Unbecoming

 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
1068 0
Unbecoming
Author(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
February 23, 2016
ISBN
978-1338160727
Buy This Book
      
Three women. Three generations. Three secrets.

Katie's life is falling apart: her best friend thinks she's a freak, her mother, Caroline, controls every aspect of her life, and her estranged grandmother, Mary, appears as if out of nowhere. Mary has dementia and needs lots of care, and when Katie starts putting together Mary's life story, secrets and lies are uncovered: Mary's illegitimate baby, her zest for life and freedom and men; the way she lived her life to the full yet suffered huge sacrifices along the way. As the relationship between Mary and Caroline is explored, Katie begins to understand her own mother's behavior, and from that insight, the terrors about her sexuality, her future, and her younger brother are all put into perspective.

Funny, sad, honest, and wise, this powerful multigenerational novel from international bestseller Jenny Downham celebrates life like no book before.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

a brilliant family saga
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
What I Loved:
Though the story is about three women–Mary the grandmother, Caroline the mother, and Katie the daughter–we get the direct points of view of only Mary and Katie. Katie suffers under the thumb of an overbearing mother and the bullying from classmates after her best friend Esme told everyone that Katie tried to kiss her; Mary’s future is up in the air after her live-in boyfriend dies and it becomes clear she has serious memory loss.

The entire book is fantastic, but flashbacks to Mary’s teenage years and adulthood are a particular highlight. You know the women in history who seemed to be born in the wrong era entirely? That would be Mary, the girl born with a fire that’s still burning bright when she’s old and living with Alzheimer’s. Despite heavy stigma toward girls who gallivanted around town with boys, Mary did just that to her heart’s content because no one else’s opinion mattered. Stigma toward young, unwed mothers? Pfft. The only reason she gave her baby daughter Caroline up to her twelve-years-older sister Pat because Mary knew she couldn’t care for her.

That choice is the one that truly sets the events of the novel and the unraveling of decades’ worth of secrets in motion.

Caroline is the clear antagonist as she tries to remove the old woman from her life as soon as possible, but she reveals herself as a fully realized character too with good reason to dislike her birth mother so much. Once her story emerges toward the book’s end, you start to understand her point of view. Readers have the benefit of seeing Mary’s side of the story first and knowing how much she loves her daughter, but Caroline isn’t a mind reader. What she knows is what her aunt/adoptive mother Pat told her and the neglect she experienced in the few years she lived with Mary.

Caroline made mistakes. Pat made mistakes. Mary made mistakes. All three women just wanted to do what they thought was best and it turned into a family feud that lasts into the new millennium.

All of this nasty family history emerges while Katie is trying to get through school, please her strict, reticent mother, and get comfortable with her identity as a lesbian girl. Stories like Katie’s where they struggle with their sexuality and deal with bullying make me happy my own self-realization and coming out process went so easily. Her romance with another girl, as minor as it is, is sweet and realistically handled. Still, what I love most about Katie is that she’s the driving force behind ending the fifty-year feud between Caroline and Mary. Sometimes, you need a modern eye to solve problems from the past.

What Left Me Wanting:
There’s honestly so little I can say to offer reservations on the book. Its pacing is slow and not always easy to stick with, but the payoff is worth it. I’d prefer if Katie’s brother Chris had his developmental disability specified, but I can forgive it because of the nuanced characterization he gets too.

Final Verdict:
Downham pens a brilliant family saga that modern teens will eat up and it might make them consider problems in their own families in a new light too. There simply aren’t any more words I can use that will communicate how much I want you to read this book. Just look at me typing READ IT in capital letters and do exactly that: read this book.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

Anchored
 
5.0
"Unlike anything I've read before. The Story: Alora is of two worlds. During her..."
The Curse of Jenny Greene
 
5.0
"I should start by saying The Curse of Jenny Greene is far from my normal genre preferences. I’m not usually..."
Emmie and the Tudor Queen
 
4.5
"This sequel resolved a lot of questions I had that weren’t answered in the first book like where did the..."
The Reclaimed Kingdom (The Syphon Series, Book 1)
 
5.0
"I’m a new fan of Dana Claire as I recently read “The Connection” and loved it. While I eagerly..."
Sleeping Beauty's Spindle
 
4.0
"Briar Rose hasn't had any easy life. After losing her parents, she's struggling to keep her siblings together as a..."
The First Holidays
 
5.0
"A sweet and perfect novella to go with this series. The Story: Four best..."
The Connection
 
4.8
"I’ll cut to the chase before I delve into a more detailed review; I loved this book! I binge-read The..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
" The Parkour Club is a rollicking good read! Bronte’s journey to find her place in the world..."
The Forgotten World (The World Apart Series Book 3)
 
5.0
"I don't know how this series keeps getting better, but it does. This third book is just... so much happens..."
The Tempest Sea
 
5.0
"This book... oof. It hurt. But if you know me at all, you know my favorite books are the kind..."
The Fractured Empire
 
5.0
"This book grabbed me from the very beginning, throwing me into this beautifully-crafted, intriguing new world. The plot is fast-paced..."
My High School Royal Boyfriend
 
4.0
"'My High School Royal Boyfriend' by Kylie Key follows new River Valley High students Blaire and Alex, as they try..."
Born at Dawn
 
3.7
"BORN AT DAWN is an upper YA fantasy full of adventure - the main character is half human and half..."
Born Royal
 
3.8
"As a girl, Vi suffered various forms of torture from her mom and she was the equivalent to a lab..."
The Lost Prince (The Nihryst Book 2)
 
5.0
"THE LOST PRINCE opens up where the first one left off. Ada is with Lee searching for a cure to..."
Edge of Light
 
5.0
"This book literally starts out with a bang as multiple meteorites strike cities across the earth at the same time,..."
The Runaway (Barrett Boys #1)
 
5.0
"Annie lives in a small town where everyone knows everything about each other. She is usually the subject of the..."
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.5
"A cute story. The story: My High School Rebel Boyfriend stars a high school senior, Harper,..."
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
"Definitely a book that's worth a read. The Story: Kenna wants to be able..."
Golden Curse (The True Story of Rapunzel)
 
5.0
"This beautiful story is highly enjoyable. The writing flows easily, and the characters feel relatable. The main conflict was interesting..."