The Hearts We Sold

Featured
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
1587 1
The Hearts We Sold
Age Range
12+
Release Date
August 08, 2017
ISBN
978-0316314596
Buy This Book
      

A thrilling blend of sci-fi, paranormal horror, and romance-perfect for fans of Holly Black and Leigh Bardugo When Dee Moreno makes a deal with a devil--her heart in exchange for an escape from a disastrous home life--she finds her trade may be more than she bargained for. And becoming "heartless" is only the beginning. What lies ahead is a nightmare far bigger, far more monstrous than anything she ever could have imagined. With reality turned on its head, Dee has only a group of other deal-making teens to keep her grounded, including the charming but secretive James Lancer. And as something like love grows between them amidst an otherworldly ordeal, Dee begins to wonder: can she give James her heart when it's no longer hers to give? The Hearts We Sold is a Faustian tale for the modern age that will steal your heart and break it, and leave you begging for more.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

The Hearts We Sold
(Updated: June 19, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Dee Moreno makes a deal with a demon only to 'lose' her heart. That's part of the demon's deal. He grants her the wish she wants and she hands over her heart. In exchange she has to help him stop creatures from escaping from voids that pop up in Seattle. Along the way she meets James and falls for him. Problem is can she feel anything for him if she's 'heartless'?

What worked: This is an intriguing twist on demons and the fairy tale Rumpelstiltskin. Near perfect demons make deals with humans in exchange for body parts. The demons aren't all they seem to be. This is where the plot is unique and very engaging. Instead of the usual 'grotesque' body snatchers plot, there's paranormal horror meets Sci-fi.

Dee's plight with her family is sure to resonate with readers. I know it did with me. She's a survivor and does what she can to escape from her alcoholic parents. The reason behind her deal with a demon, to me, made sense. She wanted to stay in her exclusive boarding school in order to better herself and not be stuck with her abusive father. The ramifications of this deal though come at a terrible price. One she didn't bargain on.

I really liked the Sci-fi angle of this story. It's not at all one of those heaven and hell stories. There's more than a few 'ah, huh' moments throughout this story. Also I loved the final climax and resolution. **No spoilers but let's just say I was very satisfied with the conclusion.

Engaging paranormal horror tale where a girl makes a deal with a demon at a terrible cost. Insights into surviving and friendships. This is an unique twist on the whole fairy tale Rumpelstiltskin with a satisfying conclusion.
Good Points
1. Intriguing twist on demons and the fairy tale Rumpelstiltskin
2. Paranormal horror
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A groovy New York Times bestseller! ...
Seneca Element (The Seneca Society Book 2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you knew that creating singularity between your mind...
Our Year of Love and Parties
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this poignant, funny, and romantic novel, four nights...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Elemental Manipulation is tricky. Only those with the power can...
The Path Divided
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every choice has a consequence. When a magical picture...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Marlee Stanley joins her two sisters and the...
Shadowscent
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
An Ember in the Ashes meets Indiana Jones in...
Reverie
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inception meets The Magicians, except with better wigs and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
They call me the Dark Queen… Ryleigh...
Scarred
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
Life leaves you scarred. Love can make you beautiful....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two friends in the 1980's were graduating from Cosmetology School....
Twisting Minds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
How can you trust your heart when you can't trust...
The Art of Holding On
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life happens, whether you’re ready or not. All you can...
Breaking Through: How Female Athletes Shattered Stereotypes in the Roaring Twenties
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author Sue Macy offers a fresh and timely account...
Outlawed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
OUTLANDER meets Robin Hood. Traveling through time...
The Path We Take
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He’s alone He’s tattooed He’s badly burnt ...

Latest Member Reviews

A Straw Man
 
5.0
"The story: Melody, the younger sister of Charlie, the main character of the previous book, is now..."
Girl at Heart
 
5.0
"'Girl at Heart' by Kelly Oram is a sweet, entertaining, easy read that any lover of YA romance will adore...."
Kingdom Cold
 
4.8
"What I loved: First and foremost, the characters. Princess Charlotte's fierce, unyielding manner. The way her character is left..."
Scarred
 
4.8
"Emotionally, I mean. What I loved: As you can guess from the title,..."
The Path Divided
 
5.0
"I'm going to break out of my usual review mold here because this book was so many things. It..."
Girl at Heart
 
4.8
"What I loved: Just about everything. This was an adorable YA Contemporary Romance with a surprisingly well-rounded..."
Skin Hunter
 
4.3
"What I loved: The world building was perfectly illustrated without bogging down the story. Everything from the..."
Julie Winsome M.D., Medical Detective Science Fiction Mysteries, Volume # 1
 
4.7
"Always fun to follow along with Dr. Julie Winsome Medical Detective! Great stories and I love the writing style..."
Jesse and the Ice Princess (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Jesse and the Ice Princess by Michelle MacQueen is the first book in her new series Gulf City High, and..."
Me, Shakespeare and the Anti-Love Club
 
4.0
"After having her heartbroken by J.R., Kassidy swears off love. After her best friend has a nasty breakup too, Kass..."
Spark: The Firebrand Chronicles, Book One
 
4.3
"Brennan just wants to celebrate her birthday, but instead she is pulled into a fantastical world she never knew..."
Legacy Awakened
 
5.0
"Ava is the child of prophesy and all eyes are on her because she is the daughter of the Prime..."
Hushed
 
4.0
"Romy has just finished school and is torn because she isn't sure what she wants to do with her life...."
Golden Crown
 
4.3
"I have mixed feelings about this book. It follows the second book immediately and starts off with Etta struggling with..."
Prophecy Untold (Shadow Realms book 3)
 
4.0
"Kali is the hope of saving the world from vampires and demons. She’s a vampire huntress who also happens to..."
Prophecy of Darkness (Legends of the Tri-Gard) (Volume 1)
 
5.0
"Yes, this book was amazing. Yes, this book was so engaging. Yes, I could not put this book down. ..."
Fire Falling
 
4.5
"I fell in love with Air Awakens. The chemistry between the characters and the plot development had a perfect blend...."
Girl at Heart
 
4.7
"I know better than to start a Kelly Oram book at bedtime. I know better, yet I do it with..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"If you read the first series, Redefining Me, you got a glimpse at these characters and probably love them just..."
The F Word (Redefining Me book 1)
 
5.0
"'Dating My Best Friend' (former title: 'The F Word') by Michelle MacQueen and Ann Maree Craven delves deeply into themes..."