Gardenia

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1380 0
Gardenia
Author(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
February 28, 2017
ISBN
9781626818415

Seventeen-year-old Ivy Erickson has one month, twenty-seven days, four hours, fifty-nine minutes, and two seconds to live. Ever since she was a child, Ivy has been able to see countdown clocks over everyone's heads indicating how long before they will die. She can't do anything about anyone else’s, nor can she do anything about her own, which will hit the zero hour before she even graduates high school. A life cut short is tragic, but Ivy does her best to make the most of it. She struggles emotionally with her deep love for on-again, off-again boyfriend Myers Patripski. She struggles financially, working outside of school to help her mom and her sister. And she struggles to cope with the murder of her best friend, another life she couldn't save. Vanessa Donovan was killed in the woods, and everyone in town believes Ivy had something to do with it. Then more girls start disappearing. Ivy tries to put her own life in order as she pieces together the truth of who ended Vanessa's. To save lives and for her own sanity. The clock is always ticking. And Ivy's only hope is to expose the truth before it runs out completely.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Gardenia
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
GARDENIA by Kelsey Sutton is such a unique and interesting premise that I was hooked right from the beginning. The story follows seventeen-year-old Ivy Erickson, who happens to know when everyone will die. Unbeknownst to others, Ivy sees numbers floating above people’s heads, counting down their days left on earth. Ivy, herself, is not immune to the clock and her time is limited. She has exactly one month, twenty-seven days, four hours, fifty-nine minutes, and two seconds to live and the same amount of time to uncover her best friend’s murderer. As more girls start to go missing, Ivy feels increasing pressure to find an answer. Will she be successful or will she be next?

Ivy is a compelling protagonist and really drives the story forward in a surprisingly relatable, yet unpredictable way. For instance, while Ivy faces her own morbidity and that of everyone around her, she also maintains a normal semblance of a life, such as going to school and work, volunteering at a nursing home, performing in a play, and somehow making it to winter formal. She has a good heart, but is flawed, especially when it comes to her ex-boyfriend, Myers Patripski. Somehow her voice is distinctive and realistic, despite the sci-fi element of the novel. On the other hand, I had a very difficult time keeping track of the male characters in this book. Their personalities were not as fully developed from the beginning, which took me out of the story every time I had to stop to recall who they were.

I also found that I had to suspend my disbelief at times in order to accept what was happening. For instance, I could not understand why Vanessa, having gotten the note, “Meet me in Havenger’s Woods,” would actually go there. I know she had been drinking and was upset, but it seemed a little farfetched to me that she would randomly go find a stranger in the middle of the night just because. Ivy’s behavior the night of Vanessa’s death also seemed odd. Perhaps if Sutton would have elaborated more about Ivy’s past and how Ivy knew there was absolutely nothing she could do to save Vanessa, it would have made sense. While Sutton discusses how Ivy tests her own fate, she doesn’t address what Ivy has tried to do to change the fate of those around her. After all, Ivy must have done something if she now has a rule against it. Either way, a bit more exposition would have helped here to answer the question, why?

With that being said, GARDENIA is a wonderfully entertaining and gripping tale that had me on the edge of my seat. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book that I am happy to forgive any inconsistencies. Sutton does a great job of blending genres and it will be exciting to see what she does next.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...

Latest Member Reviews

The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."