First We Were IV

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1248 0
First We Were IV
Age Range
12+
Release Date
July 25, 2017
ISBN
978-1481478427
Buy This Book
      

A group of friends start a secret society in this out-of-control thriller from the author of The Telling and The Creeping that examines the all-consuming love of lifelong friendship—and what someone is capable of when they’re afraid of losing it. Izzie loves nothing more than her three best friends, Viv, Graham, and Harry, and the bond the four of them share. And she’s terrified of their friendship falling apart next year when they go off to college. To bind them together, she decides to create that will belong only to them, a special thing that they’ll always share between the four of them. And so they dream up the Order of IV, a secret society devoted to mischief that rights wrongs and pays back debts. At first, it works like a charm—but when the Order of IV’s escapades get recognition beyond their wildest expectations, other people start wanting in. And soon, what started as a game of friendship is spiraling into something dangerous and beyond their control—and before it’s over, they’ll pay the ultimate sacrifice.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Chock-full of Secrets and Mischief!
(Updated: July 20, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Remind me again to never read YA Thrillers at night. First We Were IV is a book that has haunted me for the last few days, but I do not regret it AT ALL because it's so GOOD. The mystery, the suspense, the secrets, the ending... GAH! You should definitely read it.

What I Liked:

First of all, I loved how this book captivated me. I don't normally read thrillers (weak at heart here) but I couldn't stop reading, even though my chest was feeling heavier and heavier as I flipped through its pages. Everything was weird and creepy, the atmosphere so ... charged. What the characters did with the Order of IV, what the adults and authorities did to protect their reputation ... gosh, so messed up! I'm still wide-eyed to be honest.

The Order of IV is created by a group of friends--Viv, Izzie, Harry and Graham--as a last attempt to create something that will link them together for when they all part to go to College. This group's main purpose is to right wrongs, starting with the mysterious death of a college girl found in the meteor rock in Viv's apple orchard. However, things start to get out of hand when the kids from their High School think it's a cool trend and start acting on behalf of the Order. Madness ensues right after this.

These four friends have a strong friendship that has lasted for several years (dates back to kindergarten I believe!) and I liked how they put so much effort to keep their friendship from falling apart, even if they create the very thing that has the potential to break them. I don't think I would ever have been able to be a part of their inner circle, but everyone who meets them will surely see how they fit together. They belong together. Reading about them as a whole was great and made me long for my group of High School friends which did fall apart after we pursued different careers. And that's how it is, life happens (though mine thankfully not as creepy as how the life of these kids go).

However, the thing that left the most impression on me from First We Were IV was the whole idea of a small town trying to cover each other's tracks for the sake of keeping up a perfect facade. It keeps running through my head how the officer in charge, when Viv discovers the girl's body on top of the meteor rock, tells her (supposedly to appease) that the dead girl was "asking for it" based on her appearance. This was so wrong and it shook Viv's foundation, enough to motivate her to seek some justice for the girl if no authority would bother to look for it.

With that said, I must mention that this book has heavy themes, some that took me by surprise (especially when the characters were revealing secrets as part of an Order of IV activity) and even made me feel nauseous. Now THAT is something I would like to forget about.

What Left Me Wanting More:

There were a few times that I struggled to understand what was going on with the characters, what they were planning and how they would execute said plans. Maybe because there were so many things happening at the same time, especially close to the ending. I often had to go back and reread to try to make a sense of it.

And I was also expecting a bit more from a couple of the main characters. Their reactions to one of the main issues was not what I wanted, what I needed, so it left me a bit unsatisfied. I wanted more anger and justice!

