Run The Risk

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1457 0
Run The Risk
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
April 11, 2017
ISBN
978-0062433350
Buy This Book
      

From the author of On the Edge and Light of Day, Run the Risk is a romantic and gritty story, perfect for fans of Simone Elkeles. Grace has done her best to move on since her ex-boyfriend Mateo chose gang life over her. But even though years have passed, she hasn’t forgotten him—especially since she’s seen her younger brother Alex drawn to a life on the streets. She can’t bear to think of Alex making the same mistakes as Mateo, but she feels him slipping away. So when Mateo suddenly resurfaces, insisting he’s left gang life behind him, Grace sees an opportunity. Maybe he could be the one to reach Alex and pull him away from the edge. She tells herself she’s only talking to Mateo again because of Alex, but her feelings quickly return. Can she ever trust Mateo again? And is saving her brother worth risking a broken heart? With everyone she loves in danger, Grace must decide how much to sacrifice before it’s too late. Run the Risk is set in the same world as Allison van Diepen’s previous novels Light of Day and On the Edge (readers will recognize some of their favorite characters in this book) and features a diverse cast. With romance, action, and realistic friendships, this is a gripping story about the dangers one girl faces to save the people she loves.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Run The Risk
(Updated: March 31, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Grace hasn't seen her ex-boyfriend Mateo for years after he chose to belong to a gang over her. Then one day she finds him working as security at the small theater she works at. He insists he's left the gang life behind. At home, Grace's younger brother Alex is involved in a gang and she fears the worse. So she enlists the help of Mateo, telling herself that she won't get involved again but her heart tells her otherwise.

What worked: Wowza on the chemistry between Grace and Mateo. Right at the beginning, I could sense and feel the very real emotions between these two.

I'm a huge fan of diverse love stories and this one doesn't disappoint!

Grace is hardworking and tries to keep her family together. I liked that the author showed a Latina that isn't the stereotypical Chola, but rather one that sacrifices just about everything in order to save her younger brother from the streets. Grace has goals and does volunteer work at a daycare center. Mostly though she believes in family and does everything in her power to keep them together.

Mateo is more mysterious and secretive. I kind of figured he wasn't exactly being truthful with Grace on his sudden reappearance. The clues on the truth behind him showing up are woven throughout the story until the reveal that has Grace questioning everything.

The gang life is shown in it's ugly colors. It's not romanticized at all which is a huge plus. I liked that the author includes the consequences of joining a gang.

I really loved the romance but felt the climax of this story was a little rushed. I wanted to see the final battle play out more. Also it felt almost too convenient to have the father 'missing' as he was on the road a lot. But that's just my opinion. Overall, I was very satisfied in the ending of this story.

Fans of Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles will love this diverse tale filled with love, friendship, mystery, and the dangers one girl will go through in order to protect the ones she loves.
Good Points
1. Amazing chemistry
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

A Thousand Questions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Set against the backdrop of Karachi, Pakistan, Saadia Faruqi’s tender...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Second in a new series about a bright and determined...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
There's a chill in the air and frost on the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Disney’s classic animated films come to life in the latest...
Fence: Striking Distance
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The boys of Kings Row bout with drama, rivalry, and...
Pirate Nell's Tale to Tell
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From the author/illustrator team behind The Snatchabook comes a book-filled...
The Glass Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Once Upon a Time meets Game of Thrones in...
Skyhunter (Skyhunter, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A broken world. An overwhelming evil. A team of...
Finding Balance
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Jase Ellison doesnt remember having acute lymphocytic leukemia when...
Be a Voter!: 450 Stickers for Democracy
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Get out the vote! It’s...
I Believe In You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A charming picture book that inspires confidence, boosts self-esteem, and...
Breathless
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Jennifer Niven, the #1 New York Times bestselling...
Of Thorns and Beauty (Twisted Pages Book 1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
You think you know the tale as old time,...
The Verity
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When being eaten alive is the least of your...
Meanwhile
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate 10 years of this completely original graphic novel take...
Grant Beagan: The Finder's Code
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He’s just an ordinary teenager who likes astronomy, video games,...

Latest Member Reviews

A Thousand Questions
 
5.0
"A THOUSAND QUESTIONS is a heartfelt contemporary middle grade that transports the reader to Pakistan. Mimi is 11 years old..."
 
5.0
"Beautiful book. This book is beautiful inside and out. That's the first thing a reader will notice. The artwork is..."
 
5.0
"So cute, and just in time for Christmas! This book had me at bears. From the front cover in,..."
 
5.0
"So much fun. Disney Block is a board book for any age of Disney fan. Whether you're with a kid..."
Focused
 
4.0
"!"
Pirate Nell's Tale to Tell
 
4.5
"PIRATE NELL'S TALE TO TELL is a charming picture book about Nell, who has always dreamed of being a pirate...."
I Believe In You
 
5.0
"I BELIEVE IN YOU is a delightfully encouraging book with bright colors and a charming story. While the main text..."
Fisher- Price Fun in the Jungle: Explore, Touch, and Feel
 
4.5
"FUN IN THE JUNGLE is an adorable board book great for infants and young toddlers who are exploring the world..."
Glitter Globes: The Night Before Christmas
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT BEFORE CHRISTMAS modifies the original poem to be more modern and easily understood by young children. The classic..."
The Magic Misfits: The Fourth Suit (The Magic Misfits, #4)
 
5.0
"THE FOURTH SUIT is a fantastically magical finale. Ridley begins with a inventor's fair which she is entering with the..."
Duck and Penguin Do Not Like Sleepovers
 
4.0
"DUCK AND PENGUIN DO NOT LIKE SLEEPOVERS is an overall cute book about two stuffed animals whose owners are BFFs..."
Fussy Flamingo
 
4.5
"FUSSY FLAMINGO is an adorable fictional tale about a flamingo named Lola that doesn't want to eat shrimp. Instead, her..."
Give It! (Moneybunny Books)
 
4.0
"GIVE IT! introduces the simple concept of charity as well as being thoughtful about money purchases. Chummy and his Gran..."
Little Snowflake
 
5.0
"LITTLE SNOWFLAKE is a delightful story that explains the water cycle through the eyes of a small snowflake. Tiny drops..."
Room on the Broom Push-Pull-Slide
 
5.0
"ROOM ON THE BROOM PUSH-PULL-SLIDE is a delightfully interactive board book sure to enchant toddlers and preschoolers. A witch is..."
Stanley's Fire Engine
 
5.0
"STANLEY'S FIRE ENGINE is an adorable picture book that follows a day in the life of Stanley the Firefighter. Stanley..."
Shelly Struggles to Shine (The Derby Daredevils, #2)
 
4.5
"SHELLY STRUGGLES TO SHINE is a great middle grade read that follows the struggle of individuality and feeling like you..."
Thanks a Ton! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"THANKS A TON! is filled to the brim with bright colors, rhymes, animals, and gratitude. While an elephant has a..."
Wild Week
 
4.0
"WILD WEEK is a cute board book that features an animal on each day of the week, doing something in..."
Peppermint Post
 
5.0
"PEPPERMINT POST is an adorable new story about Christmas and Santa. The Peppermint Post is the busiest post office in..."