The Hearts We Sold

Featured
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
1554 1
The Hearts We Sold
Age Range
12+
Release Date
August 08, 2017
ISBN
978-0316314596
Buy This Book
      

A thrilling blend of sci-fi, paranormal horror, and romance-perfect for fans of Holly Black and Leigh Bardugo When Dee Moreno makes a deal with a devil--her heart in exchange for an escape from a disastrous home life--she finds her trade may be more than she bargained for. And becoming "heartless" is only the beginning. What lies ahead is a nightmare far bigger, far more monstrous than anything she ever could have imagined. With reality turned on its head, Dee has only a group of other deal-making teens to keep her grounded, including the charming but secretive James Lancer. And as something like love grows between them amidst an otherworldly ordeal, Dee begins to wonder: can she give James her heart when it's no longer hers to give? The Hearts We Sold is a Faustian tale for the modern age that will steal your heart and break it, and leave you begging for more.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

The Hearts We Sold
(Updated: June 19, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Dee Moreno makes a deal with a demon only to 'lose' her heart. That's part of the demon's deal. He grants her the wish she wants and she hands over her heart. In exchange she has to help him stop creatures from escaping from voids that pop up in Seattle. Along the way she meets James and falls for him. Problem is can she feel anything for him if she's 'heartless'?

What worked: This is an intriguing twist on demons and the fairy tale Rumpelstiltskin. Near perfect demons make deals with humans in exchange for body parts. The demons aren't all they seem to be. This is where the plot is unique and very engaging. Instead of the usual 'grotesque' body snatchers plot, there's paranormal horror meets Sci-fi.

Dee's plight with her family is sure to resonate with readers. I know it did with me. She's a survivor and does what she can to escape from her alcoholic parents. The reason behind her deal with a demon, to me, made sense. She wanted to stay in her exclusive boarding school in order to better herself and not be stuck with her abusive father. The ramifications of this deal though come at a terrible price. One she didn't bargain on.

I really liked the Sci-fi angle of this story. It's not at all one of those heaven and hell stories. There's more than a few 'ah, huh' moments throughout this story. Also I loved the final climax and resolution. **No spoilers but let's just say I was very satisfied with the conclusion.

Engaging paranormal horror tale where a girl makes a deal with a demon at a terrible cost. Insights into surviving and friendships. This is an unique twist on the whole fairy tale Rumpelstiltskin with a satisfying conclusion.
Good Points
1. Intriguing twist on demons and the fairy tale Rumpelstiltskin
2. Paranormal horror
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Sorcery of Thorns
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
All sorcerers are evil. Elisabeth has known that as long...
The Babysitters Coven
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Adventures in Babysitting meets Buffy the Vampire Slayer in...
Loki: Where Mischief Lies
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This is the first of three young adult novels from...
Who Put This Song On?
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Trapped in sunny, stifling, small-town suburbia, seventeen-year-old Morgan knows why...
His Hideous Heart
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Thirteen of YA’s most celebrated names reimagine Edgar Allan Poe’s...
Tweet Cute
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Pepper, swim team captain, chronic overachiever, and all-around perfectionist....
Imperfect: A Story of Body Image
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dounya, a Muslim girl living in Las Vegas, Nevada, shares...
Throw Like a Girl
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Friday Night Lights meets Morgan Matson's The Unexpected Everything in...
The Boy Next Story
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
There’s no one better than the boy next door. At...
Darkblood Academy
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Darkblood—oops, I mean Darkhen Academy. There are...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Veronica sees ghosts―more specifically, her mother’s ghost. The afterimages of...
Travels with Sushi in the Land of the Mind
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Aaron and Stella spend every summer at their grandparents’ house,...
The C Word
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
Addison: Secrets have a way of getting out. And...
Welcome to Chanu-Con!
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join Max and his sister Lila as they navigate their...
The Guinevere Deception (Camelot Rising, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Princess Guinevere has come to Camelot to wed a...
Pax Novis (The Pax Archives, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cira Antares is deeply loyal to two things: Pax...

Latest Member Reviews

Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
4.7
"In all seriousness, Fireborne by Rosaria Munda is the best. I have nothing to compare it to. It is unique,..."
Tweet Cute
 
4.3
"TWEET CUTE is a fun enemies-to-dating and anonymous-You've-Got-Mail style YA contemporary romance. The book follows the two protagonists in equal..."
Throw Like a Girl
 
4.3
"THROW LIKE A GIRL is a charming story about chasing your dreams, a little romance, and a passion for sports...."
The Boy Next Story
 
4.0
"'The Boy Next Story' by Tiffany Schmidt follows main character Aurora, who goes by Rory, as she tries to figure..."
 
4.0
"Veronica can see the ghost of her dead mother. She also suffers from debilitating migraines that hold her back from..."
Pax Novis (The Pax Archives, #1)
 
4.0
"PAX NOVIS is an engaging YA sci-fi novel that takes place in the future, when humans have colonized other planets...."
And I Darken
 
3.3
"To be honest, I went into this expecting vampires. I guess between the visual tone to the..."
Endling: The First
 
5.0
"Applegate delivers an action-packed middle-grade sequel in a uniquely otherworldly setting, with characters that are relatable, cute and fuzzy, along..."
The Guinevere Deception (Camelot Rising, #1)
 
5.0
"THE GUINEVERE DECEPTION is an incredible new YA fantasy that combines a dark mystery, magic, and romance/love into a gorgeous,..."
Refraction
 
4.3
"REFRACTION is a highly readable/devourable book that is certainly a page-turner. In the post-apocalyptic future, a small island appears to..."
Jason & Kyra
 
N/A
"hi :) bross :)"
Fan the Fame
 
4.7
"WHAT I LOVED: Excuse me, who gave Anna Priemaza permission to bug my house and use my brother and I..."