The Lost Girl of Astor Street

Featured
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
1198 1
The Lost Girl of Astor Street
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
February 07, 2017
ISBN
978-0310758389
Buy This Book
      

When her best friend vanishes without so much as a good-bye, eighteen-year-old Piper Sail takes on the role of amateur sleuth in an attempt to solve the mystery of Lydia’s disappearance. Given that Piper’s tendency has always been to butt heads with high-society’s expectations of her, it’s no surprise that she doesn’t give a second thought to searching for answers to Lydia’s abduction from their privileged neighborhood. As Piper discovers that those answers might stem from the corruption strangling 1924 Chicago—and quite possibly lead back to the doors of her affluent neighborhood—she must decide how deep she’s willing to dig, how much she should reveal, and if she’s willing to risk her life of privilege for the sake of the truth. Perfect for fans of Libba Bray and Anna Godbersen, Stephanie Morrill’s atmospheric jazz-age mystery will take readers from the glitzy homes of the elite to the dark underbelly of 1920s Chicago.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

well-drawn setting and instinct-driven heroine
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
What I Loved:
Piper is a rich girl far removed from the worst of 1920s Chicago, but she’s not exactly a prim and proper lady; she’s constantly in trouble at school and practically has her teacher’s ruler permanently branded into the skin of her knuckles from so many punishments. She’s clearly chafing from the era’s sexism and high expectations for her. I would be too! Her slow romance with Detective Mariano Cassano, the cop investigating Lydia’s disappearance is pretty sweet.

Piper is not a girl who thinks things through–and that’s meant in the most endearing way possible. She trusts her instincts and is pretty good at improvising when, say, her new friend Emma asks Piper to help her find out what her beau Robbie is hiding. She knows her father is willing to represent mafia figures in court, but she doesn’t think much of the fact. It’s simply part of her life until things get a little more complex and causes a fight with Mariano.

What Left Me Wanting:
For roughly the first half of the novel, Piper’s determination and her forays into some of the darker places of Chicago are engaging and good enough to keep readers in their seats. Then Lydia’s fate is revealed and the novel’s pacing is bogged down by events in Piper’s life, like her father’s upcoming nuptials to a new woman and her own developing romance. Piper’s life simply isn’t that interesting in comparison to the mystery of Lydia’s disappearance, which falls by the wayside for a while.

Even when she is investigating, it feels like all that work meant nothing once you reach the climactic scenes of the book and see that Piper’s investigation contributed absolutely nothing to finding Lydia’s abductor. She does find the person, but it’s more because of a coincidence than Piper’s own hard work: she was only on the culprit’s radar at all because of the same right-time-and-place coincidence that saves her life. The events that follow are moreso results of where she was more than what she did.

Though The Lost Girl of Astor Street is subtly critical of the era’s sexim, it engages in sexism itself through Piper’s own words. At one point, Piper says that she knows losing sleep over Lydia’s disappearance is pointless, but “[she’s] a girl.” Implying that she does pointless things like being emotional because she’s a girl? Ew. It’s also odd that non-Piper female characters have a lot of their character centered around a man. Lydia’s defining trait is her love for her family chauffeur Matthew; Piper’s future stepmother Jane Miller has no traits at all outside of being Piper’s father’s fiancee.

Final Verdict:
The well-drawn setting and instinct-driven heroine will make is an easy sell for teens who live by the phrase “well-behaved women seldom make history.” Piper is no well-behaved woman and the open ending leaves open the possibility of sequels. I wouldn’t be opposed to seeing Piper continue to terrorize the Chicago underworld with her tenacity! Its pacing is uneven toward the second half and Piper’s hardwork doesn’t achieve a satisfying payoff, but it remains a fun romp through 1924 Chicago’s gangster-ridden streets.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Izzy Gizmo and the Invention Convention
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this companion to the award-winning Izzy Gizmo, Izzy Gizmo...
The Welcome Wagon
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Cubby Hill, someone new is someone to celebrate!In a...
Once Upon a Crime: Batman Tales
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Gotham City is filled with stories--of heroes and of villains,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With Joanie Stone's colorful illustrations and Allison Crotzer Kimmel's inspirational...
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The high price of perfection is one 'Perfect' Parker Fadley...
Finder, Coal Mine Dog
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
An action-packed and heartwarming story of a dog in the...
Bo the Brave
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A feisty little girl learns who the real monsters are...
Double Trouble!
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mischief is multiplied when twins are around! ...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to the...
The Derby Daredevils: Kenzie Kickstarts a Team: (The Derby Daredevils Book #1)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Ever since they can remember, fifth-graders Kenzie (aka Kenzilla) and...
Nina Soni, Former Best Friend
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first title in a new series featuring a lovable,...
Nina Soni: Sister Fixer
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The second title in a humorous series featuring a charming,...
The Alchemist's Shadow (Watch Hollow #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Having defeated the Garr, a vicious tree monster who lived...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of The...
Helen Keller: The World at Her Fingertips
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Helen Keller was a baby, she became sick and...
King and Kayla and the Case of the Unhappy Neighbor
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lovable dog helps his human girl solve a mystery....

Latest Member Reviews

Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."
Summer and July
 
5.0
"'Summer and July' by Paul Mosier is a beautifully written story perfect for summer reading. Readers will find themselves immersed..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
"SCARLET ODYSSEY is a high fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Men are often raised to be..."
Tigers, Not Daughters
 
5.0
"TIGERS, NOT DAUGHTERS is a lyrical book of sisterhood and grief. The Torres sisters had tried to escape their father..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
4.0
"The fallout and protests following police choking George Floyd to death in Minnesota has consumed social media for the last..."
when you were everything
 
4.3
"WHEN YOU WERE EVERYTHING by Ashley Woodfolk is a YA Contemporary novel told in two timelines, “then” and “now.” The..."
Path of Night (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #3)
 
5.0
"PATH OF NIGHT is another great installment of the books based on the Netflix show, CHILLING ADVENTURES OF SABRINA. This..."
Unravel the Dusk (The Blood of Stars, #2)
 
5.0
"UNRAVEL THE DUSK is an enchanting sequel and finale to a unique YA fantasy. Maia is a tailor who dreamed..."
Sisters of Sword and Song
 
4.3
"SISTERS OF SWORD AND SONG is an enchanting and lush YA fantasy. The story follows two sisters, Halcyon and Evadne,..."
Straight On Till Morning: A Twisted Tale #8
 
3.7
"Straight on Till Morning is part of “A Twisted Tale” series, a multi author series of fairytale retellings created by..."
Faith Taking Flight
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Faith Herbert has a secret. She can fly. When she runs into her fangirl crush Dakota, star of the..."
Honor Bound (The Honors, #2)
 
5.0
"HONOR BOUND is an electrifying and thrilling YA sci-fi sequel. Zara, Beatriz, and Nadim are on the run from an..."
Honor Among Thieves (The Honors, #1)
 
4.7
"HONOR AMONG THIEVES is an engaging YA sci-fi that takes place in a world where humanity has been introduced to..."