Sanctuary: (Shifter Chronicles Book 1)

Featured
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
1670 1
Sanctuary: (Shifter Chronicles Book 1)
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
October 22, 2016
ISBN
978-0997980615
Buy This Book
      

It’s survival of the fittest, but first you have to fit in. Shae is sure the icy rage that eats away at her is driving away her friends and pulling her closer to the wrong boy. But, as her protected world unravels, she discovers the violent supernatural world that lurks in her quiet hometown and the ancient feuds that threaten to destroy both her friends and her family. To save those she loves, Shae must succumb to her own fury, but at what cost?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

An interesting shifter concept
(Updated: May 20, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Sanctuary (Shifter Chronicles, #1) by Melle Amade

The Story:
Shae spent the entire summer without hearing a word from her best friends. And now they’re back, her worst fears are realized when they shut her out. Completely. Shae stumbles through a series of mishaps and chance-sightings, which lead her to an answer explaining her friend’s cold-shouldered behavior. But will the answer change anything, or will Shae have to put her life on the line for everything to return to how it was?

The Characters:
There are several enjoyable things about Shae; her love of her younger brother is one of them as well as the light-hearted relationship between Shae and her father. The broken relationship with her mother is a great subplot to keep the reader hooked. At the same time, Shae has a tendency to be a push-over. I found myself wondering why she would want to be friends with the others at all when they are so mean.
Kudos to the author, I truly hate Shae’s best friend—this shows how well the author draws out reader emotion in her dialogue.

The World:
Overall, the dark world of animal shifters and their hierarchy is well explained. We understand the rules, and the motives of the antagonist. The author has put in a lot of effort with adding extra complexities to the shifter world. Doing so has made the world within Sanctuary’s covers fresh, twisted, and enticing. What was murky were the spatial aspects of the world-building. I found it hard to get a sense of exactly how the shifter world integrated into everyday life. Hopefully, the author is keeping these tid-bits hostage to hand out further in the series!

The Readability:
This author has a beautiful, descriptive style. Melle Amade summons her settings to life before our eyes with her thoughtful depictions. One of the best is her description of the ice settling down onto Shae. Sometimes in fantasy books, you skip over the magical processes after the first few instances, but not in this book!
The explanations through the story feel a bit convenient on occasion, but the story flows well. The final plot-twist is satisfying, and the subplots are unpredictable.

Final Verdict:
This author delivers an interesting shifter concept, true emotion, and strong imagery. Melle Amade is an author to watch very closely in the near future.
This is a darker paranormal book for young adults, recommended for ages fourteen and over due to moderate violence and darker themes. Professionally edited.

Favorite Quote:
“Breathe in the flowers, blow out the candles.”
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Life Below
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Immerse yourself in a strange and beautiful world as you...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The inspiring, deeply patriotic true story of John Glenn, a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A wildly imaginative introduction to yoga and nutrition by bestselling...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A book jam-packed with eight creative activities to make beautiful...
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tricia Levenseller, author of Daughter of the Pirate King, is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It had been a great day. Perhaps the Best Day…...

Latest Member Reviews

Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Best friends….secret love….y’all Michelle MacQueen put my two favorite tropes into one incredibly sweet story. Roman and the Hopeless Romantic..."
Adeline's Aria
 
4.0
" The Story: Addie has an obsession with British rocker Jude, but it's just a fan..."
 
5.0
"Another chilling story from L.V. Pires. This one started out with the main character from Book 1, Casey, fighting an..."
Ghosting You
 
4.8
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A heartwarming love story. The Story: Tommy..."
A Pain Less Ordinary
 
5.0
"A Pain Less Ordinary is a tragic tale of a modern girl whose family has fallen apart. Becca struggles to..."
The Waiting Mortuary
 
5.0
"I'm not normally one to read horror fiction, but I thought I'd give this book a chance and was blown..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"After Cassie witnesses the murder of her mother, she develops anxiety over just about everything. She doesn't talk to anyone..."
Seneca Lake
 
4.8
"Meg lives in a small town in upstate NY (outside Ithaca) in the later years of WWII. She is torn..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"In the first book, we were introduced to Jesse’s sister, Cassie, and his best friend, Roman. After witnessing their mother’s..."
First Earth: Book One in the Arch Mage Series
 
5.0
""Agnes' journey not only kept me turning pages, but pulled me into the journey of self-discovery right along with her...."
Jesse and the Ice Princess (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"It’s no secret that I love Michelle’s books, and this is such a fantastic start to a new series! I..."
Jesse and the Ice Princess (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Charlotte-or Charlie-loves both hockey and figure skating. However, she knows she can't do both and has already chosen to pursue..."
The Subjects, Aim
 
4.8
"First and foremost, Aim accomplishes what any good sci-fi sets out to do. It thoroughly explores the concepts of humanity..."
Of Water and Moonlight
 
4.8
"Maddie is a Hawthorne sister and is known for performing a spell against the Ancients. If the stares of her..."
Dragon Rising: A Mulan Inspired Fantasy
 
5.0
"When her sister Luna is killed, Hua wants nothing more than to get revenge. Taking her father's place, she joins..."
Heart of Mist
 
5.0
"The story: Bleak is a drunken thief who is desperately trying to find a way to cure herself from..."
Skin Hunter
 
4.5
"Milla steals an armband and an identity which could put her to death if she is found out. She takes..."
A Straw Man
 
5.0
"The story: Melody, the younger sister of Charlie, the main character of the previous book, is now..."
Girl at Heart
 
5.0
"'Girl at Heart' by Kelly Oram is a sweet, entertaining, easy read that any lover of YA romance will adore...."
Kingdom Cold
 
4.8
"What I loved: First and foremost, the characters. Princess Charlotte's fierce, unyielding manner. The way her character is left..."