She's So Boss

Featured
 
4.0
 
5.0 (1)
1968 0
She's So Boss
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
May 30, 2017
ISBN
9781681444161

Whether you already have an idea for a business or you're mulling how to turn the things you enjoy into a self-sustaining enterprise, this book will connect the dots. From inspiration to execution, there are concrete steps every young entrepreneur, creator, or leader needs to take, and this book shows you how. Packed with information and with the profiles of more than a dozen real-life girl bosses who have turned their passions into business, She's So Boss is about thinking big, aiming high, and becoming the boss of your thing, whether it's a blog about baking organic treats or playing guitar and putting your music videos on YouTube. Specific features of the book include: Profiles of some of history's great girl bosses: Eleanor Roosevelt, Madam C.J. Walker, Coco Chanel, Marie Curie, Lena Dunham, Michelle Phan, and others. Pop-up features, including lists of Ten Fabulous Girl Bosses, Ten Jobs You Wish Existed, Six Turned-Out-to-Be-Awesome Ideas No One Thought Could Make It, Signs You're Heading for an Epic Fail, and more. Real-life girl boss profiles showing the stages of development of more than a dozen girls who've transformed their visions into action. Eye-catching graphs, charts, and diagrams covering such topics as the Basics of Any Business, Financial Implications of Borrowing at Different Interest Rates, The Importance of Superstar Marketing, Anatomy of a Girl Boss, Portrait of the Diva Anti-Boss, and the Social Media Influencer's Flow Chart. Examples of logos, savvy packaging and branding ideas, great thank-you notes and other effective communication, texts never to send, and more.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

She's So Boss
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
SHE’S SO BOSS by Stacy Kravetz is a non-fiction guide for young female entrepreneurs who are looking to start or grow their own businesses and careers. The book begins with techniques for finding and cultivating an activity the reader already loves, and then, in turn, figuring out how to make that profitable. From there, the book covers how to create a brand, how to use technology to reach end goals, how to utilize marketing and social media, how to manage finances, and how to create five-year plans. This book is chalk full of practical advice, including an appendix complete with sample query letters, press releases, and other resources. All this information is delivered with sass, personality, and real anecdotes from other young lady bosses, who are out there conquering and saving the world already.

SHE’S SO BOSS is all about girl power and celebrating other females’ successes. It sends both the message that women can be CEOs and heads of companies, but also points out that we are not in competition with each other. I love that the guide makes this distinction and is geared specifically towards a female audience, as the struggles for women can be singular and unique. With that being said, this book is upbeat, positive, and the perfect, compact source of inspiration for those who need a little nudge in the right direction. What makes it even better is that it is applicable for girls of any age or at any phase in their businesses’ development.

I would recommend this book to virtually any girl, and really any guy as well. Though SHE’S SO BOSS clearly has a target audience, there is so much wonderful know-how in these pages that it is useful for just about anyone. Furthermore, the author, Stacy Kravetz, has proven herself an authority on the subject. If you want to read more from Kravetz, be sure to check out GIRL BOSS: RUNNING THE SHOW LIKE BIG CHICKS.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Excellent
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
For any girl with an entrepreneurial spirit!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."
Crush (Crave, #2)
 
4.7
"CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first..."
The Shadow War
 
3.0
"Audiobook review: Following 5 teens trying to survive, THE SHADOW WAR imagines World War II with a..."
Meet Cute: Some people are destined to meet
 
4.0
"MEET CUTE is a fun, romantic anthology featuring stories about people first meeting. Ranging from cute to funny to dark..."
Glimpsed
 
3.7
"GLIMPSED gives us a twist on the typical fairytale with Charity, a fairy godmother from a line of fairy godmothers...."
Shine Until Tomorrow
 
5.0
"Wow, this book didn’t turn out to be anything like I expected. The story: Tamara is a young..."