Run The Risk

Featured
Run The Risk
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
April 11, 2017
ISBN
978-0062433350
Buy This Book
      

From the author of On the Edge and Light of Day, Run the Risk is a romantic and gritty story, perfect for fans of Simone Elkeles. Grace has done her best to move on since her ex-boyfriend Mateo chose gang life over her. But even though years have passed, she hasn’t forgotten him—especially since she’s seen her younger brother Alex drawn to a life on the streets. She can’t bear to think of Alex making the same mistakes as Mateo, but she feels him slipping away. So when Mateo suddenly resurfaces, insisting he’s left gang life behind him, Grace sees an opportunity. Maybe he could be the one to reach Alex and pull him away from the edge. She tells herself she’s only talking to Mateo again because of Alex, but her feelings quickly return. Can she ever trust Mateo again? And is saving her brother worth risking a broken heart? With everyone she loves in danger, Grace must decide how much to sacrifice before it’s too late. Run the Risk is set in the same world as Allison van Diepen’s previous novels Light of Day and On the Edge (readers will recognize some of their favorite characters in this book) and features a diverse cast. With romance, action, and realistic friendships, this is a gripping story about the dangers one girl faces to save the people she loves.

Editor review

1 review
Run The Risk
(Updated: March 31, 2017)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Plot
 
4.0
Characters
 
4.0
Writing Style
 
4.0
Grace hasn't seen her ex-boyfriend Mateo for years after he chose to belong to a gang over her. Then one day she finds him working as security at the small theater she works at. He insists he's left the gang life behind. At home, Grace's younger brother Alex is involved in a gang and she fears the worse. So she enlists the help of Mateo, telling herself that she won't get involved again but her heart tells her otherwise.

What worked: Wowza on the chemistry between Grace and Mateo. Right at the beginning, I could sense and feel the very real emotions between these two.

I'm a huge fan of diverse love stories and this one doesn't disappoint!

Grace is hardworking and tries to keep her family together. I liked that the author showed a Latina that isn't the stereotypical Chola, but rather one that sacrifices just about everything in order to save her younger brother from the streets. Grace has goals and does volunteer work at a daycare center. Mostly though she believes in family and does everything in her power to keep them together.

Mateo is more mysterious and secretive. I kind of figured he wasn't exactly being truthful with Grace on his sudden reappearance. The clues on the truth behind him showing up are woven throughout the story until the reveal that has Grace questioning everything.

The gang life is shown in it's ugly colors. It's not romanticized at all which is a huge plus. I liked that the author includes the consequences of joining a gang.

I really loved the romance but felt the climax of this story was a little rushed. I wanted to see the final battle play out more. Also it felt almost too convenient to have the father 'missing' as he was on the road a lot. But that's just my opinion. Overall, I was very satisfied in the ending of this story.

Fans of Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles will love this diverse tale filled with love, friendship, mystery, and the dangers one girl will go through in order to protect the ones she loves.
Good Points
1. Amazing chemistry
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account