These Ruthless Deeds (These Vicious Masks #2)

 
0.0
 
4.7 (1)
666 0
These Ruthless Deeds (These Vicious Masks #2)
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
March 14, 2017
ISBN
9781250127952
Buy This Book
      
England, 1883. Still recovering from a devastating loss, Evelyn is determined to use her powers to save other gifted people from those who would harm them. But when her rescue of a young telekinetic girl goes terribly wrong, Evelyn finds herself indebted to a secret society devoted to recruiting and protecting people like Evelyn and her friends.

As she follows the Society’s orders, healing the sick and embarking on perilous recruitment missions, Evelyn sees her problems disappear. Her reputation is repaired, her friends are provided for, and her parents are newly wealthy. She reunites with the dashing Mr. Kent and recovers the reclusive Mr. Braddock (who has much less to brood over now that the Society can help him to control his dangerous power). But Evelyn can’t help fearing the Society is more sinister than it appears...

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Impressive and wonderful
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
If These Vicious Masks was an impressive novel, These Ruthless Deeds is an exceptional one. I don’t think it is possible for me to fault the novel in anyway. The storyline is fast and intriguing, the characters lovable and entertaining, and the writing flawless. I think I spot a new favourite series on the horizon!

Evelyn Wyndham is still recovering from a devastating loss, but she is determined to use her newfound powers to help other gifted people. Accompanied by her former governess, the dashing Mr. Kent, and a loyal gifted teenager, Evelyn and her friends attempt to save a telekinetic girl, but find themselves indebted to the secret society that kidnapped her sister. The Society of Aberrations convinces Evelyn that they had nothing to do with what happened to her sister, and that they are want only to recruit and protect other gifted individuals. As Evelyn begins to work for the Society by healing the sick and embarking on dangerous missions, she finds that her problems have disappeared. Her tattered reputation is repaired, her parents suddenly become wealthy, and her friends are protected. But Evelyn is still suspicious, even more so when she begins questioning the Society and their rules, and they respond through violent means.

“You play at altruism, Miss Wyndham … What you don’t understand if that you don’t just ‘help people.’ Any choice to help someone, hurts someone else. You want to help Britain? Then hurt Egypt. You want to heal someone? Then you leave someone else in pain, waiting.”

These Ruthless Deeds ups the tension and drama by a tenfold. The plot was engaging and well-thought out, to the point that I was perched on the edge of my seat as I devoured the novel in one sitting. What stood out immediately was the growth of world-building. The Society of Aberrations described the long history of gifted individuals and how they secretly work for the British government and had been for centuries. I loved learning about the Society, their history, and the hierarchy within the organisation. Shanker and Zekas were so thorough in the development of their fantasy world; it was beyond impressive and left me wanting to know more.

We were introduced to a lot of new characters in These Ruthless Deeds, as well as encountering many beloved ones from These Vicious Masks. I will admit to something embarrassing: I squealed like a fan-girl when Mr. Kent came onto the page. I think it is safe to say I have dubbed him a book boyfriend – he has now joined the same league as Rhys from ACOTAR and Jace from the Mortal Instruments. Mr. Kent was a remarkable character: incredibly funny, charming, and so loyal to Evelyn. Even during the tense fighting scenes, he still managed to leave me in stitches.

“Before I met you, I went to brothels, gambling halls, scandalous music halls, all sorts of indecent places.”
“And let me guess, ever since you met me, you’ve changed?”
[Mr. Kent] shook his head. “No, I just want to do these indecent things with you.”

Mr. Braddock was a delight, albeit a big brooding one. The chemistry between him and Evelyn was so tangible, I almost blushed (and that is saying something when the book is set in Victorian London and the most a couple can do is hold hands). I felt so much for Sebastian, and I want him to get his deserved happy ending, but, like in These Vicious Masks, I was once again torn between the two alluring love interests. Who do I prefer, Sebastian or Nicholas? I don’t know.

I said, I DON’T KNOW. Please don’t make me choose!!

You can expect Evelyn to have one hell of a decision on her hands regarding her romantic life, which took a backseat to the issues surrounding the clandestine Society. Evelyn is fast becoming one of my favourite female YA characters, and an exceptional role model. For a woman trapped within the constraints of Victorian society, Evelyn frequently spoke her mind and was unabashedly independent. She was strong, touchingly kind, and highly spirited; she adored her family and, even when she disagreed with her marriage-minded mother, Evelyn still attempted to do right by them. Evelyn’s character developed steadily and admirably from a headstrong girl to a powerful, gifted woman. I am still in awe of her character.

