These Vicious Masks (These Vicious Masks, #1)

 
0.0
 
4.7 (1)
672 0
These Vicious Masks (These Vicious Masks, #1)
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
February 09, 2016
ISBN
9781250073891
Buy This Book
      
England, 1882. Evelyn is bored with society and its expectations. So when her beloved sister, Rose, mysteriously vanishes, she ignores her parents and travels to London to find her, accompanied by the dashing Mr. Kent. But they’re not the only ones looking for Rose. The reclusive, young gentleman Sebastian Braddock is also searching for her, claiming that both sisters have special healing powers. Evelyn is convinced that Sebastian must be mad, until she discovers that his strange tales of extraordinary people are true—and that her sister is in graver danger than she feared.

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Unique and entertaining
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
These Vicious Masks is everything I love in a novel and more. Victorian society, badass women, dashing heroes, a mystery that needs to be solved, and magic. How could I stop myself from reading a book with so many awesome elements? Short answer: I couldn’t. And I’m glad for it.

Evelyn Wyndham is bored with English society with its rules and expectations. She wants nothing more than to be able to travel the Continent and see the world, but her marriage-minded mother is concerned only with raising their position in society and determined to break Evelyn’s dispassionate and rude attitude. But when her beloved sister Rose mysteriously vanishes, Evelyn breaks societal convention and her parents’ rules, and travels to London to find her, along with the dashing Mr. Nicholas Kent. But they are not the only ones searching for Rose. The discourteous but handsome Sebastian Braddock is also after Rose, claiming that she and Evelyn have special healing powers. Evelyn believes Sebastian to be mad, but when she discovers that he is telling the truth and that there is a whole group of people with different powers, Evelyn realises that her sister is in terrible danger.

I expected to enjoy this book, but I was still surprised by how fun a reading experience it was. Shanker and Zekas work incredibly well together, so much so that I could not discern any disparities in the writing, such as if one author had a different style or if a character suddenly changed personalities. The writing was both in tune with Victorian sensibilities and flowed naturally, as well as quite beautifully. I was also astonished by how comical the book was too, particularly in the form of Evelyn and Mr. Kent. Both characters frequently had me in stitches, and there were several moments I had to put the book aside to have a laughing attack.

Each of the characters were fantastic and lovable. Within the first few pages of the novel, I was already falling for Evelyn. I love a well-written troublemaker who doesn’t stick to the status quo, and Evelyn’s snarky personality and wicked wit stole my heart almost immediately. I felt as though I connected quite strongly with Evelyn: she is bored with societal expectations and wants more from life, but her position in the almost-but-not-quite aristocratic world, and as a woman, means that she cannot move about freely in the world, nor have an opinion. I love that, despite the rules that threaten to keep her down, Evelyn puts all of that aside, including her reputation, for her sister.

One of my favourite characters was Mr. Kent. He acts as Evelyn’s sidekick and the comic relief, and it is almost impossible not to like him. It is obvious from the beginning that he is in love with Evelyn and I sorely wanted them to get together. But then we meet Mr. Braddock and I was suddenly torn. When we first meet Mr. Braddock, he is incredibly rude and disrespectful. For example, at a ball, a young lady pretends to faint so Mr. Braddock will catch her, and instead, he lets her fall. Each time he and Evelyn meet, they snap at one another and have screaming matches, but you can’t deny the chemistry between them. It’s real and tangible. Which led me to a startling discovery:

THERE IS A LOVE TRIANGLE.

I am not the biggest fan of the highly clichéd love triangle. Sometime, with a skilled writer, the love triangle can be pulled off with finesse, but more often than not – and especially in YA fiction – it comes across as stereotypical and childish. No matter how hard the author tries (and sometimes not hard at all) the reader can always pick up on the character the protagonist will end up with, despite the triangle. See: Firstlife by Gena Showalter, Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi, and Twilight by Stephenie Meyer. But the novel had impressed me so far, so I persevered, and I don’t think anyone was more surprised than me when I realised I was enjoying the love triangle. And I could not decide which of the two love interests I preferred!

