Wesley James Ruined My Life

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1965 0
Wesley James Ruined My Life
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
July 18, 2017
ISBN
978-1250123732
Buy This Book
      

Sixteen-year-old Quinn Hardwick’s having a rough summer. Her beloved grandmother has been put into a home, her dad’s gambling addiction has flared back up and now her worst enemy is back in town: Wesley James, former childhood friend—until he ruined her life, that is. So when Wesley is hired to work with her at Tudor Tymes, a medieval England themed restaurant, the last thing Quinn’s going to do is forgive and forget. She’s determined to remove him from her life and even the score all at once—by getting him fired. But getting rid of Wesley isn’t as easy as she’d hoped. When Quinn finds herself falling for him, she has to decide what she wants more: to get even, or to just get over it.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Adorable!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
This was such a cutesy read! Imagine spending your summer working on a Tudor Times themed restaurant with your worst, albeit cute, childhood enemy? Definitely the recipe for swoons & disaster!

What I Liked:

I am such a fan of hate-to-love romance in my books and Wesley James Ruined My Life had me covered! Quinn swore to hate Wesley James after he "caused" her family to fall apart (according to her) when they were kids, and she was perfectly fine hating him across the distance since he moved away to Portland. But Wesley James moves back to Seattle and he dares to get a job at the same place she's working at. THE NERVE.

I loved Wesley James right from the start. This boy is adorable and not at all the guy Quinn paints him out to be. He's charming, charismatic, and has such a sweet heart (especially when it comes to Quinn's Gran!). Quinn gives him such a hard time over something that he let slip when they were much younger, but like the nice guy that he is, it doesn't affect him how he treats Quinn. He is definitely the highlight of this book!

I liked Quinn when she wasn't so set on getting revenge over Wesley. I liked reading about her relationship with her father who has a gambling problem. In contemporary books, when the parents are divorced, we don't usually get to have a main character who tries to keep in touch with both. Her father is not the best role model so I felt for Quinn as she struggled (and failed) to not encourage his vices because she loves him, despite the rest of his family turning their back on him.

Wesley James Ruined My Life also gave me a lot of Anna and the French Kiss vibes as the story progressed and I liked that because I LOVE Anna and was happy to read that the author also loves the book. And while they might not be out exploring a city as marvelous as Paris or studying in a French school, working at a medieval restaurant (and food truck!) and being in a school band that's ready to travel to London, wasn't a bad setting at all. ;)

What Left Me Wanting More:

While the last chapters were my favorites, I would have loved to see more of Gran and Wesley's life. Quinn is too scared to visit her Grandma who was settled into a retirement home after her Alzheimer gets worse and she doesn't really interact with her until the last few chapters. She does spend a lot of time remembering, but her grandma was still alive and constantly asking for her when she had lucid moments, wasn't ignoring her worse? She needed her support and Quinn failed her. Even Wesley went to see her more often!

As for Wesley, I never truly got to know his private life. Wish we could have met his parents and twin sisters!

Final Verdict:

All in all, Wesley James Ruined My Life is a quick, adorable novel that's perfect to read in the summer!
Good Points
Hate-to-romance trope!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Babies and toddlers can lift the flaps to look inside...

Latest Member Reviews

Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."
You and Me
 
5.0
"YOU AND ME is a sweet book about love between caregiver and child. The lyrical poetry of the rhyming text,..."
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
"BABY'S FIRST FARM takes readers on a delightful lift-the-flap journey around the farm. The board book is a simple story..."
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
"CAN I COME TOO? tells the story of a small mouse who decides to go on a big adventure to..."
Karma Moon: Ghost Hunter
 
3.0
"Karma Moon loves living with her dad in their New York neighborhood, answering phone calls for his Totally Rad documentary..."
Beetle and the Hollowbones
 
5.0
"Beetle is a goblin-witch who isn't loving the small magic her grandmother teaches her. She'd rather hang out with Blob..."