THE EVAPORATION OF SOFI SNOW

Featured
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
1140 0
THE EVAPORATION OF SOFI SNOW
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
June 06, 2017
ISBN
978-0718080907
Buy This Book
      

For fans of ENDER'S GAME, THE HUNGER GAMES, and BLADE RUNNER, comes a story of video gaming, blood, and power. Ever since the Delonese ice-planet arrived eleven years ago, Sofi's dreams have been vivid. Alien. In a system where Earth's corporations rule in place of governments and the humanoid race orbiting the moon are allies, her only constant has been her younger brother, Shilo. As an online gamer, Sofi battles behind the scenes of Earth's Fantasy Fighting arena where Shilo is forced to compete in a mix of real and virtual blood sport. But when a bomb takes out a quarter of the arena, Sofi's the only one who believes Shilo survived. She has dreams of him. And she's convinced he's been taken to the ice-planet. Except no one but ambassadors are allowed there. For Miguel--Earth's charming young playboy--the games are of a different sort. As Ambassador to the Delonese, his career has been built on trading secrets and seduction. Until the Fantasy Fight's bomb goes off. Now the tables have turned and he's a target for blackmail. The game is simple: Help the blackmailers, or lose more than anyone can fathom, or Earth can afford. From the award-winning author of the Storm Siren Trilogy, step into a diverse cast of characters spanning from the electric metropolises of earth to the chilling alien planet above, in a story of re-finding yourself in the midst of losing the one thing you love. Before it all evaporates.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A Great Main Character
(Updated: July 12, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Mary Weber’s THE EVAPORATION OF SOFI SNOW follows the titular character as she navigates more challenges than any one teen girl should. Sofi’s father has died. Her mother is wedded to the company she built and runs. Oh, and aliens have brought their planet into Earth’s orbit, and they, the Delonese, have brought many positive things with them—but there’s still suspicion about what they REALLY want from the people of Earth.

Sofi and her younger brother are the key components to a gaming team that is involved in Earth’s Fan Fight games—a high-tech competition in which teams compete in challenges that sound like different levels in a video game. When things go wrong in the midst of the games, the powers that be say that Shilo has died, but Sofi is convinced that the Delonese have taken him to their planet. With the help of her former boyfriend, the attractive and politically savvy Miguel, Sofi sets out to rescue her brother amid all sorts of other plot twists and turns.

An engrossing plot and fascinating technology propel THE EVAPORATION OF SOFI SNOW. The Fan Fight games sound amazing, Sofi’s adventures as she escapes various situations kept me flipping the pages, and other than occasional political explanations, the action is non-stop.

Sofi is a fantastic character—a great blend of smarts, sass, and sensitivity—and I suspect we’ll see more of her since Sofi’s story seems to have a lot more to it. (Hooray!) My only complaints about the book are the lack of character development beyond the exquisite care given to Sofi, and some of the explanations for other characters’ actions didn’t quite ring true. That said, those imperfections are overshadowed by Mary Weber’s ability to write good action sequences, and her aptitude with world building. And the awesomeness of Sofi Snow, of course.

My thanks to YA Books Central and the publisher for a copy of the book in exchange for my honest review.
Good Points
A fantastic main character

An engrossing plot
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
intriguing
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
"The Evaporation of Sofi Snow" was a wild ride, full of twists and turns. This young adult sci-fi follows Sofi, who feels fiercely protective of her younger brother Shilo. In this alternate future, World War 3 has destroyed much of the planet. In the aftermath, companies who were able to produce necessary items, like food or medicine, became the new government. People live in "Corp"s- Sofi lives in Corp30, where her mother is also CEO.

Around the end of the war, aliens called the Delonese also appeared and began to revolve around Earth. They gave humanity advanced technology and helped them to recover, seemingly without cost. They appear like beautiful, tall humans who do not blink. They are heavily involved in Earth matters.

