Dungeonology

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1462 0
Dungeonology
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
October 21, 2016
ISBN
978-0763693534

A treasure trove of lore for new adventurers! The world's most beloved roleplaying game, Dungeons & Dragons, joins the legendary 'Ology series as the renowned guide Volo Geddarm takes you on an unforgettable journey through the Forgotten Realms. From the dreaming spires of Waterdeep to the frozen majesty of Drizzt Do'Urden's Icewind Dale, and from the despicable Underdark to the mysterious Underchasm, you'll learn the history, secrets, and wonders of this incredible world.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A Fantasy Gaming Intro
(Updated: April 16, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
N/A
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Intricately illustrated and concise in explanations, this primer is a gorgeous and interactive addition to any D&D fan's collection.

The book is narrated by the bard-like figure known as Volothamp Geddarm (or just Volo), who serves as your cavalier guide to becoming a "true Dungeonologist." The tone is pleasantly engaging, laced with old-world fantasy charm and genial fair warnings. He begins logically with the formation of a well-rounded "adventuring party," explaining hero archetypes (fighters, rogues, clerics, wizards) and their variants (barbarians, bards, druids, paladins, rangers, sorcerers, warlocks, etc.) He then breaks down the nine races of characters, building on the range of possible abilities and dispositions. From there he expounds upon equipment, magic and magical items, treasure, maps... and the monsters and villains one is likely to face in this cooperative fantasy construct.

"A group of adventurers is known as a "party," and not just because they like to celebrate their success together in the end. Your party should be as close to you as your family--assuming your family can cast spells, kill monsters, and bring you back from the edge of death." ~Volo

If you enjoyed pop-up books as a child, your matured self is in for a treat! Starting at the table of contents, every other page has some sort of animate feature--from hidden inner folds to sub-booklets to utilitarian origami. Volo's Most Wondrous Map of the Sword Coast is a supreme highlight among many engaging aspects of this work--a full color fold-out with intense detailing, which manages to expand to at least three times the area of a single page. (With each page being 10 x 12 inches, the total surface area is impressive.) From an artistic standpoint, the book is lovely--containing a range of compatible styles--all featuring dynamic scenes and poses rather than simple static figure sketches.

The font choices are sometimes a touch small and/or more challenging to read than some readers may find comfortable. The actual rules of game play are not included, though this seems to be by design. Those whose interests are sufficiently piqued by the worldbuilding elements of this book should find it a much smoother transition into the actual game mechanics if they've first utilized this introduction.

Parental Note: As with anything involving role play gaming, this reviewer recommends children introduced be at least 12 years old (or at the developmental and psychological point of being able to clearly distinguish between reality and fantasy.) This book itself, while containing plenty of colorful graphics, is non-graphic as far as violent or suggestive imagery goes. (Kudos on the refreshing lack of scantily/impractically clad females!) A few of the monsters depicted could be considered morbid or unsettling to a young reader, but I refer back to my 12-year-old rule of thumb regarding appropriate audience.

Not an exhaustive guide by any means, but beyond adequate as an introduction to tabletop role play games--suitable for both the curious-but-unversed and for longtime enthusiasts.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...

Latest Member Reviews

The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Violet Choudhury has a huge secret. During the day she's part of her Midwestern town's cheer squad and at..."