Nothing

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1013 0
Nothing
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
September 05, 2017
ISBN
978-0062668233
Buy This Book
      

From Annie Barrows, the acclaimed #1 New York Times–bestselling coauthor of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and the author of the award-winning and bestselling Ivy + Bean books, this teen debut tells the story of Charlotte and Frankie, two high school students and best friends who don’t have magical powers, fight aliens, crash their cars, get pierced, or discover they are royal. They just go to school. And live at home. With their parents. A great read for fans of Becky Albertalli, Louise Rennison, and Adi Alsaid. Nothing ever happens to Charlotte and Frankie. Their lives are nothing like the lives of the girls they read about in their YA novels. They don’t have flowing red hair, and hot romantic encounters never happen—let alone meeting a true soul mate. They just go to high school and live at home with their parents, who are pretty normal, all things considered. But when Charlotte decides to write down everything that happens during their sophomore year—to prove that nothing happens and there is no plot or character development in real life—she’s surprised to find that being fifteen isn’t as boring as she thought. It’s weird, heartbreaking, silly, and complicated. And maybe, just perfect.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Figuring Out What Nothing Really Means
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
'Nothing' by Annie Barrows has an intriguing premise. The two girls in the story - Charlotte and Frankie - feel that nothing in their lives ever happens in the way that it does in young adult novels. To prove this, Charlotte begins writing their story. She calls it 'Nothing' and writes about their daily lives.

Despite all evidence to the contrary, life begins to change for them in ways that they didn't foresee. These changes are not necessarily the most obvious at times, but they show that anything can change in a moment and that the unexpected truly can make life worthwhile.

Even though the story was meant to show the normal, everyday lives of two average teenage girls, the story still had moments in which it could have been fleshed out further. For example, some of Charlotte and Frankie's friends were mentioned here and there, but no emotional connection ever seemed to stem from those mentions. It was realistic that they have other friends, but those friendships should have amounted to more, along with explanations as to the two guys they were semi-interested in at the beginning of the book. Showing how they dealt with those guys as they made plans to move forward with more "real" relationships would have strengthened the story all the more.

From unanticipated kisses to meeting penpals and helping friends and family find and hold on to love, the 'Nothing' girls have more going on than they would like, based on their thought that nothing ever happens. Yet it shows how writing down your everyday experiences, whether in book, journal, or some other form can encourage even those people most bored with life to come out of their shell and discover truths that they never saw coming.
Good Points
'Nothing' shows how writing down your everyday experiences, whether in book, journal, or some other form can encourage even those people most bored with life to come out of their shell and discover truths that they never saw coming.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

We Set the Dark on Fire
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
At the Medio School for Girls, distinguished young women are...
The Education of Margot Sanchez
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Pretty in Pink comes to the South Bronx in this...
Stella Diaz Has Something to Say
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In her first middle-grade novel, award-winning picture book author and...
Sarai and the Meaning of Awesome
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sarai Gonzalez is AWESOME. ...
Strange Birds: A Field Guide to Ruffling Feathers
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the award-winning author of The First Rule of Punk...
With the Fire on High
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
by Elizabeth Acevedo (Goodreads Author) 4.31 ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Four girls. One unforgettable July. ...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The definitive collection of British and Irish folktales from master...
The Fowl Twins (The Fowl Twins, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
One week after their eleventh birthday, the Fowl twins--scientist Myles,...
Kai and the Monkey King (Brownstone's Mythical Collection, #3)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Kai grows tired of her bookish mum not being...
Astro Kittens: Cosmic Machines (Astro Kittens)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Greetings, my little Astro Kittens! Are you ready to take...
Astro Kittens: Into the Unknown (Astro Kittens)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Greetings, my little Astro Kittens! Are you ready to take...

Latest Member Reviews

Adaptive
 
4.8
"The story: Lune Avery has survived the Elite Trials and escaped the clutches of her tyrant father,..."
 
4.8
"This darker and grittier sequel of Issaura's Claws, steers readers on a journey outside the kingdom of Elysia into the..."
Winter's Captive
 
5.0
"YA fantasy has always been my favorite. However, the past few months, I'd been in a slump. I struggled getting..."
The Fractured Empire
 
5.0
"I don’t know where to start! The Fractured Empire by Robin D. Mahle is the first in the World Apart..."
Tin Men
 
4.8
"Tin Men by Amalie Jahn The story: After losing his estranged father, Charlie Johnson’s..."
Tin Men
 
4.5
"Would you risk your future to discover your past? What I Loved: The premise of..."
Perfectly You
 
4.3
"What I loved: Ivy's character is strong, driven, and even a bit inconsiderate at times. Giving her character flaws..."
COLD DAY IN THE SUN
 
4.3
"An adorable story that has a lot to say. The story: Holland is the only..."
Lily and the Wedding Date Mistake
 
4.0
"'Lily and the Wedding Date Mistake' by Seven Steps is a story of friendship lost and found between main characters..."
Bea and the Bad Boy
 
4.8
"'Bea and the Bad Boy' by Anna Catherine Field is a page-turning story that evolves from two people who don't..."
Igloo High
 
3.8
"'Igloo High' by Jacinthe Dessureault has many of the typical aspects that young adult novels contain, including a popular girl,..."
Super Powers
 
4.5
"The story: Hot on the heels of the event of Super Humans (Book One), we get inside..."
Perfectly Oblivious
 
4.3
"This was a sweet high school love story centered around basketball and missed intentions. What I liked: ..."
The Kilwade Tragedy
 
5.0
"Before I start this review, I do want to let you all know that this book is trigger heavy. The..."
Colliding Skies
 
4.3
" What I loved: The cover, obviously, is gorgeous and eye catching. Skye's character is a genuine..."
Kismet and Karma
 
5.0
"The other side of the story. The Story: We finally get to see just what happened..."
Fate and Fortune
 
5.0
"Such a cute story. The Story: Paige is heartbroken after her boyfriend of two years..."
Oberon Academy Book One: The Orphan
 
4.5
"This is a promising start to an exciting new fae series! What I loved: The writing style is..."
Bea and the Bad Boy
 
3.8
"When Bea's best friend Katherine and twin brother Atticus start dating, she feels betrayed and can't stand to see them..."
The C Word
 
5.0
"Addison and Julian have history between them that neither like to talk about. Things changed after that fateful night of..."