Daughter of the Pirate King (Daughter of the Pirate King #1)

Featured
 
4.7 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
2960 0
Daughter of the Pirate King (Daughter of the Pirate King #1)
Age Range
13+
Release Date
February 28, 2017
ISBN
978-1250095961
Buy This Book
      

A 17-year-old pirate captain intentionally allows herself to get captured by enemy pirates in this thrilling YA adventure. Sent on a mission to retrieve an ancient hidden map—the key to a legendary treasure trove—seventeen-year-old pirate captain Alosa deliberately allows herself to be captured by her enemies, giving her the perfect opportunity to search their ship. More than a match for the ruthless pirate crew, Alosa has only one thing standing between her and the map: her captor, the unexpectedly clever and unfairly attractive first mate, Riden. But not to worry, for Alosa has a few tricks up her sleeve, and no lone pirate can stop the Daughter of the Pirate King. Debut author Tricia Levenseller blends action, adventure, romance, and a little bit of magic into a thrilling YA pirate tale.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Ahoy, matey!
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
YA Fantasy, DAUGHTER OF THE PIRATE KING mixes the supernatural with good ol' piracy. Fans of PIRATES OF THE CARIBBEAN (especially the third movie) would absolutely enjoy the first installment of this exciting series. If you are like me, you would remember the little Syrena and Philip plot. Alosa and Riden constantly remind me of their romance, and I absolutely adore the two couples' romantic relationships.

Looking for action? The plot is a constant adventure, as moving as the waves of the ocean are and as swift as a fired cannon ball. Alosa, the female captain in a male-dominated field, is sent by her father for a mission to find a treasure map. From intrigue to mystery to sword fights to the supernatural to backstabbing to evil plotting, this novel is most certainly out to thrill. There is not a single moment where the story stops moving.

Alosa is a strong-willed female protagonist. Carrying an aura of mystery, she does do a lot of explanation in her narrative that do not distract from the story itself. Though she knows much about the art of piracy, her somewhat naive nature makes her endearing. With every paragraph and chapter, she grows and evolves to be a bit wiser, more compassionate, and perhaps also a tiny bit funnier. (It would be wonderful if the author expands a bit more on the relationship between Alosa and her crew. There's hints of this to come in the next installment, though.)

Riden and Alosa's chemistry is off the charts. Their banter gives the book life, and though Riden may be one of Alosa's "captors" (in which, Alosa willingly goes along with Riden and his brother for her mission), Riden is open to Alosa and lets her into his heart. He learns from her just as Alosha learns from him. Snarky and humorous, he's such a lovable (and brave and admiring) character.

The ending leaves a huge and thrilling opening for the next installment in this series. Leaving a certain piece of the puzzle missing with a dangerous enemy lurking in the shadows, the book leaves quite a lot for Alosa to do and tackle. I can't wait to see where Levenseller takes the story next.

Overall, DAUGHTER OF THE PIRATE KING is an amazing adventure with romance, magic, humor, and a cast of endearing characters. You won't want to miss this.

Rating: Four out of Five
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
A Page-Turning Pirate Tale!
(Updated: February 28, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Lift up your anchors and get ready to sail into a swashbuckling tale of pirates, swoons, magic, and the quest to reach the greatest treasure of all!

What I Loved:

First off, I must say that Daughter of the Pirate King is better than what I expected it to be, and my expectations were pretty sky high. This book had me hooked from the very first page and did not let me go. I basically flipped pages non-stop, something I had not done in ages. Honestly, it was amazing.

This book introduces Alosa, a female pirate captain who purposefully gets herself kidnapped in order to find a piece of the map that will lead her to a legendary treasure. This character is fierce, smart, and simply bad-ass. A brilliant pirate who doesn't need anyone's protection for she is the one everyone needs protection OF. It has been a while since I've enjoyed a character as amazing and empowering as hers and I'm sure many will also find her incredible. Definitely adding Alosa to my favorite strong and independent YA heroines list.