That had never happened to me before. No matter what genre novel I am reading, if a love triangle is present, I always have a favourite love interest. In These Vicious Masks, I fell for both Mr. Kent and Mr. Braddock and can honestly see Evelyn marrying either gentlemen. (I wonder if Victorian society was ok with the ménage à trois? Probably not). Hopefully, the second book will help give me clarity.

The storyline was thoroughly impressive and each scene developed naturally from the previous one. I enjoyed Shanker and Zekas’ explanation of the powers, which was particularly unique. In many novels featuring some sort of version of magic, there are many instances where the magical elements are just there; they are never explained (See: The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh). In These Vicious Masks, the powers are depicted as an advanced process of evolution, which is explained with considerable skill on the writers’ part. This was a refreshing take on magic and gave me almost X-Men vibes, which I enjoyed.

These Vicious Masks was an entertaining and fascinating novel that I struggled to put down. The characters were lively and individual, the plot fast-paced and interesting. I heartily recommend this book to all the fantasy lovers out there, especially those who like a sprinkle of history with their fantasy.
Good Points
Check out my blog and other reviews: thebookcorps.wordpress.com
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...

Latest Member Reviews

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
"I often hear it said that writers are bred, and sure you can breed some decent writers with whatever amount..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
On These Magic Shores
 
5.0
"Twelve-year-old Minerva "Minnie" Soledad Miranda has big goals. She wants to be the first Latina president of the United States..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"I always struggle to review these types of novels--these black lives matter, civil rights-esque novels. I often go into them..."
Soldier Dogs #5: Battle of the Bulge
 
4.5
"Juliette's father is a baker in Belgium in 1944, and has been threatened by the occupying Nazis into giving them..."
Dog Days in the City
 
4.0
"In The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City, Josie and her large family adopted Hamlet, a pig. When..."
Daniel Coldstar #2: The Betrayer
 
4.0
"Copy provided by Young Adult Books Central After the evens in The Relic War, Daniel, Jasper the..."
The Dragon Egg Princess
 
5.0
"Change is coming to Kidahara, a magical forest in the Joson, a kingdom in a diverse realm where there is..."
Efrén Divided
 
5.0
"Efrén and his family work very hard, but still struggle to make ends meet. His father works several jobs, and..."
Worse Than Weird
 
4.0
"Mac lives with her parents, Hank and Coral, in a small house in Portland. Small, as in she sleeps in..."
Daring Darleen, Queen of the Screen
 
4.0
"Darleen comes from a long line of entertainers; her father and his siblings are all part of Matchless Studios, a..."
In the Red
 
4.0
"Michael Prasad and his family live on a colony on Mars, under a dome that controls the environment. His father,..."
Pippin No Lickin'
 
5.0
"As a family with 2 busy boys, 14 and 12, we appreciate Layne’s contribution to helping children understand the importance..."
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
"'Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party' by Kimberly & James Dean is a cute story about friendship and..."
The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
"Agatha loves the work of Detective Hercule Poirot. He's actually her imaginary friend and she uses his work to influence..."
Starfell: Willow Moss & the Lost Day (Starfell, #1)
 
4.0
"STARFELL is a charming and magic-filled middle grade fantasy that sweeps young readers away into another world. Willow Moss seemed..."
Journey of the Pale Bear
 
5.0
"What an adventure I just had! From the moment, I opened the book, I was transported to the 13th century..."
Hey Grandude!
 
4.5
"'Hey Grandude!' by Paul McCartney, illustrated by Kathryn Durst, is a fun, colorful, and exciting adventure. The illustrations enhance the..."
The Peacock Detectives
 
4.0
"THE PEACOCK DETECTIVES is a story told by a young narrator, who is in Grade 6 but reads at a..."