True North (True Born Trilogy)

Featured
 
3.5 (2)
 
5.0 (1)
2225 0
True North (True Born Trilogy)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
April 04, 2017
ISBN
978-1633759152
Buy This Book
      

Abandoned by her family in Plague-ridden Dominion City, eighteen-year-old Lucy Fox has no choice but to rely upon the kindness of the True Borns, a renegade group of genetically enhanced humans, to save her twin sister, Margot. But Nolan Storm, their mysterious leader, has his own agenda. When Storm backtracks on his promise to rescue Margot, Lucy takes her fate into her own hands and sets off for Russia with her True Born bodyguard and maybe-something-more, the lethal yet beautiful Jared Price. In Russia, there's been whispered rumors of Plague Cure. While Lucy fights her magnetic attraction to Jared, anxious that his loyalty to Storm will hurt her chances of finding her sister, they quickly discover that not all is as it appears...and discovering the secrets contained in the Fox sisters' blood before they wind up dead is just the beginning. As they say in Dominion, sometimes it's not you...it's your DNA.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Gentics and Politics Run This Apocalyptic Era
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
When her parents take her sister to Russia, Lucy has nobody except the True Born Storm. Lucy agrees to be a pawn and allows Storm to use her to gather information. In return, he will keep her safe and help get her sister Margot back.

In a world where a plague is wiping people out and everyone is looking for a cure, Lucy doesn't know who to trust. There's something different about her and her sister and it puts the two of them in danger. Lucy feels lonely and lost without Margot, so when she realizes Storm isn't going to help her any time soon, Lucy takes matters into her own hands.

TRUE NORTH focuses on Lucy's journey to find her sister and bring her home. It's full of the same amount of politics and drama as the first one, but more secrets and answers are starting to emerge. I have to say there wasn't as much action in this one though. Lucy also discovers a man named Alastair who will help her get to Russia. He quickly became one of my favorite characters, especially since Jared, the romantic interest, isn't very likable. I hope to see a lot more of Alastair in the next one.


Final Verdict: I would recommend this one for fans of politics, genetics, and drama. The romance is a little lacking, but the secret-driven plot will hold your interest.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
A solid second book in a trilogy
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
L.E. Sterling’s TRUE NORTH is the second in her True Born trilogy. The series takes place on a dystopian Earth where Dominion is the home of Lucy and Margot Fox—Upper Circle twins who somehow hold the key to stopping the plague that has decimated the world’s population and caused a societal structure that has definite “haves” and “have-nots.” TRUE NORTH picks up where the first book in the series, TRUE BORN, left off. Lucy and Margot have been separated—Margot has left Dominion with the girls’ parents, and Lucy has been left behind as the ward of Nolan Storm, the powerful leader of the True Borns. True Borns are genetically modified humans who do not contract the plague and serve in a variety of violent capacities.

TRUE NORTH focuses on Lucy’s search for her sister and offers plenty of background information to flesh out the first book in the series. Lucy is being protected by Jared Price, an incredibly attractive True Born who is fixated on her, and their relationship takes center stage through much of the book. While Lucy tries to pinpoint Margot’s location, she and Jared share many heated moments designed to make the reader swoon, and their romance has a bit of a TWILIGHT feel to it at times.

Though not particularly fast paced, TRUE NORTH keeps things moving at a decent clip, and the book will certainly entrance readers who enjoy tense love scenes. Lucy is a great character despite her weakness for Jared Price, but the one to watch in this novel—and hopefully the final book in the trilogy—is Alastair, the young man who helps Lucy for reasons that are not yet revealed. When book 3 comes out, he’s the reason I’ll be picking up a copy!

Overall, TRUE NORTH is a typical second book: it lacks a bit of excitement as it sets the stage for book 3, but it does the job of the middle child in a series: it sets everything up for the conclusion and leaves readers awaiting that final installment.

My thanks to YA Books Central and the publisher for a copy of the book in exchange for my honest review.
Good Points
Interesting secondary characters

A nice addition to the genre
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
great book!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
“True North” is a fantastic continuation of the True Born series. Lucy is on her own with her parents and twin, Margot, gone- most likely to Russia. Lucy is in the care of Storm and the True Borns. The book begins with her helping them at parties and the like, while she is itching to go and locate Margot. Eventually, it becomes clear that the promises Storm made may not be ones he will keep, and Lucy sets out on her own to find Margot.