Sofi and Shilo compete in dangerous games representing their Corp. Shilo is the gamer (gamers are teenagers who play for the wealth typically) on the field who must pass each level, at potential cost of his life or health. Sofi is the lead programmer who helps him to pass the levels/games. She must be the best, because Shilo's life depends on it. Everything is soon to change when an explosion during the game goes off, killing several gamers and bystanders. Sofi knows she saw her brother alive, even though they have declared him (and her) dead. To find Shilo, Sofi must uncover truths that others have been overlooking and recruit help, in the form of her ex-boyfriend.

Miguel is a delegate to Delon, and he finds himself unable to turn Sofi down when she asks for help. The novel is told in their alternating points of view. While it was slow in places, it was overall really fascinating, like a combination of Warcross with aliens. It ends with a bit of a cliffhanger, so I wanted to mention that as you'll want the next book right away!

The content gets a little dark at the end, so it might be better for older teens. Overall, it was a great YA sci-fi, and I can't wait to get into the next book! I'll also say that I liked the diversity of the main characters (Sofi's skin is brown and Miguel is Hispanic)- so great to see this!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Fountains of Silence
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Madrid, 1957. Under the fascist dictatorship of General Francisco...
Dinosnores (Boynton on Board)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
“Honk SHOOOOOO! Honk SHOOOOOO! . . .” ...
Good Day, Good Night
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now in a sturdy board book format, perfect for little...
TBH, This May Be TMI (TBH, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Told entirely in text messages, the second book in this...
Creep
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The haunting tale of a family that moves into...
Girl at Heart
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
As the daughter of a successful Major League pitcher,...
The Last of the Firedrakes
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She never felt like she belonged…until magic pulled her...
Crown of Oblivion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this mesmerizing YA fantasy mash-up of The Road...
When the Stars Lead to You
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Nicola Yoon meets Jenny Han in a heated first-love...
I've Loved You Since Forever
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times #1 Bestseller! ...
My Baby Loves Christmas
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the My Baby Loves Christmas board book, celebrate all...
Riverland
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When things go bad at home, sisters Eleanor and Mike...
All You Need Is a Pencil: The Totally Sick Sick-Day Activity Book
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A perfect, device-free remedy to what to do when the...
Animazes
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Follow fascinating journeys of animal migration in this beautiful book...
Christmas Cheer for The Grouchy Ladybug
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of the New York Times bestseller Hugs...
Baby Loves the Five Senses: Hearing!
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Big, brainy science for the littlest listeners. ...

Latest Member Reviews

City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments #1)
 
3.0
""City of Bones" introduces us to the world of Shadowhunters when Clary goes to a club with her best friend..."
The Princess Diaries [Film]
 
5.0
"I loved this movie as a kid and I still love it now. It's really a classic by this point...."
Beautiful Creatures
 
4.8
"While they changed a bit from the book, I still love this movie. It's one I watch often and enjoy..."
Twilight [Film]
 
3.2
"Loved the book, the movie fell a bit for me. "
City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments #1)
 
4.0
"I actually enjoyed this film and watch it often. Much better than the TV show."
City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments #1)
 
4.2
"I actually enjoyed this film and watch it often. Much better than the TV show."
The Perks of Being a Wallflower
 
3.8
"I actually saw this movie before I read the book and I liked the book much better but i guess..."
City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments #1)
 
3.0
"I never wanted to read any of the books to begin with. For some reason, my brother had read..."
Beautiful Creatures
 
3.5
"Now, I have not read this book. I really wanted to get to it before I watched the movie, but..."
Prom
 
3.8
"This movie is cute! I watched it while I was sick and I has skipped class. (I skipped class..."
Olympus Has Fallen
 
4.3
"You know what drives me to watching certain movies? The actors. I will watch any movie that my favorite actors..."
City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments #1)
 
1.8
"Honestly, might get bashed for this, but I hope there's no sequel. I pray that they decide to..."