A Short History of the Girl Next Door

FeaturedHot
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
5332 0
A Short History of the Girl Next Door
Author(s)
Age Range
13+
Release Date
September 26, 2017
ISBN
978-1524716073
Buy This Book
      

The unrequited love of the girl next door is the centerpiece of this fiercely funny, yet heart-breaking debut novel. Fifteen-year-old Matt Wainwright is in turmoil. He can’t tell his lifelong best friend, Tabby, how he really feels about her; his promising basketball skills are being overshadowed by his attitude on the court, and the only place he feels normal is in English class, where he can express his inner thoughts in quirky poems and essays. Matt is desperately hoping that Tabby will reciprocate his feelings; but then Tabby starts dating Liam Branson, senior basketball star and all-around great guy. Losing Tabby to Branson is bad enough; but, as Matt soon discovers, he’s close to losing everything that matters most to him. Humorous and heart-wrenching, A Short History of the Girl Next Door is perfect for readers who fell in love with All the Bright Places' Finch or Stargirl’s Leo.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

The honesty and raw emotions of the characters really got me!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I've never read something that was written as if it's for a movie screenplay!

WHAT I LIKED

I really love the writing style Jared Reck has. It's literally like I was reading a movie from Netflix. The details play out in my mind perfectly, which makes the book easy to visualize.

The characters were written perfectly. Well rounded and easy to relate to. I loved the fact that the book was told in Matt's voice, and his voice really showed that sincerity and longingness for Tabby's affections. The unrequited love was well-executed.

The story paints light to different kinds of relationships and this is one of the things I really love to see in books. The bittersweet twist of the story is draws emotions from the readers.

WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE

I didn't like that there was more because I need more!!!

FINAL VERDICT

Jared Reck's debut is a perfect mix of comedy, romance, and drama. It's a well-crafted story that deals with unrequited love and grief, while being funny at the same time. This was truly enjoyable and it's one of those stories that needs to be told, not only in books but also on screen! Honestly, I would pay to see this transform into the small/big screen!
Good Points
visual writing style, relatable characters, painfully honest and realistically funny
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Beautifully Painful Read!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I HAVE NEVER CRIED SO HARD READING A BOOK. Or laughed. Or laughed AND cried at the same time. I cannot even begin to express how much this book has touched me to the point of never wanting to release it from my grasp. A Short History of the Girl Next Door is incredibly funny, heart-warming, and heart-breaking--such an EXCELLENT read.

What I Loved:

EVERYTHING. I loved absolutely every single word and sentiment expressed in this book. A Short History of the Girl Next Door had me laughing from page one and falling in love with every character introduced. I wish I could just step into these pages and hang, if just for a few minutes, with Matt and Tabby, as well as Matt's lovable family.

Gosh, there are so many things to love about this book. Supportive family, loving friendship, great teacher guidance, self-discipline. And it's not a book that showcases a perfect life or about leading a perfect life, it's a book that is ultimately about appreciating what you have. The little things. The big things. Enjoying the moments that make you happy and appreciating the people who are part of those moments.

I feel grateful for the opportunity to read Matt's unrequited love story. This boy is as sweet as they can get and there were a million times that I wished I could be there for him. Matt is a great human being and a great brother, the kind that takes the time to play Candy Land almost every night while making funny voices for his brother's stuffed animals. He's also a talented basketball player who strives to improve every day with admirable discipline. Seriously, he's a fantastic character. How can you not love him?!?!

I also adored the way he speaks about Tabby, the girl next door. He truly loves and respects this fierce but gentle girl whose company is precious throughout the novel. However, what I most admired about Matt is how, even if it would break his heart to see Tabby with another guy, he'd hope and wish for her well-being. That doesn't mean that he would not often hope that she'd realize HE is the one for her!

Being inside Matt's head was hands down the best thing about this book. His internal monologue was often hilarious, creating scenarios for how he wishes things to play out and mocking his own imaginary romantic movie, while comparing it to how things actually turn out. His thoughts are exactly how I imagine a sweet 15-year-old teenager to be and I enjoyed being privy to them. (Even with the constant use of swear words.)

I have to say that this book caught me off guard and before I knew it, I was a sobbing mess in the middle of the night. Even now I feel like breaking down. How does one go from laughing out loud just a few seconds ago to crying your heart out in the next few? How can one NOT feel when everything is easily relatable which makes it a 100 times more real? I FELT it. I felt every emotion that Matt goes through. His shock. His anger. The resentment. The unbearable pain. The unfairness of it all.

This book shook me to my core. I was not expecting such a plot twist right in the middle, but I cannot deny that it's splendidly executed. Author Jared Reck did a great job writing this novel that balances life's beautiful moments with heart-wrenching realities.

Final Verdict:

A Short History of the Girl Next Door now belongs in my top favorite reads of 2017 list. It is beautifully painful and it certainly leaves a lasting impression. Grab some tissues and go read this book!
Good Points
Great main character. Lots of humor. Good family relationship. Adorable scenes.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Babies and toddlers can lift the flaps to look inside...

Latest Member Reviews

The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."
Crush (Crave, #2)
 
4.7
"CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first..."
The Shadow War
 
3.0
"Audiobook review: Following 5 teens trying to survive, THE SHADOW WAR imagines World War II with a..."
Meet Cute: Some people are destined to meet
 
4.0
"MEET CUTE is a fun, romantic anthology featuring stories about people first meeting. Ranging from cute to funny to dark..."
Glimpsed
 
3.7
"GLIMPSED gives us a twist on the typical fairytale with Charity, a fairy godmother from a line of fairy godmothers...."
Shine Until Tomorrow
 
5.0
"Wow, this book didn’t turn out to be anything like I expected. The story: Tamara is a young..."
Prepped
 
5.0
"PREPPED is a really captivating YA contemporary fiction. Becca is 17 years old and dreams of going away to college..."