Other Breakable Things

Featured
 
3.7
 
4.3 (1)
1329 0
Other Breakable Things
Age Range
16+
Release Date
April 04, 2017
ISBN
B01LM0F3NA

According to Japanese legend, folding a thousand paper cranes will grant you healing. Evelyn Abel will fold two thousand if it will bring Luc back to her. Luc Argent has always been intimately acquainted with death. After a car crash got him a second chance at life—via someone else’s transplanted heart—he tried to embrace it. He truly did. But he always knew death could be right around the corner again. And now it is. Sick of hospitals and tired of transplants, Luc is ready to let his failing heart give out, ready to give up. A road trip to Oregon—where death with dignity is legal—is his answer. But along for the ride is his best friend, Evelyn. And she’s not giving up so easily. A thousand miles, a handful of roadside attractions, and one life-altering kiss later, Evelyn’s fallen, and Luc’s heart is full. But is it enough to save him? Evelyn’s betting her heart, her life, that it can be. Right down to the thousandth paper crane.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A moving tear-jerker
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Sometimes you merely read a book and sometimes you feel it. This was the latter.

The story:
Luc is dying. He's been dying for a long time. He's been through many hospitals, doctors, and surgeries, thinking they could fix it all. And they had ... for a little while. When he gets the worse news of all - that more surgery is necessary to have just a small chance at staying alive, he's ready to give up.
Until the girl who'd left three years before comes back to town. The girl he'd hidden his illness from. The one who he would protect still. She shouldn't have to deal with it. He wouldn't let her carry the burden. But he can't resist that goodbye. He can't stop himself from inviting her along on the road trip that could be his end.

What I loved:
Evelyn. She's such a strong, bright woman. I could root for her no matter what she was doing. Even her naivete at times is charming. She's been in love with Luc for a long time and she has demons of her own in her past. I admire how she refuses to give up right til the very end. She's determined to show Luc he has something to live for.
The writing style is quick and simple, not being bogged down in every single emotion like a story like this could be. The writers let the emotion come naturally instead of forcing it. By the end, I was bawling like a baby.

What was just okay:
I wasn't a fan of Luc. He's dying so he deserves some slack, but the guy is a jerk. He's pretty awful to Evelyn for large stretches of the book and then he's amazing to her. It was like his personality just changed.
Parts of the story - particularly in the beginning - dragged, but the pace was soon picked up.

Final Verdict:
Keep the tissues handy because this is a story that will tear your heart out and won't bother to put it back together for you. It packs a powerful emotional punch throughout the pages and you'll be a better person for having read it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
heart-wrenching
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
“Other Breakable Things” absolutely wrecked me- it’s a beautiful and heartwrenching story about Evelyn and Luc. The book begins when Evelyn returns to town after leaving Arizona, where she and her mother lived with her mother’s boyfriend. Her best friend, Luc, has not been great about staying in touch, but Evelyn is eager to see if they are/can still be friends. Luc is suffering after his heart transplant years ago- it seems his body is rejecting the heart. He feels that it would be easier on Evelyn if they weren’t friends to save her the heartbreak when he dies.

Everything changes when Evelyn finds out her mother wants to go back to her boyfriend in Arizona. Evelyn feels like she finally got away, and since her mother always treats her like the second choice, Evelyn is not sure if her mother will believe her about what her boyfriend has been doing to Evelyn. Unsure of what else to do, she runs to Luc for comfort. Luc invites her on a roadtrip to Oregon that he had been considering- Oregon allows euthanasia. Luc is keeping his heart condition from Evelyn, though she knows that something is going on. Evelyn is a lover of origami and suggests that he fold a thousand paper cranes.

Their trip takes many unexpected and lovely turns as they both learn more about the other and what it means to be alive. This book was absolutely beautiful and I loved it. Both Evelyn and Luc were so real and incredibly well crafted. The alternating viewpoints between the two was a perfect way to tell this story of young love and life. I absolutely could not put it down and loved every second of this book- it’s such a poignant and beautiful story. I’m not sure I can write how amazing this book is, but I highly recommend it.

There are some really big themes here- sexual assault, euthanasia/suicide, running away, etc.- and as a warning, it will absolutely make you feel some big emotions- heartbreak, sadness, happiness/joy. However, it’s really a fantastically well-crafted story and I wouldn’t change a word of it. Please note that I received an ARC from the publisher through netgalley. All opinions are my own.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."
Crush (Crave, #2)
 
4.7
"CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first..."
The Shadow War
 
3.0
"Audiobook review: Following 5 teens trying to survive, THE SHADOW WAR imagines World War II with a..."
Meet Cute: Some people are destined to meet
 
4.0
"MEET CUTE is a fun, romantic anthology featuring stories about people first meeting. Ranging from cute to funny to dark..."
Glimpsed
 
3.7
"GLIMPSED gives us a twist on the typical fairytale with Charity, a fairy godmother from a line of fairy godmothers...."
Shine Until Tomorrow
 
5.0
"Wow, this book didn’t turn out to be anything like I expected. The story: Tamara is a young..."