Since Alosa finds herself aboard an enemy ship, we get to meet several characters among the crew. Some were nice and others quite terrible (they are pirates after all), but the one who stands out the most is the Captain's first mate, Riden. His wits and personality rivals Alosa's, making it extremely entertaining to read every scene in which they are thrown together. If you enjoy banter, then you will LOVE reading about Riden and Alosa in close quarters (not to mention the possible swoons!).

And, while reading Daughter of the Pirate King, I noticed how much I've missed reading books set aboard ships and how fascinating it is traveling across the sea. The adventure, the thrill of dangerous waters and discovering its dark secrets always takes my breath away, and I'm happy to say that Tricia Levenseller captures everything perfectly. Every page entranced me like magic, filling me with a strong need to jump inside and join Alosa's crew to follow her in her seafaring (piracy) adventures! Oh, but minus the deadly situations, of course.

What Left Me Wanting More:

The only thing that left me wanting more from this book was right at the ending. After everything we go through, I expected a more dangerous confrontation. It was over before it had begun, thus leaving me a bit bummed. But other than that, this book was so great!

Final Verdict:

Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller is THE book to read if you love adventure, banter, a bit of magic, and lots of action! Trust me, you won't be able to put this book down for it will pull you under before you can say 'SEA'.
Good Points
A strong and independent YA heroine.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
"SHEEP DOG AND SHEEP SHEEP: BAAAD HAIR DAY is a comical picture book about haircuts. Sheep has lovely curls that..."
My Words
 
3.5
"MY WORDS is a cute picture book about language and the power of words. Ava shows the reader how words..."
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
"SUN FLOWER LION is a great early reader picture book. Told in very brief chapters, the book captures a brief..."
Feast of Peas
 
4.0
"'Feast of Peas' by Kashmira Sheth, illustrated by Jeffrey Ebbeler, is a cute story that captures how something might be..."
The House of Madame M
 
4.5
"THE HOUSE OF MADAME M is a creepy and interactive book that invites readers to take a tour. They are..."
Like Best Friends
 
4.0
"LIKE BEST FRIENDS is a great picture book to teach about similes. The plot is fairly simple. A boy is..."
Paper Planes
 
4.0
"PAPER PLANES is a sweet picture book about evolving friendships when friends must move away. Mia and Ben are best..."
Good Guys, Bad Guys
 
3.5
"GOOD GUYS, BAD GUYS features children at play and divides them throughout by their actions and roles. The good guys..."
Rad!
 
3.5
"RAD! is a simple but colorful book about trying new things. The book follows five cats, Esther, Chester, Lester, Hester,..."
Thesaurus Has a Secret
 
5.0
"'Thesaurus Has a Secret' by Anya Glazer is a cute story about a dinosaur named Thesaurus. He loves words, but..."
TBH, Too Much Drama (TBH, #3)
 
4.0
"'TBH: Too Much Drama' by Lisa Greenwald is another one of her creative stories told in text messages, emails, and..."
Fresh Princess: Style Rules!
 
5.0
"FRESH PRINCESS: STYLE RULES! is a fun book about marking your mark. Destiny is starting at a new school, and..."
Willow the Armadillo
 
5.0
"WILLOW THE ARMADILLO is a cute picture book about reaching for your dreams and what it means to be a..."
Bad Brows
 
4.0
"BAD BROWS is a humorous picture book that follows Bernard when he wakes up for a day with brows that..."
Samuel Drew Hasn't a Clue
 
3.5
"SAMUEL DREW HASN'T A CLUE is an overall cute picture book that follows Samuel Drew as he wheels a package..."
Cactus and Flower: A Book About Life Cycles
 
3.5
"CACTUS AND FLOWER is a picture book about friendship, loss, and grief. Cactus loves flower as they spend all their..."
Quintessence
 
5.0
"QUINTESSENCE is a charming and enchanting middle grade fantasy. Alma moved to Four Points, and she has felt a little..."