The Hanging Girl

Featured
 
4.0
 
4.5 (2)
2470 1
The Hanging Girl
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
October 03, 2017
ISBN
978-0544829824
Buy This Book
      

Skye Thorn has given tarot card readings for years, and now her psychic visions are helping the police find the town’s missing golden girl. It’s no challenge—her readings have always been faked, but this time she has some insider knowledge. The kidnapping was supposed to be easy—no one would get hurt and she’d get the money she needs to start a new life. But a seemingly harmless prank has turned dark, and Skye realizes the people she’s involved with are willing to kill to get what they want and she must discover their true identity before it’s too late.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

The Hanging Girl
(Updated: August 20, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Skye Thorn is a fake. Her so-called psychic abilities are all a scam. Then she gets involved in the biggest scam yet which goes terribly wrong. She finds out the people behind the scam will do anything, include kill, to get what they want. Will she be able to find out who they are before she ends up on the wrong side?

What works: This is an intense psychological thriller with an inside look at someone who fakes a psychic ability with a twist at the end.

Skye is that girl who knows how to con people including those at her high school with tarot readings. She's smart as she knows how to read people without giving anything away. She's not that likable at the beginning of this story as she takes advantage of those for a quick buck. Then she does the biggest con of all--using her fake psychic abilities to let police know about an abduction of a fellow classmate. I have to admit I was surprised on who was really being conned in this novel. There's a lot of twists and turns through this story including a few red herrings. The final reveal totally took me off guard.

I found it fascinating to learn some of the tricks of fake psychics on how they're able to fool people. I was on the edge of my seat wondering who really was the con artist in this story. The characters are multi-layered with flaws. None of them are the 'good' guy or 'bad' one. And the author didn't quickly resolved the mystery at the end either.

Intense, dark tale of a con that goes wrong. Fast-paced mystery that will have readers guessing till the end.
Good Points
1. Intense, dark tale of a con that goes wrong
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot 
 
4.5  (2)
Characters 
 
4.5  (2)
Writing Style 
 
4.5  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
great suspense
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
“The Hanging Girl” was an intense YA thriller that was impossible to put down. Skye (Candi Skye Thorn) has had a tough life with her mother, who had her at 15 and works at Stop and Shop to pay (most of) the bills. Skye works at a diner, but dreams of moving to NYC with her BFF, Drew. She learned that pretending to be psychic will help earn some extra cash, and so does Tarot card readings for her classmates for fun. Although she believes it is all fake, her mother believes she has psychic skills and does “professional” readings.

Everything changes when a girl from school goes missing. Paige was the quintessential rich, popular girl. Using information she was fed from the kidnappers, Skye goes to the police to report her “visions” that lead them to investigate Paige’s disappearance. As the clues start stacking up, Skye begins to realize she is in way over her head. The book takes a lot of unexpected twists and turns and becomes a suspense/thriller/mystery that will keep you reading until the last page.

I don’t want to include spoilers, so I will not say too much more about the plot, but it was deliciously intense. Although I had some major things figured out pretty quickly, there were still others that threw me for a loop, and I really enjoyed the surprises. It’s an intricate plot that will keep you guessing. I really enjoyed this book and think it will great for anyone who enjoys YA suspense/mysteries- this is really well done!

Please note that I received an ARC from the publisher through netgalley. All opinions are my own.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
A fun, twisty read.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
The Hanging Girl was a quick, suspenseful read. Author Eileen Cook has a great writing style. The story picked up right away and there were plenty of twists throughout the book.



Skye is an 18 year old senior with big dreams, but no money. She wants to move with her best friend, Drew, to New York after graduation, but can’t seem to get herself to admit to Drew that she hasn’t saved money. Skye has a history of lying and telling stories. Her mom had her when she was very young (I think it said 16 if I’m remembering correctly). She dropped out of high school and Skye’s dad wasn’t in the picture at all. They barely got by and Skye helped with the bills. Skye’s mom is a psychic and tries to convince Skye that she is, too. But she’s not a believer. That doesn’t stop her from doing Tarot readings to fellow schoolmates for a fee.



Skye’s relationship with her mom is a pretty big part of this book. Skye often times feels like the adult and her mom the child. I think she doubts the love at times.



“You’re a part of me. We don’t always get along, but never doubt that I would do anything for you.”



Paige is as different from Skye as you can get. She is popular, fairly rich, and her dad is a judge. But Paige isn’t happy with her life. She comes up with an idea, but things don’t go the way she so carefully planned.



I really ended up liking the guidance counselor a lot. He was probably my favorite additional character. Drew was decent, too, but I did have some issues with trusting her.



The author does a good job of making you think everyone is guilty at some point in the book. You don’t know who to trust. While some things are a bit easier to figure out, you’re just not sure. I was second guessing myself a lot throughout the book. The ending does reveal everything and it was interesting to see what path Eileen Cook would take Skye. Would she do the right thing and admit everything or would she continue to lie?

I received a copy of this from Edelweiss+ for review.
Good Points
lots of twists
hard to put down
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."
Summer and July
 
5.0
"'Summer and July' by Paul Mosier is a beautifully written story perfect for summer reading. Readers will find themselves immersed..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
"SCARLET ODYSSEY is a high fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Men are often raised to be..."
Tigers, Not Daughters
 
5.0
"TIGERS, NOT DAUGHTERS is a lyrical book of sisterhood and grief. The Torres sisters had tried to escape their father..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
4.0
"The fallout and protests following police choking George Floyd to death in Minnesota has consumed social media for the last..."
when you were everything
 
4.3
"WHEN YOU WERE EVERYTHING by Ashley Woodfolk is a YA Contemporary novel told in two timelines, “then” and “now.” The..."
Path of Night (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #3)
 
5.0
"PATH OF NIGHT is another great installment of the books based on the Netflix show, CHILLING ADVENTURES OF SABRINA. This..."