So Lyrical

 
4.0
 
5.0 (2)
1785 0
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
ISBN
0451215087
Buy This Book
      

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Grooving to the music
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Trace's mom has never been a 'normal' mother. A groupie in the 1980's and an avid listener to has-been bands, she is now a famous romance author. Bebe and Trace have a great relationship, except for one thing. She won't tell Trace who her father is, saying that they're doing well enough on their own.

Of course, that's all the prompting Trace needs to ratchet up her search for dear old dad. She's convinced he's one of the old rockers featured in Bebe's photos. Maybe even someone super famous, like Bruce Springsteen.

Accompanying her on her mission to find her dad is her friend Brina, a voluptuous babe, and Zander, Trace's new rock-and-roller boyfriend with a rich family. Trace's relationship with Zander is never easy, as she tries hard not to follow in her mother's footsteps. She's got abandonment issues from the whole dad-not-being-around drama and she often takes them out on Zander, though she tries to apologize later.

As the search gets hotter, all kinds of things start to happen, including showdowns with Bebe, college scouting trips to California, Brina's secret admirer, a little cheating, and a lot of rock-n-roll times. In the end, Trace finds her father and things start coming together.

This is a fast read and very entertaining. I recommend this book primarily for girls aged 14 and up, as there's a fair amount of language (as in the naughty kind) and some sexual situations (but nothing overly detailed).

My personal favorite scenes were the ones involving Trace's grandparents, who are trying so hard to be hip that they're just off the hizzle. Or swizzle. Or something they're sure to mangle any hip hop talk they try, but they sure are endearing.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

2 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Great!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Laur

"So Lyrical" captures the teen spirit in a hilarious and unbelievable plot. Sweet, serious and funny at the same time, by the end of the book readers will be rooting for Trace in her search for her dad; and love.

The characters created in this book are realistic enough where the reader can easily relate, and while this is not an incredibly long book, it leaves the reader wanting more!

I reccomend this book to all pre-teen and teenage girls!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
It rocked!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by safia

Trace has never met her father or even known who he was. The only clues she has are photos of her mother posing next to 80's rockers. Trace has always fantasized which one could be her father...Bruce Springsteen?

But things get even messier in Trace's life with a new boyfriend and her best friend possibly going off the deep end. Will their be a happy ending for Trace? Will she find her father? A great rockin' read recommended for Sarah Dessen fans and Sloppy Firsts/Second Helpings fans. Enjoy!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Twin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...
Two Worlds of Redemption (Two Worlds, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finally presented to the Allinan public, Maray’s life at court...
Two Worlds of Oblivion (Two Worlds, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The blood that holds the power to change the fate...
Two Worlds of Provenance (Two Worlds, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her fate lies just one world away… ...

Latest Member Reviews

Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
On These Magic Shores
 
5.0
"Twelve-year-old Minerva "Minnie" Soledad Miranda has big goals. She wants to be the first Latina president of the United States..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"I always struggle to review these types of novels--these black lives matter, civil rights-esque novels. I often go into them..."
Soldier Dogs #5: Battle of the Bulge
 
4.5
"Juliette's father is a baker in Belgium in 1944, and has been threatened by the occupying Nazis into giving them..."
Dog Days in the City
 
4.0
"In The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City, Josie and her large family adopted Hamlet, a pig. When..."
Daniel Coldstar #2: The Betrayer
 
4.0
"Copy provided by Young Adult Books Central After the evens in The Relic War, Daniel, Jasper the..."
The Dragon Egg Princess
 
5.0
"Change is coming to Kidahara, a magical forest in the Joson, a kingdom in a diverse realm where there is..."
Efrén Divided
 
5.0
"Efrén and his family work very hard, but still struggle to make ends meet. His father works several jobs, and..."
Worse Than Weird
 
4.0
"Mac lives with her parents, Hank and Coral, in a small house in Portland. Small, as in she sleeps in..."
Daring Darleen, Queen of the Screen
 
4.0
"Darleen comes from a long line of entertainers; her father and his siblings are all part of Matchless Studios, a..."
In the Red
 
4.0
"Michael Prasad and his family live on a colony on Mars, under a dome that controls the environment. His father,..."
Pippin No Lickin'
 
5.0
"As a family with 2 busy boys, 14 and 12, we appreciate Layne’s contribution to helping children understand the importance..."
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
"'Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party' by Kimberly & James Dean is a cute story about friendship and..."
The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
"Agatha loves the work of Detective Hercule Poirot. He's actually her imaginary friend and she uses his work to influence..."
Starfell: Willow Moss & the Lost Day (Starfell, #1)
 
4.0
"STARFELL is a charming and magic-filled middle grade fantasy that sweeps young readers away into another world. Willow Moss seemed..."
Journey of the Pale Bear
 
5.0
"What an adventure I just had! From the moment, I opened the book, I was transported to the 13th century..."
Hey Grandude!
 
4.5
"'Hey Grandude!' by Paul McCartney, illustrated by Kathryn Durst, is a fun, colorful, and exciting adventure. The illustrations enhance the..."
The Peacock Detectives
 
4.0
"THE PEACOCK DETECTIVES is a story told by a young narrator, who is in Grade 6 but reads at a..."
Big Nate: Back to Back Hits: On a Roll and Goes for Broke
 
5.0
"This is a combination of two Big Nate novels; Big Nate on a Roll and Big Nate Goes For Broke...."