a red-headed, freckle-faced girl from Overland Park, Kansas,...
Send Me Their Souls (Bring Me Their Hearts, #3)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
There are worse things than death. ...
The Walrus and the Caribou
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
When the earth was new, words had the power to...
The Elephant's Umbrella
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Elephant is always ready and willing to share her prized...
Calvin Gets the Last Word
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The dictionary as narrator? YES! ...
Goblin King (Permafrost, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Kara Barbieri's Goblin King, the stunning sequel in the...
Hollowpox: The Hunt for Morrigan Crow (Nevermoor, #3)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Morrigan battles a new evil as a strange, frightening illness...
The Gilded Wolves (The Gilded Wolves, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
*AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER* From New York...
Earth-Shattering Events: Volcanoes, earthquakes, cyclones, tsunamis and other natural disasters
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An atlas of the most extreme meteorological and geological disasters...
Among the Beasts and Briars
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Ashley Poston, acclaimed author of Heart of Iron, returns...

Latest Member Reviews

Put Yourself in My Shoes
 
4.0
"PUT YOURSELF IN MY SHOES is a cute picture book about empathy and friendship. Cricket is going on a walk..."
Selma
 
4.0
"SELMA is a simple book that seeks to tackle a complex topic- what is happiness? The answer goes back to..."
Benjamin's Blue Feet
 
4.0
"BENJAMIN'S BLUE FEET is a picture book that deals with body image and insecurity. Benjamin is a blue-footed booby and..."
Pocket Piggies: I Love You!
 
4.5
"POCKET PIGGIES: I LOVE YOU! is another adorable collection of photographs of real pocket pigs. Each page features a short..."
The Walrus and the Caribou
 
4.5
"THE WALRUS AND THE CARIBOU is a delightful picture book that captures Indigenous folklore about the creation of animals. Guk..."
The Elephant's Umbrella
 
3.5
"THE ELEPHANT'S UMBRELLA is a picture book with great illustrations and a moral of kindness. The elephant has a special..."
Calvin Gets the Last Word
 
4.0
"CALVIN GETS THE LAST WORD is a cute picture book told from the perspective of Calvin's beloved dictionary. He is..."
Hollowpox: The Hunt for Morrigan Crow (Nevermoor, #3)
 
5.0
"HOLLOWPOX is an engaging middle grade fantasy that takes the reader on a magical journey to the Wundrous Society. Morrigan..."
How to Catch a Yeti
 
5.0
"HOW TO CATCH A YETI is a delightful picture book about a group of children who, as the title implies,..."
Along Came a Fox
 
4.0
"ALONG CAME A FOX is the story of Bramble, who is excited to find some fireflies. Her friends tell her..."
Rosa's Big Pizza Experiment (Rosa's Workshop)
 
5.0
"ROSA'S BIG PIZZA EXPERIMENT is a cute picture book about the process to make a pizza, beginning with the flour,..."
Rosa's Big Sunflower Experiment (Rosa's Workshop)
 
4.0
"ROSA'S BIG SUNFLOWER EXPERIMENT is a cute picture book that brings science and plant facts to young children. Rosa and..."
That Dog!
 
4.5
"THAT DOG! is a silly fun picture book about animal similarities and light crime solving. Penny is a dognapper, and..."
I'm a Zcary Vampire
 
3.5
"I'M A ZCARY VAMPIRE is an overall cute picture book read that is great for the lead up to Halloween...."
Heroes Level Up (Homerooms & Hall Passes #2)
 
5.0
"Albiorix and his crew are having a great time being back in Bríandalör, successfully completing a lot of quests, but..."
Last: The Story of a White Rhino
 
4.5
"LAST: THE STORY OF A WHITE RHINO tells the story of the real rhino, Sudan, who is one of the..."
When Pumpkins Fly
 
3.5
"WHEN PUMPKINS FLY is about the arrival of pumpkins via plane that are then taken to the classroom where children..."
Owl Always Love You
 
5.0
"OWL ALWAYS LOVE YOU is a sweet board book that is made for bedtime. It is a sweet poem about..."
Twins
 
4.0
"Francine and Maureen feel differently about starting middle school; Francine is reinventing herself, going by "Fran"and rocking a hat an..."
Eleanor, Anna, and the Roosevelt Ghosts
 
5.0
"Eleanor Roosevelt has been living with her Grandmother Hall since her mother and father have both passed away. The older..."