Eliza and Her Monsters

FeaturedHot
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
3536 2
Eliza and Her Monsters
Age Range
14+
Release Date
May 30, 2017
ISBN
9780062290137
Buy This Book
      

Her story is a phenomenon. Her life is a disaster. In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, and friendless. Online, she’s LadyConstellation, the anonymous creator of the wildly popular webcomic Monstrous Sea. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves the online one, and she has no desire to try. Then Wallace Warland, Monstrous Sea’s biggest fanfiction writer, transfers to her school. Wallace thinks Eliza is just another fan, and as he draws her out of her shell, she begins to wonder if a life offline might be worthwhile. But when Eliza’s secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she’s built—her story, her relationship with Wallace, and even her sanity—begins to fall apart.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

The Book for writers, readers, fans, and creative types
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
What I Loved:
Eliza, secret creator of a massive webcomic, is an eighteen-year-old ball of anxieties with much more going on online than in real life. Basically me at eighteen except I was/am a book reviewer instead. Just like Eliza’s family is baffled but aware of her online activities, my parents were/are also baffled but aware. (They’re also thankful for the regular flow of ARCs because I’d be spending much more money on books and gas money to go to the library without them.)

Wallace just happens to also be a teenage ball of anxieties with a good bit of status online thanks to the fanfics he writes for Eliza’s webcomic. When they get together, they’re my dear anxious children and I’d happily wrap them up in blanket burritos to protect them from the world. They represent two ways among many that people experience anxiety disorders and both are extremely well-written as well as in tune with what I experience as someone with generalized anxiety disorder.

All in all, the strength of these characters make up the bulk of the book’s appeal and drawing power. Monstrous Sea is an excellent webcomic based on the panels and passages readers get, though.

Meta YA is coming out in force recently with books like Enter Title Here by Rahul Kanakia and Literally by Lucy Keating, but Eliza and Her Monsters handles its meta differently. In the two former titles, it’s an important part of the narrative and the characters are fully aware of it; here, Eliza and Wallace’s discussions of fandom are simply so resonant with anyone’s experience as a fan of something that it becomes meta and the characters stay unaware. This and the strength of the characters draw the reader in and make the book nearly impossible to put down.

Eliza and Wallace make an adorable couple, but with her keeping it secret that she writes the comic he’s a huge fan of, you know things are going to go down. Without realizing the impact of what they’re doing, Eliza’s parents expose her identity as LadyConstellation. The expected breakdown of everything Eliza knows ensues and it taps into our fear of our own online identities being connected to us.

Remember the New Hampshire state rep who was found out as the founder of Reddit’s Red Pill subreddit and then resigned from office? Yeah. Even people who aren’t doing anything horrible online would probably prefer Online Self stay separate from Real Life Self unless or until they choose to connect the two.

Final Verdict:
Throughout high school and in my first year of college, I wrote like a fiend and was at the point of querying literary agents. Then I simply stopped. Just like that. I took creative writing classes and wrote for those when assignments called for it, but I simply haven’t written more than that for about three years and there’s no good reason for it. After reading Eliza and Her Monsters, I think I want to write again. After years of having nothing left in me, something is back. All I can say is thank you, Francesca Zappia.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Eliza And Her Monsters
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
This was one of my most anticipated spring/summer releases and it didn't disappoint. First, the cover is gorgeous. I love the colors so much. The drawings in the book really add to it.

Eliza is pretty easy to relate to. Especially now with the internet (I didn't have it growing up). It's so easy to lose yourself and forget who you are in real life. I find it so much easier to communicate with people online. Not in any sort of fandom, just in general. I think it might be that way for most introverts. I've been there with the anxiety and wondering if people really like me or not. So I can totally understand how Eliza created this whole other world that she preferred to live in. I loved all the additional characters besides Eliza and Wallace. They really added to the story and I found myself wanting them to be a bigger part of the story.

Overall, I loved the book and I'm happy that I finally got to read it. Full review here: https://confessionsofayareader.blogspot.com/2017/07/review-of-eliza-and-her-monsters-by.html
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...
Chess Not Checkers
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Chess not Checkers is a teen novel with adult adventures...

Latest Member Reviews

The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
"THE BOX IN THE WOODS is a fantastic continuation of Stevie's story with a whole new cold case to solve...."
 
4.7
"Miles "Pudge" Halter seeks for a "Great Perhaps", and attends Culver Creek, a boarding school. Yet, he finds himself with..."
 
5.0
"To say that this book was one of my most anticipated releases for 2021 is an understatement. After the impact..."
 
5.0
"Oh my goodness what a way to end this series! I honestly took a little longer to finish this book..."
 
5.0
"I absolutely loved this sequel. The first one was such a good set up for this book. Nita is free..."
Not Even Bones
 
4.3
"So, this book was not what I was expecting it to be. First, it takes place in the real world...."
Somewhere Between Bitter and Sweet
 
5.0
"What worked: I loved this engaging, heart-felt story with one strong Chicanx protagonist. Think I'M NOT YOUR PERFECT MEXICAN DAUGHTER..."
All our Hidden Gifts
 
4.3
"ALL OUR HIDDEN GIFTS was a riveting and darkly captivating YA fantasy/thriller/horror read. Maeve is a teen girl and not..."
The Lost Girls
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
The Outsiders
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games #1)
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
Twilight (Twilight #1)
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
For the Wolf (The Wilderwood, #1)
 
4.7
"FOR THE WOLF is a captivating fantasy read that sweeps the reader away to the Wilderwood. Redarys (Red) is the..."
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
"Simone's Haitian immigrant parents are very strict; she and her sister Anne have to go to an all girls school..."
Chasing Lucky
 
4.3
"Josie Saint-Martin and her mother have lived an itinerant lifestyle ever since they left the small Rhode Island seaside town..."
Curse of the Specter Queen
 
4.7
"Curse of the Specter Queen by Jenny Elder Moke is Indiana Jones meets The Mummy (1999) and encompasses everything I..."
The Heartbreak Bakery
 
4.7
"Seventeen-year-old agender Syd loves baking, but when her brownies set off a string of breakups-including her own-she comes up with..."
Heartbreakers and Fakers
 
5.0
"HEARTBREAKERS AND FAKERS is a consuming YA contemporary romance that I absolutely devoured. Penny wakes up on the lawn after..."
Of Princes and Promises (Rosetta Academy, #2)
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD ZULU..."