The book is steeped in mystery about the two girls. We begin to get some answers, but there are so many questions that we don’t feel as though we gain the right answers in this book. My only complaint about this book is that it is too short! I groaned when I realized I had hit the end- it’s too good and I wish I could continue it right now! The wait until the next book will be way too long!

The world is built a lot more in this book than the first, so for people who found the first to be lacking in that area, I think it will improve with this installment. As we see the rest of the world, we learn more about what is going on and what it’s like for people who are not in the Upper Circle and get a taste for other countries (though it is still limited with the fast pace). There is some really intense romantic tension between Lucy and Jared- it was a little rough at times because I love them together and really wanted them to be together, but it does fit their personalities and plot pretty well.

Overall, this was a fantastic, fast-paced installment to what is quickly becoming one of my favorite series, and I cannot wait for the next book! Please note that I received an ARC from the publisher through netgalley. All opinions are my own.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

You Are Fantastic!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Hello!Lucky, the creators of My Mom Is Magical! and...
Early One Morning
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Join a little boy searching the farm for his breakfast...
Little Sap: The Magical Story of a Little Forest Family
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A little tree, guided by her family circle and forest...
The Little Things: A Story about Acts of Kindness
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
One girl’s simple act of kindness causes ripples in her...
The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this sequel to The Kinder Poison—which People magazine proclaimed...
The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...

Latest Member Reviews

You Are Fantastic!
 
5.0
"YOU ARE FANTASTIC! is a brightly colored and cheerful read celebrating YOU! The book walks through some metaphorical compliments, such..."
Early One Morning
 
3.5
"EARLY ONE MORNING is a picture book walk around a farm. A little boy heads out to find a couple..."
Little Sap: The Magical Story of a Little Forest Family
 
4.5
"LITTLE SAP is a beautifully illustrated story about growing up, seasons, and forests. Little Sap can't wait to be a..."
The Little Things: A Story about Acts of Kindness
 
5.0
"THE LITTLE THINGS is a charming and powerful story about the contagious nature of kindness. A little girl heads to..."
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
"DUCKS ON THE ROAD is a charming and simple picture book with a counting theme. Mama and Papa Duck are..."
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
"SLOTH AND SMELL THE ROSES is another charming and colorful book from the fantastic sister duo, Eunice and Sabrina Moyle...."
Bird House
 
5.0
"BIRD HOUSE is a lovely story about a young girl and her abuela, who find an injured bird. They treat..."
More Than Sunny
 
4.5
"MORE THAN SUNNY is a sweet picture book about siblings, seasons, and childhood fun. The story features two siblings who..."
Busy Little Ladybug
 
3.5
"BUSY LITTLE LADYBUG is a cute board book about a ladybug that loves colors. Ladybug wants to figure out what..."
One Springy, Singy Day
 
4.5
"ONE SPRINGY, SINGY DAY is a brightly colored and fun celebration of spring. Told in rhyming text, the book follows..."
The Lost Continent (Wings of Fire, Book 11)
 
5.0
"It was a good book i really want to buy is so i can read it all the time. I..."
Boy, Everywhere
 
5.0
"Sami has a happy and secure life in Damascus, Syria. His mother is a teacher, his father is a doctor,..."
That Thing About Bollywood
 
4.0
"Sonali misses her grandfather, who ran a video rental store that specialized in Bollywood films, so she enjoys the family..."
Thanks a Lot, Universe
 
4.0
"Brian has anxiety at the best of times. He manages at school, and was on the basketball team, but he..."
One Girl
 
3.5
"In very spare poetry, we see how the spark of a book encourages one girl to investigate the information in..."
In My Life
 
4.0
"Based on the Lennon and McCartney Beatles' tune, this picture book showcases the lyrics against a background of a family..."
Upstaged
 
4.0
"Shira is a really good singer, but she is nervous about performing in front of others. When her best friend..."
100 Dogs: Playful Pups to Count
 
5.0
"This comically illustrated book doesn't have a plot, per se, but is a fun romp through lots of different "kinds"..."
Bear Bottom (Fun Jungle #7)
 
5.0
"Teddy and his family, along with Summer and her family, head off to Yellowstone Park. J.J.McCracken is interested in buying..."
All's Happy That Ends Happy
 
4.0
"In this seventh and final book in the series, we catch up in Sweden with Dani, who has recently been..."