True North (True Born Trilogy)

Featured
 
3.5 (2)
 
5.0 (1)
1928 0
True North (True Born Trilogy)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
April 04, 2017
ISBN
978-1633759152
Buy This Book
      

Abandoned by her family in Plague-ridden Dominion City, eighteen-year-old Lucy Fox has no choice but to rely upon the kindness of the True Borns, a renegade group of genetically enhanced humans, to save her twin sister, Margot. But Nolan Storm, their mysterious leader, has his own agenda. When Storm backtracks on his promise to rescue Margot, Lucy takes her fate into her own hands and sets off for Russia with her True Born bodyguard and maybe-something-more, the lethal yet beautiful Jared Price. In Russia, there's been whispered rumors of Plague Cure. While Lucy fights her magnetic attraction to Jared, anxious that his loyalty to Storm will hurt her chances of finding her sister, they quickly discover that not all is as it appears...and discovering the secrets contained in the Fox sisters' blood before they wind up dead is just the beginning. As they say in Dominion, sometimes it's not you...it's your DNA.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Gentics and Politics Run This Apocalyptic Era
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
When her parents take her sister to Russia, Lucy has nobody except the True Born Storm. Lucy agrees to be a pawn and allows Storm to use her to gather information. In return, he will keep her safe and help get her sister Margot back.

In a world where a plague is wiping people out and everyone is looking for a cure, Lucy doesn't know who to trust. There's something different about her and her sister and it puts the two of them in danger. Lucy feels lonely and lost without Margot, so when she realizes Storm isn't going to help her any time soon, Lucy takes matters into her own hands.

TRUE NORTH focuses on Lucy's journey to find her sister and bring her home. It's full of the same amount of politics and drama as the first one, but more secrets and answers are starting to emerge. I have to say there wasn't as much action in this one though. Lucy also discovers a man named Alastair who will help her get to Russia. He quickly became one of my favorite characters, especially since Jared, the romantic interest, isn't very likable. I hope to see a lot more of Alastair in the next one.


Final Verdict: I would recommend this one for fans of politics, genetics, and drama. The romance is a little lacking, but the secret-driven plot will hold your interest.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
A solid second book in a trilogy
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
L.E. Sterling’s TRUE NORTH is the second in her True Born trilogy. The series takes place on a dystopian Earth where Dominion is the home of Lucy and Margot Fox—Upper Circle twins who somehow hold the key to stopping the plague that has decimated the world’s population and caused a societal structure that has definite “haves” and “have-nots.” TRUE NORTH picks up where the first book in the series, TRUE BORN, left off. Lucy and Margot have been separated—Margot has left Dominion with the girls’ parents, and Lucy has been left behind as the ward of Nolan Storm, the powerful leader of the True Borns. True Borns are genetically modified humans who do not contract the plague and serve in a variety of violent capacities.

TRUE NORTH focuses on Lucy’s search for her sister and offers plenty of background information to flesh out the first book in the series. Lucy is being protected by Jared Price, an incredibly attractive True Born who is fixated on her, and their relationship takes center stage through much of the book. While Lucy tries to pinpoint Margot’s location, she and Jared share many heated moments designed to make the reader swoon, and their romance has a bit of a TWILIGHT feel to it at times.

Though not particularly fast paced, TRUE NORTH keeps things moving at a decent clip, and the book will certainly entrance readers who enjoy tense love scenes. Lucy is a great character despite her weakness for Jared Price, but the one to watch in this novel—and hopefully the final book in the trilogy—is Alastair, the young man who helps Lucy for reasons that are not yet revealed. When book 3 comes out, he’s the reason I’ll be picking up a copy!

Overall, TRUE NORTH is a typical second book: it lacks a bit of excitement as it sets the stage for book 3, but it does the job of the middle child in a series: it sets everything up for the conclusion and leaves readers awaiting that final installment.

My thanks to YA Books Central and the publisher for a copy of the book in exchange for my honest review.
Good Points
Interesting secondary characters

A nice addition to the genre
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
great book!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
“True North” is a fantastic continuation of the True Born series. Lucy is on her own with her parents and twin, Margot, gone- most likely to Russia. Lucy is in the care of Storm and the True Borns. The book begins with her helping them at parties and the like, while she is itching to go and locate Margot. Eventually, it becomes clear that the promises Storm made may not be ones he will keep, and Lucy sets out on her own to find Margot.

The book is steeped in mystery about the two girls. We begin to get some answers, but there are so many questions that we don’t feel as though we gain the right answers in this book. My only complaint about this book is that it is too short! I groaned when I realized I had hit the end- it’s too good and I wish I could continue it right now! The wait until the next book will be way too long!

The world is built a lot more in this book than the first, so for people who found the first to be lacking in that area, I think it will improve with this installment. As we see the rest of the world, we learn more about what is going on and what it’s like for people who are not in the Upper Circle and get a taste for other countries (though it is still limited with the fast pace). There is some really intense romantic tension between Lucy and Jared- it was a little rough at times because I love them together and really wanted them to be together, but it does fit their personalities and plot pretty well.

Overall, this was a fantastic, fast-paced installment to what is quickly becoming one of my favorite series, and I cannot wait for the next book! Please note that I received an ARC from the publisher through netgalley. All opinions are my own.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...

Latest Member Reviews

Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"When country music sensation Becks leaps off the stage mid performance and kisses Nicky everything he’s worked so hard to..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"The story: When Callie's parents send her to help her uncle for the summer working at the Circus of..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"An intriguing and twisty book. The story: Callie is just a girl who loves to surf...."
The Hunt
 
4.5
"What a ride! The story: Tempest is our fierce heroine who wants nothing more than to become the..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"'Dating Nashville' by Michelle MacQueen and Ann Maree Craven follows some of the same characters that graced the pages of..."
Glass Kingdom
 
5.0
"I don't even know where to start with this book. I practically finished it in one day (and I would..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"Growing up with the stories of the Nihryst, Adalina wants nothing more than to find them and break their curse...."
Jesse and the Ice Princess (Gulf City High)
 
4.8
" The story: Jesse Kerrigan has it all: good looks, charisma, and popularity. Even though he’s..."
Fae Hunter
 
4.5
"An enjoyable tale of a young woman who loses her sister and her sight to the Fae, but that is..."
Dragon Rebellion (The Hidden Warrior)
 
4.8
"Fantastic conclusion! Dragon Rebellion by M. Lynn is the final book in The Hidden Warrior duology picking up weeks after..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
"The descriptions of Parkour are entertaining and opened my eyes to a new discipline that I was scarcely aware of..."
Dragon Rebellion (The Hidden Warrior)
 
5.0
"DRAGON REBELLION opens up with Jian and Hua taking refuge in Hua's family farm, but she hasn't awoken since she..."
Chosen (Gem Creek Bears, Book 1)
 
4.3
"When Tris escapes from being kidnapped by her boyfriend Corbin, she does the only logical thing. She gets the heck..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
"I enjoyed this book immensely. As with all of her books, Pam Withers masterfully builds up the characters and skilfully..."
Inebriated
 
5.0
"'Inebriated' by Katey Taylor is a hauntingly real look at the power of intoxication, whether it be in the form..."
The Path We Take
 
4.0
"'The Path We Take' by Kylie Key shows how the choices we make and the things we think we want..."
Outlawed
 
4.5
"The story: When her father forces her to travel back in time to correct the mistake he made, Maryanne..."