North of Happy

Featured
 
4.7
 
4.0 (1)
1314 1
North of Happy
Author(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
April 25, 2017
ISBN
978-0373212286
Buy This Book
      

His whole life has been mapped out for him… Carlos Portillo has always led a privileged and sheltered life. A dual citizen of Mexico and the United States, he lives in Mexico City with his wealthy family, where he attends an elite international school. Always a rule follower and a parent pleaser, Carlos is more than happy to tread the well-worn path in front of him. He has always loved food and cooking, but his parents see it as just a hobby. When his older brother, Felix—who has dropped out of college to live a life of travel—is tragically killed, Carlos begins hearing his brother's voice, giving him advice and pushing him to rebel against his father's plan for him. Worrying about his mental health but knowing the voice is right, Carlos runs away to the United States and manages to secure a job with his favorite celebrity chef. As he works to improve his skills in the kitchen and pursue his dream, he begins to fall for his boss's daughter—a fact that could end his career before it begins. Finally living for himself, Carlos must decide what's most important to him and where his true path really lies.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Another Great Book by Adi Alsaid
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
NORTH OF HAPPY begins with an adventure. Carlos and Felix Portillo are brothers who are marching through Mexico City on a quest for the perfect taco. Carlos is a high school senior, and he’ll be following the expected life path of graduation, internship, college, and family business as laid out by his father. His mother has coddled him, and both parents are desperate for Carlos to avoid following in his brother’s footsteps: Felix is a college dropout and a wanderer who is always searching for the next thing that will make him happy.

During the Night of the Perfect Taco, tragedy strikes and Felix is killed. And so begins Carlos’s next adventure: managing life without his big brother, and figuring out what to do with the grief that consumes him. Carlos’s grief manifests itself in the form of Felix’s ghost. Felix is everywhere, and he’s always offering advice with his own brand of humor. When Carlos leaves Mexico City to fulfill a dream that he and Felix had—to visit the famous restaurant of Chef Elise St. Croix in the San Juan Islands off the coast of Washington state—Felix’s ghost follows along and is a constant companion during Carlos’s time there. What started as a plan for one meal and departure from the island extends into a layered story of discovery.

NORTH OF HAPPY is a book about family, love, creative passion, and grief. As in his previous novels, Adi Alsaid writes with a mature and believable contemporary teen voice. Carlos is a sweet and smart character, and his time on Needle Eye Island is equal parts realistically magical and incredibly challenging. Carlos falls for Emma, the daughter of Chef Elise, and Emma helps him get a job as a dishwasher at the restaurant. Given the opportunity to cook the staff meals leads to Carlos catching the interest of Chef Elise, and she begins to train him. I loved the parts of the novel that focused on the restaurant, cooking, and the food, and Carlos’s character was more alive there than in any other scenes. His romance with Emma had the necessary drama and complications, but it still managed to be sweet and somewhat innocent. Felix’s appearances throughout the narrative added humor and insight without being preachy.

NORTH OF HAPPY is a great book. My biggest complaint with it is that there wasn’t an accompanying cookbook because I would really love to try some of the dishes whose ingredients are listed at the opening of each chapter. NORTH OF HAPPY’s look at the grieving process and how that can force a person to think about their own mortality is never heavy handed (despite the presence of a advice-dispensing ghost), and the love story isn’t too overwrought. The pacing is sometimes slow, but that adds to the dream-like tone of some aspects of the story. And the reader can always count on a kitchen scene to spice things up. I highly recommend this book—and Alsaid’s others too. He’s definitely on the short list of authors whose books I will pick up to read without needing any detail beyond the fact that he wrote it.

My thanks to the publisher for an advance copy of the book in exchange for my honest review.
Good Points
Terrific main character

A look inside a restaurant kitchen
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
heart-wrenching
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
"North of Happy" is a touching YA book about exploring your passions and recovering after tragedy. Carlos was in high school when his brother Felix took him on a quest to find the best taco where they lived in Mexico City. On the way, Felix was caught in some crossfire and killed. Carlos has felt like half a person since it happened and has been seeing Felix wherever he looks. Felix had left home and explored the world, visiting some of the restaurants they saw on Food Network shows. Carlos is following the path their parents had laid out for them, planning an internship at his father's company, college in the US, and then working at his dad's company.

When Carlos sees a restaurant that was on his brother's to-visit list, he decides to take a flight out and try it himself, with the ghost of Felix accompanying. As he tries the food and meets the hostess, Carlos realizes there is more he needed from this journey and accepts a job washing dishes, pushing his intended short visit into something longer.

