The Temptation of Adam

Featured
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
1893 0
The Temptation of Adam
Author(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
November 21, 2017
ISBN
978-1510707306
Buy This Book
      

Adam Hawthorne is fine. Yeah, his mother left, his older sister went with her, and his dad would rather read Nicholas Sparks novels than talk to him. And yeah, he spends his nights watching self-curated porn video playlists. But Adam is fine. When a family friend discovers Adam’s porn addiction, he’s forced to join an addiction support group: the self-proclaimed Knights of Vice. He goes because he has to, but the honesty of the Knights starts to slip past his defenses. Combine that with his sister’s out-of-the-blue return and the attention of a girl he meets in an AA meeting, and all the work Adam has put into being fine begins to unravel. Now Adam has to face the causes and effects of his addiction, before he loses his new friends, his prodigal sister, and his almost semi-sort-of girlfriend.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A Fresh Look at Teen Addiction
(Updated: August 25, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
THE TEMPTATION OF ADAM focuses on Adam Hawthorne, a teen who has lost a lot. His mom and his older sister have moved away leaving him with his dad—and his dad is too immersed in his own post-break-up misery to pay much attention to Adam. Adam doesn’t have friends anymore, and he’s tortured by nightmares that leave him drifting away from his family. As a result, Adam has found something to occupy his waking hours and his mind: porn.

Adam thinks he’s coping with everything just fine until he’s suspended from school and placed under the supervision of Mr. Cratcher, a teacher/family friend Adam views as a nemesis rather than a mentor. But Adam wants to return to school, so he follows the rehabilitation path laid out for him: he spends every morning with Mr. Cratcher, he attends twelve-step meetings to deal with his porn addiction (even though he’s convinced he’s not an addict), and he joins the Knights of Vice—a group of teens addicted to a variety of things with Mr. Cratcher at their helm trying to guide them through life with wit and wisdom. Adam's interest in the group is cemented when he discovers that an attractive, sassy, and smart girl named Dez is affiliated with the Knights.

I was intrigued by the subject matter of THE TEMPTATION OF ADAM, and I was really curious to see how Dave Connis managed it. Although I’ve read a lot of fiction and non-fiction on the topic of addiction, and I’ve lived with a lot of people dealing with some variation of the disease, porn addiction is a new topic for me—and not one I’ve seen in YA literature. The whole thing could have gone terribly wrong.

Thankfully, Connis handles the topic brilliantly. His teens’ voices are authentic, and that allows him to immerse his characters in their issues and their efforts toward healing without getting preachy or didactic. Although the other Knights of Vice and the adults in the story float in the background, they step forward from time to time to share a bit of wisdom or humor.

The positives of this book are definitely the great characters, the truly lovely writing, and how adept Connis is in dealing with his topic. It’s not a perfect book: the characters make some choices that caused me to have to suspend belief for a bit, and there are inconsistencies toward the end of the book that are hopefully resolved in the final copy of it, but the flaws are not sufficient to keep me from recommending this book to all YA readers. THE TEMPTATION OF ADAM is a fresh narrative and a terrific debut, and I really look forward to Dave Connis’s future books. My thanks to YA Books Central and the publisher for a copy of the book in exchange for my unbiased review.
Good Points
Great characters
Lovely writing
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...

Latest Member Reviews

shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."
Crush (Crave, #2)
 
4.7
"CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first..."
The Shadow War
 
3.0
"Audiobook review: Following 5 teens trying to survive, THE SHADOW WAR imagines World War II with a..."
Meet Cute: Some people are destined to meet
 
4.0
"MEET CUTE is a fun, romantic anthology featuring stories about people first meeting. Ranging from cute to funny to dark..."
Glimpsed
 
3.7
"GLIMPSED gives us a twist on the typical fairytale with Charity, a fairy godmother from a line of fairy godmothers...."
Shine Until Tomorrow
 
5.0
"Wow, this book didn’t turn out to be anything like I expected. The story: Tamara is a young..."
Prepped
 
5.0
"PREPPED is a really captivating YA contemporary fiction. Becca is 17 years old and dreams of going away to college..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
5.0
"This book has become one of my all-time favorites. Every time I start reading I couldn’t put it down, touched..."
Curse of the Divine (Ink in the Blood, #2)
 
4.7
"CURSE OF THE DIVINE is a dark, atmospheric, and compelling finale to a unique YA fantasy duology. In the first..."
Who Put This Song On?
 
4.7
"In a small, very white town, Morgan is trapped in the expectations and assumptions of everyone around her. She hasn't..."