Queens of Geek

 
0.0
 
4.3 (2)
2325 0
Queens of Geek
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
March 14, 2017
ISBN
9781250111395
Buy This Book
      
When BFFs Charlie, Taylor and Jamie go to SupaCon, they know it’s going to be a blast. What they don’t expect is for it to change their lives forever.

Charlie likes to stand out. SupaCon is her chance to show fans she’s over her public breakup with co-star, Reese Ryan. When Alyssa Huntington arrives as a surprise guest, it seems Charlie’s long-time crush on her isn’t as one-sided as she thought.

While Charlie dodges questions about her personal life, Taylor starts asking questions about her own.

Taylor likes to blend in. Her brain is wired differently, making her fear change. And there’s one thing in her life she knows will never change: her friendship with Jamie—no matter how much she may secretly want it to. But when she hears about the Queen Firestone SupaFan Contest, she starts to rethink her rules on playing it safe.

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.5  (2)
Characters 
 
4.0  (2)
Writing Style 
 
4.5  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Geeky and fun!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde is the most adorkable novel I’ve read in a long while. The book is ridiculously cute, but it also sends an important, hopeful message across through the main characters: that you don’t have to change yourself to fit in to someone else’s standards.

What I love most about this book is that it’s a #LoveOzYA … which means THE CHARACTERS ARE AUSTRALIAN! Yay! For those who don’t know, I’ve decided to start reading more Australian YA fiction, and this book was probably the best one to start with because it’s so nerdy and relatable. Honestly, I can’t think of anyone who wouldn’t relate to this book as we have all, at one point in our lives, been immersed in fandom culture.

This book is also amazingly diverse, which is apparent by the two narrators, Taylor and Charlie. Taylor is autistic and Charlie is bisexual and Asian. Obviously I can’t speak for whether the representation of Taylor was accurate or not, but Charlie’s bisexuality was portrayed beautifully. I can’t think of a time where I had read bisexuality so positively in a novel which doesn’t include a big coming out moment. I do love bisexual coming out stories and they most definitely have their place in both YA and adult fiction, but sometimes it’s comforting to have a character already secure with their sexuality.

Taylor and Charlie were fantastic characters with distinct, personal voices. Despite how different they were, they were the very best of friends and I loved reading about how much they cared for each other and supported one another. Jaime is their friend from America who moved to Australia, and he was just a sweetheart who so deeply cared for Taylor. I adored his and Taylor’s budding romance.

I have a small list of grievances (as in one thing) which didn’t affect my enjoyment of the book too much, but did irk me enough to not give this book 5 stars. The romance between Charlie and the vlogger girl featured that awful instalove trope (nooooooooooooooo) which is just not realistic. Authors, please stop featuring the instalove trope in your novels. The only time that trope is applicable is in like paranormal werewolf romances during that moment where the werewolf sets sight on his mate for the first time. (Yes, I used to read a lot of werewolf romances.) Aside from that, I don’t want to see it.

One of the best elements of the book is how fandom positive it is. So often those of us in fandom circles are shamed or ridiculed by those outside the fandom for our love of geek culture (please put your hand up if you’ve ever been personally victimised by someone who doesn’t understand your love of a show/book/movie) but this book takes our love of geek culture and celebrates it.

Queens of Geek is the fluffiest YA book I’ve ever read, and trust me when I say everyone will relate to it. You can still read the book on Wattpad here, so please give it a shot!
Good Points
Check out my blog for more reviews: thebookcorps.wordpress.com
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Review : Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde is a YA contemporary romance story with a LGBT relationship. It tells about three Senior BFFs : Taylor, Charlie and Jamie. Before finishing high school and then moving to LA to attend university, the three decide to go to SupaCon, a convention placed in San Diego, accomplishing their dream of a lifetime. The story alternates the point-of-view of Taylor and the point-of-view of Charlie.

Charlie is a Chinese girl who has always lived in Australia and she has become famous vlogging on Youtube. She was very confident of herself but, after being publicly cheated on by her co-star Reese, she started having problems of self estimate. She goes to SupaCon to meet her fans and there she meets Alyssa Huntington, another vlogger she has always had a huge crush on. The two had a similar past, maybe too similar, but I enjoyed reading about them.

Taylor is an autistic girl ( like the authoress ), and you could see it since the first pages of the book. She’s afraid of crowds and being left behind by Jamie and Charlie. Her dream is to meet the writer of the Firestone series, which helped her to overcome her daily struggle with social anxiety. She wants to meet Skyler before going to uni, because then she would have proved that she could win her problems with talking to people.

By her side, there’s Jamie, her best friend who has always been there for her when she needed someone the most. He’s like a knight in shining armor who helps her damsel in distress. The two love each other since always, but Taylor is too afraid of not knowing what could happen to risk their friendship. Throughout the convention, Taylor has to face her problems and, in the end, she understands that she is strong, that being afraid is normal.

Thanks to this book, I understood that being Geek is COOL, that shyness is not an invincible weakness, that is OK to have fears.

Jen Wilde did a pretty good job with the writing and what I most liked about the story was how well she described Taylor. I know that some people think the only thing she could do was weeping, but I think it made the story more real.

I recommend Queens of Geek to fans of LGBT and contemporary romance.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."
The Year of the Witching
 
5.0
"Immanuelle lives in the town of Bethel where the Prophet's word is law and the highest honor for a woman..."
By the Book
 
5.0
"'By the Book' is a charming ode to both romance and literature. Mary Porter-Malcolm sees life as points..."