Wesley James Ruined My Life

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1812 0
Wesley James Ruined My Life
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
July 18, 2017
ISBN
978-1250123732
Buy This Book
      

Sixteen-year-old Quinn Hardwick’s having a rough summer. Her beloved grandmother has been put into a home, her dad’s gambling addiction has flared back up and now her worst enemy is back in town: Wesley James, former childhood friend—until he ruined her life, that is. So when Wesley is hired to work with her at Tudor Tymes, a medieval England themed restaurant, the last thing Quinn’s going to do is forgive and forget. She’s determined to remove him from her life and even the score all at once—by getting him fired. But getting rid of Wesley isn’t as easy as she’d hoped. When Quinn finds herself falling for him, she has to decide what she wants more: to get even, or to just get over it.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Adorable!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
This was such a cutesy read! Imagine spending your summer working on a Tudor Times themed restaurant with your worst, albeit cute, childhood enemy? Definitely the recipe for swoons & disaster!

What I Liked:

I am such a fan of hate-to-love romance in my books and Wesley James Ruined My Life had me covered! Quinn swore to hate Wesley James after he "caused" her family to fall apart (according to her) when they were kids, and she was perfectly fine hating him across the distance since he moved away to Portland. But Wesley James moves back to Seattle and he dares to get a job at the same place she's working at. THE NERVE.

I loved Wesley James right from the start. This boy is adorable and not at all the guy Quinn paints him out to be. He's charming, charismatic, and has such a sweet heart (especially when it comes to Quinn's Gran!). Quinn gives him such a hard time over something that he let slip when they were much younger, but like the nice guy that he is, it doesn't affect him how he treats Quinn. He is definitely the highlight of this book!

I liked Quinn when she wasn't so set on getting revenge over Wesley. I liked reading about her relationship with her father who has a gambling problem. In contemporary books, when the parents are divorced, we don't usually get to have a main character who tries to keep in touch with both. Her father is not the best role model so I felt for Quinn as she struggled (and failed) to not encourage his vices because she loves him, despite the rest of his family turning their back on him.

Wesley James Ruined My Life also gave me a lot of Anna and the French Kiss vibes as the story progressed and I liked that because I LOVE Anna and was happy to read that the author also loves the book. And while they might not be out exploring a city as marvelous as Paris or studying in a French school, working at a medieval restaurant (and food truck!) and being in a school band that's ready to travel to London, wasn't a bad setting at all. ;)

What Left Me Wanting More:

While the last chapters were my favorites, I would have loved to see more of Gran and Wesley's life. Quinn is too scared to visit her Grandma who was settled into a retirement home after her Alzheimer gets worse and she doesn't really interact with her until the last few chapters. She does spend a lot of time remembering, but her grandma was still alive and constantly asking for her when she had lucid moments, wasn't ignoring her worse? She needed her support and Quinn failed her. Even Wesley went to see her more often!

As for Wesley, I never truly got to know his private life. Wish we could have met his parents and twin sisters!

Final Verdict:

All in all, Wesley James Ruined My Life is a quick, adorable novel that's perfect to read in the summer!
Good Points
Hate-to-romance trope!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
 
5.0
"Loved it!"
ExtraNormal Academy (ExtraNormal Academy, #1)
 
4.0
"A different take on Academy books with the main character as an alien from another planet, sent to observe humans...."
 
5.0
"I strongly recommend this novel. It has the perfect combination of action, plot twists, and cool characters that kept my..."
 
5.0
"I had no idea about how serious the fallout for teens who sext can be until I read this book...."
 
5.0
"I loved this book so much I didn’t want it to end! I totally related to the characters and the..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"When country music sensation Becks leaps off the stage mid performance and kisses Nicky everything he’s worked so hard to..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"The story: When Callie's parents send her to help her uncle for the summer working at the Circus of..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"An intriguing and twisty book. The story: Callie is just a girl who loves to surf...."
The Hunt
 
4.5
"What a ride! The story: Tempest is our fierce heroine who wants nothing more than to become the..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"'Dating Nashville' by Michelle MacQueen and Ann Maree Craven follows some of the same characters that graced the pages of..."
Glass Kingdom
 
5.0
"I don't even know where to start with this book. I practically finished it in one day (and I would..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"Growing up with the stories of the Nihryst, Adalina wants nothing more than to find them and break their curse...."
Jesse and the Ice Princess (Gulf City High)
 
4.8
" The story: Jesse Kerrigan has it all: good looks, charisma, and popularity. Even though he’s..."
Fae Hunter
 
4.5
"An enjoyable tale of a young woman who loses her sister and her sight to the Fae, but that is..."
Dragon Rebellion (The Hidden Warrior)
 
4.8
"Fantastic conclusion! Dragon Rebellion by M. Lynn is the final book in The Hidden Warrior duology picking up weeks after..."