Final Verdict:

Chock-full of secrets, mischief, and an all-consuming need to preserve friendship while righting wrongs, First We Were IV is the book to jolt your summer nights!
Good Points
Creepy and beliavable
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Apocalypse Taco
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sid, Axl, and Ivan volunteer to make a late-night fast-food...
The Owls Have Come to Take Us Away
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this delightfully creepy novel from Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe...
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Harry Black is lost between the world of war and...
Awesome Achievers in Technology: Super and Strange Facts about 12 Almost Famous History Makers
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Part of a super fun middle grade series, Awesome Achievers...
Kitty and the Moonlight Rescue
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Girl by day. Cat by night. Ready for an adventure....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A strong educational foundation helps ensure a child is able...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A strong educational foundation helps ensure a child is able...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A strong educational foundation helps ensure a child is able...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first I Can Read! book featuring beloved picture book...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In a beautiful anthology, ten children’s book greats share stories,...
Firebrand: The Initiation of Natali Presano (Firebrand, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
First time in print! The...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sage Sassafras’s life is cursed! No, really. Since birth, Sage...

Latest Member Reviews

Kitty and the Moonlight Rescue
 
4.0
"Kitty wants to be a superhero like her mom, but she's afraid to go out in the dark. Her mom..."
 
4.0
"'Little Penguin's New Friend' by Tadgh Bentley is a cute story about the making of a friendship despite misconceptions about..."
Naked Mole Rat Saves the World
 
4.0
"NAKED MOLE RAT SAVES THE WORLD tells the story of kit, whose name is lowercase because she was too small..."
 
4.0
"Sage lives out west in the town of Goldview, and her family is cursed. Years ago, her mother and her..."
Amelia Fang and the Barbaric Ball (Amelia Fang, #1)
 
4.0
"AMELIA FANG AND THE BARBARIC BALL is the first book in the Amelia Fang series, a fantasy/magical middle grade series..."
Amelia Fang and the Unicorns of Glitteropolis (Amelia Fang, #2)
 
4.5
"AMELIA FANG AND THE UNICORNS OF GLITTEROPOLIS is ultimately about harmful stereotypes, problems with misinformation, and the subversion of overly..."
Small World
 
5.0
"SMALL WORLD is a gorgeous celebration of growing up and following your dreams. When Nanda was born, her world was..."
On the First Day of Summer Vacation
 
3.5
"ON THE FIRST DAY OF SUMMER VACATION uses the tune of The 12 Days of Christmas to present the fun..."
Ada Twist and the Perilous Pants (The Questioneers, #2)
 
5.0
"Budding scientists, rejoice! The Questioneers is the perfect series to show you the how and to have some extra scientific..."
Bad Bella
 
4.0
"Bella lives with the McBrides, who have several small children and often forget Bella's needs. She gets in trouble for..."
Dear Justice League
 
5.0
"In this short, middle grade graphic novel, DC superheroes from the Justice League answer e mails from young fans. Superman..."
Shake It Off! (Wish #8)
 
4.0
"Bria has made some poor choices concerning friends and social media back home in Chicago, so her parents have decided..."
Babies Can Sleep Anywhere
 
4.0
"BABIES CAN SLEEP ANYWHERE is a cute rhyming book about sleep. The book goes through where animals sleep (e.g. puppy..."
The Bad Guys in The Big Bad Wolf (The Bad Guys, #9)
 
4.5
"This episode of THE BAD GUYS has the crew planning for a way to stop the aliens and help the..."
Not if I Can Help It
 
4.0
"Willa has struggled with a sensory processing disorder her whole life, but with supportive parents and some occupational therapy, she..."
Emily Out of Focus
 
4.0
"Emily and her parents go to China to bring home the little girl they are adopting. Emily isn't crazy about..."
A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
"A SMALL ZOMBIE PROBLEM is a charming story in the vein of A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS and Tim Burton...."
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
"MY FUNNY BUNNY is about dealing with disappointments and not judging others too quickly. It's the main character's sixth birthday,..."
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
"KINDNESS RULES! is a fun new manners book, perfect for preschoolers. Magic Manners, an elephant who knows her stuff, teaches..."
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
"Be prepared to fall in love with the tenacious TEENY TINY GHOST in this sweet book, perfect for Halloween. The..."