These Ruthless Deeds (These Vicious Masks #2)

 
0.0
 
4.7 (1)
728 0
These Ruthless Deeds (These Vicious Masks #2)
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
March 14, 2017
ISBN
9781250127952
Buy This Book
      
England, 1883. Still recovering from a devastating loss, Evelyn is determined to use her powers to save other gifted people from those who would harm them. But when her rescue of a young telekinetic girl goes terribly wrong, Evelyn finds herself indebted to a secret society devoted to recruiting and protecting people like Evelyn and her friends.

As she follows the Society’s orders, healing the sick and embarking on perilous recruitment missions, Evelyn sees her problems disappear. Her reputation is repaired, her friends are provided for, and her parents are newly wealthy. She reunites with the dashing Mr. Kent and recovers the reclusive Mr. Braddock (who has much less to brood over now that the Society can help him to control his dangerous power). But Evelyn can’t help fearing the Society is more sinister than it appears...

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Impressive and wonderful
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
If These Vicious Masks was an impressive novel, These Ruthless Deeds is an exceptional one. I don’t think it is possible for me to fault the novel in anyway. The storyline is fast and intriguing, the characters lovable and entertaining, and the writing flawless. I think I spot a new favourite series on the horizon!

Evelyn Wyndham is still recovering from a devastating loss, but she is determined to use her newfound powers to help other gifted people. Accompanied by her former governess, the dashing Mr. Kent, and a loyal gifted teenager, Evelyn and her friends attempt to save a telekinetic girl, but find themselves indebted to the secret society that kidnapped her sister. The Society of Aberrations convinces Evelyn that they had nothing to do with what happened to her sister, and that they are want only to recruit and protect other gifted individuals. As Evelyn begins to work for the Society by healing the sick and embarking on dangerous missions, she finds that her problems have disappeared. Her tattered reputation is repaired, her parents suddenly become wealthy, and her friends are protected. But Evelyn is still suspicious, even more so when she begins questioning the Society and their rules, and they respond through violent means.

“You play at altruism, Miss Wyndham … What you don’t understand if that you don’t just ‘help people.’ Any choice to help someone, hurts someone else. You want to help Britain? Then hurt Egypt. You want to heal someone? Then you leave someone else in pain, waiting.”

These Ruthless Deeds ups the tension and drama by a tenfold. The plot was engaging and well-thought out, to the point that I was perched on the edge of my seat as I devoured the novel in one sitting. What stood out immediately was the growth of world-building. The Society of Aberrations described the long history of gifted individuals and how they secretly work for the British government and had been for centuries. I loved learning about the Society, their history, and the hierarchy within the organisation. Shanker and Zekas were so thorough in the development of their fantasy world; it was beyond impressive and left me wanting to know more.

We were introduced to a lot of new characters in These Ruthless Deeds, as well as encountering many beloved ones from These Vicious Masks. I will admit to something embarrassing: I squealed like a fan-girl when Mr. Kent came onto the page. I think it is safe to say I have dubbed him a book boyfriend – he has now joined the same league as Rhys from ACOTAR and Jace from the Mortal Instruments. Mr. Kent was a remarkable character: incredibly funny, charming, and so loyal to Evelyn. Even during the tense fighting scenes, he still managed to leave me in stitches.

“Before I met you, I went to brothels, gambling halls, scandalous music halls, all sorts of indecent places.”
“And let me guess, ever since you met me, you’ve changed?”
[Mr. Kent] shook his head. “No, I just want to do these indecent things with you.”

Mr. Braddock was a delight, albeit a big brooding one. The chemistry between him and Evelyn was so tangible, I almost blushed (and that is saying something when the book is set in Victorian London and the most a couple can do is hold hands). I felt so much for Sebastian, and I want him to get his deserved happy ending, but, like in These Vicious Masks, I was once again torn between the two alluring love interests. Who do I prefer, Sebastian or Nicholas? I don’t know.

I said, I DON’T KNOW. Please don’t make me choose!!

You can expect Evelyn to have one hell of a decision on her hands regarding her romantic life, which took a backseat to the issues surrounding the clandestine Society. Evelyn is fast becoming one of my favourite female YA characters, and an exceptional role model. For a woman trapped within the constraints of Victorian society, Evelyn frequently spoke her mind and was unabashedly independent. She was strong, touchingly kind, and highly spirited; she adored her family and, even when she disagreed with her marriage-minded mother, Evelyn still attempted to do right by them. Evelyn’s character developed steadily and admirably from a headstrong girl to a powerful, gifted woman. I am still in awe of her character.

“If you don’t wish me to think of you as some kind of tragic Gothic figure, you really must stop acting like one.”

As I read the novel, I, along with many other readers, thought I knew where the story was going, but I was so wrong and you will be, too. The last quarter of the book, specifically the last five or so chapters, featured some of the most shocking and incredible scenes I have ever read, especially in YA fiction. Can someone inform Swoon Reads that the ending of this book is not very … swoony? Do they know what they published? I mean, the book is glorious, but not at all like the few other Swoon Reads books I have read. I must be honest, I am glad that’s the case, because the book is so refreshing and unique compared to many other YA books being published at the moment.

These Ruthless Deeds is everything the title suggests: it is ruthless, but the synergy between Shanker and Zekas allows the novel to be so much more. It is a romance, a suspense, a comedy, a fantasy, an adventure … it is everything I love in YA books and more and I cannot wait for the third and final book in this amazing series.
Good Points
Check out my blog and other reviews: www.thebookcorps.wordpress.com
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."
The Year of the Witching
 
5.0
"Immanuelle lives in the town of Bethel where the Prophet's word is law and the highest honor for a woman..."