“If you don’t wish me to think of you as some kind of tragic Gothic figure, you really must stop acting like one.”

As I read the novel, I, along with many other readers, thought I knew where the story was going, but I was so wrong and you will be, too. The last quarter of the book, specifically the last five or so chapters, featured some of the most shocking and incredible scenes I have ever read, especially in YA fiction. Can someone inform Swoon Reads that the ending of this book is not very … swoony? Do they know what they published? I mean, the book is glorious, but not at all like the few other Swoon Reads books I have read. I must be honest, I am glad that’s the case, because the book is so refreshing and unique compared to many other YA books being published at the moment.

These Ruthless Deeds is everything the title suggests: it is ruthless, but the synergy between Shanker and Zekas allows the novel to be so much more. It is a romance, a suspense, a comedy, a fantasy, an adventure … it is everything I love in YA books and more and I cannot wait for the third and final book in this amazing series.
Good Points
Check out my blog and other reviews: www.thebookcorps.wordpress.com
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Life Below
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Immerse yourself in a strange and beautiful world as you...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The inspiring, deeply patriotic true story of John Glenn, a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A wildly imaginative introduction to yoga and nutrition by bestselling...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A book jam-packed with eight creative activities to make beautiful...
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tricia Levenseller, author of Daughter of the Pirate King, is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It had been a great day. Perhaps the Best Day…...

Latest Member Reviews

Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
 
5.0
" This book doesn't meet the expectations of most kid's books about the ocean with their bright and..."
 
5.0
" John Glenn is unlike any other public figure before or after him. His story isn't simply a..."
 
5.0
"The first time my niece saw me do a yoga video, she was obsessed. She's five years old and it..."
 
5.0
"We all know crafting stuff can be expensive and when it comes to kid's crafts, it creates more waste than..."
Cub
 
5.0
"Cindy finds that middle school in the early 1970s is fairly stressful-- all the cool girls are wearing elephant bells..."
The Story of Inventions
 
3.0
"THE STORY OF INVENTIONS is a simple, accessible introduction to some of the breakthroughs that have shaped the world across..."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Christmas
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: CHRISTMAS is a fun activity book for elementary-aged children (and maybe older toddlers). The book features..."
Baby, Find the Shapes! (Indestructibles)
 
4.7
"BABY, FIND THE SHAPES! is a fun addition to the Indestructibles book series. The best feature of this book is..."
Althea Gibson: The Story of Tennis' Fleet-of-Foot Girl
 
4.3
"Born in 1927, Althea Gibson experienced the racial and gender disparities that were prevalent at the time, but were in..."
Welcome to Jazz: A Swing-Along Celebration of America’s Music, Featuring “When the Saints Go Marching In”
 
5.0
"WELCOME TO JAZZ is a truly delightful and entertaining children's book. The book teaches about jazz in terms of history,..."
National Geographic Student World Atlas
 
5.0
" A wonderful representation of the world for teaching kids to love the earth they live on. With bright,..."
Ralph Masiello's Alien Drawing Book
 
4.7
"A cute way for kids to learn how to draw. This book takes kids through a step by..."
Write to Me: Letters from Japanese American Children to the Librarian They Left Behind
 
5.0
"This is a must read book that shows the lives of Japanese American children who ended up being taken from..."
Cub
Cub
 
5.0
"Cindy finds that middle school in the early 1970s is fairly stressful-- all the cool girls are wearing elephant bells..."
Close Calls: How Eleven US Presidents Escaped from the Brink of Death
 
5.0
"There was a recent Jeopardy! champion who apparently got himself up to speed on many areas of knowledge by reading..."
All You Need Is a Pencil: The Totally Sick Sick-Day Activity Book
 
5.0
"THE TOTALLY SICK SICK-DAY ACTIVITY BOOK is exactly what the title describes. There are crossword puzzles, places to doodle, word..."
Animazes
 
5.0
"ANIMAZES shows the migration patterns of fourteen different creatures. It shows that there are several different paths these creatures can..."
Baby Loves the Five Senses: Hearing!
 
4.7
"BABY LOVES THE FIVE SENSES: HEARING teaches everything you need to know about how hearing, the ears, and sound all..."
Hard Work, but It's Worth It: The Life of Jimmy Carter
 
5.0
"Before reading this, I didn't know much about Jimmy Carter except that he had been one of the presidents. I..."