This is really a book of recovering from grief, coming-of-age, and discovering who you are. Carlos has a difficult road ahead of him, and Alsaid has captured this beautifully. The tone is coated in the sadness that Carlos has felt, and we feel his pain and self-discoveries through the story. This was not an easy read, but so so worth it.

Please note that I received an ARC from the publisher through a giveaway. All opinions are my own.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Red Queen,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The world is brimming full of incredible inventions - but...
Sisters of Shadow and Light
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The night my sister was born, the stars died and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He thinks she's shallow, she thinks he's a nerd. What...
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A groovy New York Times bestseller! ...
Seneca Element (The Seneca Society Book 2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you knew that creating singularity between your mind...
Our Year of Love and Parties
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this poignant, funny, and romantic novel, four nights...
Strayborn
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Elemental Manipulation is tricky. Only those with the power can...
The Path Divided
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every choice has a consequence. When a magical picture...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Marlee Stanley joins her two sisters and the...
Shadowscent
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
An Ember in the Ashes meets Indiana Jones in...
Reverie
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inception meets The Magicians, except with better wigs and...

Latest Member Reviews

Pippin No Lickin'
 
5.0
"As a family with 2 busy boys, 14 and 12, we appreciate Layne’s contribution to helping children understand the importance..."
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
"'Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party' by Kimberly & James Dean is a cute story about friendship and..."
The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
"Agatha loves the work of Detective Hercule Poirot. He's actually her imaginary friend and she uses his work to influence..."
Starfell: Willow Moss & the Lost Day (Starfell, #1)
 
4.0
"STARFELL is a charming and magic-filled middle grade fantasy that sweeps young readers away into another world. Willow Moss seemed..."
Journey of the Pale Bear
 
5.0
"What an adventure I just had! From the moment, I opened the book, I was transported to the 13th century..."
Hey Grandude!
 
4.5
"'Hey Grandude!' by Paul McCartney, illustrated by Kathryn Durst, is a fun, colorful, and exciting adventure. The illustrations enhance the..."
The Peacock Detectives
 
4.0
"THE PEACOCK DETECTIVES is a story told by a young narrator, who is in Grade 6 but reads at a..."
Big Nate: Back to Back Hits: On a Roll and Goes for Broke
 
5.0
"This is a combination of two Big Nate novels; Big Nate on a Roll and Big Nate Goes For Broke...."
The Fowl Twins (The Fowl Twins, #1)
 
5.0
"I have never read the original Artemis Fowl books but now I absolutely intend to. The Fowl Twins is highly..."
Amelia Bedelia & Friends: Beat the Clock
 
5.0
"Brilliant. This was the perfect book to read with my five year old niece. It's every bit as..."
Amelia Bedelia & Friends: The Cat's Meow
 
5.0
"Cute and Fun There's no end to the adorableness of Amelia Bedelia and this book is no different. Amelia..."
The Monster Hypothesis
 
5.0
"THE MONSTER HYPOTHESIS is a really fun middle grade investigative mystery. Kick is living with her grandmother, a fake psychic..."
Carnevil (Monsterstreet #3)
 
5.0
"Ren and Kip aren't sure what to expect when they visit their Aunt for Halloween. She works at an Old..."
Stuffed
 
4.0
"STUFFED follows Clark and Foon. Clark is a boy who loves stuffed animals and feels that they keep him safe...."
The Edge of the Word (Mightier than the Sword, #2)
 
5.0
"THE EDGE OF THE WORD is another absolutely delightful interactive story, where you are the main character in the book...."
Rat Rule 79: An Adventure (Yonder, #1)
 
5.0
"RAT RULE 79 is charming, ridiculous, and completely engaging. Fred is about to turn thirteen in a new place, as..."
Magic Tree House Deluxe Holiday Edition: Christmas in Camelot
 
4.0
"Jack and Annie get an invitation from "M" to spend Christmas in Camelot, which excites them since they haven't heard..."
Awesome Dog 5000 (#1)
 
4.0
"Marty Fontana and his mother move to a new town for her job, and have a house that belonged to..."
The Big Game
 
4.0
"Danny lives in Texas with his mother and former Pittsburgh Steelers player father, who now sells farm machinery. The father..."
Pippa Park Raises Her Game
 
4.0
"Pippa loves to play basketball and struggles a tiny bit in school. She lives with her much older sister, Mina,..."