The Last of August

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1796 0
The Last of August
Age Range
14+
Release Date
February 14, 2017
ISBN
978-0062398949
Buy This Book
      

In the second brilliant, action-packed book in the Charlotte Holmes trilogy, Jamie and Charlotte are in a chase across Europe to untangle a web of shocking truths about the Holmes and Moriarty families. Jamie Watson and Charlotte Holmes are looking for a winter break reprieve in Sussex after a fall semester that almost got them killed. But nothing about their time off is proving simple, including Holmes and Watson’s growing feelings for each other. When Charlotte’s beloved uncle Leander goes missing from the Holmes estate—after being oddly private about his latest assignment in a German art forgery ring—the game is afoot once again, and Charlotte throws herself into a search for answers. So begins a dangerous race through the gritty underground scene in Berlin and glittering art houses in Prague, where Holmes and Watson discover that this complicated case might change everything they know about their families, themselves, and each other.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Keeps you on the edge of your seat
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
High school students Charlotte Holmes and Jamie Watson are at it again in the follow up to an amazing and brilliant new twist on the classic Holmes and Watson. THE LAST OF AUGUST picks up with Charlotte and Jamie on their break. When Charlotte’s Uncle Leander goes missing Charlotte is convinced that something’s wrong. With Jamie’s help, they travel around Europe trying to piece together Leander’s latest job and what went wrong.

What worked for me

One of my favorite things is watching crime shows and trying to figure out who did it. Being a Sherlock fan I have watched many different adaptations, and I love how familiar these characters are. Jamie and Charlotte feel like characters I’ve known for a long time but who I’m also meeting for the first time. From the very first page of A Study in Charlotte to the last page of THE LAST OF AUGUST I just fell in love with them. Charlotte who is just an amazing Holmes if I’ve ever seen one. Dynamic and powerful and someone you just do not want to mess with. To Jamie who is as lovable and faithful as anyone Watson I’ve known. The both of them together make a great team. With the banter that feels all to familiar, to their distinct voice, this is a series that Sherlock fans, and newbies alike will love.

The book is told from Jamie’s POV but each book gets a couple chapters told by Charlotte. To be honest, other than solving the crime, those were my favorite parts. I felt like we were very limited to the inner workings of Holmes. We see her from Jamie’s very skewed perspective. And I loved getting to know her voice more and more. I do hope that we get more of her in the third book.

While on the hunt for Leander, Charlotte and Jamie get a lot closer. Which causes more and more problems to come up. Then you throw in a person Charlotte is said to have loved and you have a whole heap of trouble. The first book focused more on the crime and less on the relationship, while this book focuses on the relationship and less on the crime. That said I would love to see how they balance their life with solving crimes, to their relationship. I am seriously rooting for these two!


I do want to take moment to say that Brittany does touch on some really tough topics. Rape, murder, substance abuse, etc. And while it is not graphic I do have to say that it is mentioned and it is something Charlotte is working on throughout the book.


What left me wanting more

Like I said I am so rooting for them, I just felt like they kept having the same fight but getting nowhere. I love the way they are together and their back and fourth is so much fun to read. I just wanted them to get through some of their issues. I just can’t wait to see how this relationship develops and grows in the third book. Regardless of whether they end up together or not. I love them as a partnership.

I’m not sure if I am alone on this one, or if I just missed it, but I really really want to know why Jamie’s mom doesn’t like the Holmes. It’s killing me not knowing why she wants Jamie to stay away from Charlotte. Am I the only one curious about this? Is it like Jamie says and his mom just doesn’t like their past? Or did something happen with Jamie’s dad and the Holmes? Is it just that they have money and they aren’t willing to help the Watson’s? Like I need to know! Please tell me more in the third book!


That being said overall I thought this was such a great follow up to A Study in Charlotte. And while I flew through the first book, this one took me a little bit to start up. It was slow going but once things started moving, I couldn’t put it down. I ended up staying awake till 3 in the morning and let me just say, It was so worth it. The different cities, the plans, the costumes are just part of why this is one of my favorite series and why it works so well. If you are anything like me and love mysteries or you’re a Sherlock fan or you’re a newbie, this is a series you will not want to miss picking up! It’s full of twist and turns that will keep you on the edge of your seat and having you put on your deerstalker, ready to solve crimes.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Handpicked by Amazon kids’ books editor, Seira Wilson, for Prime...
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join Gray Malin’s menagerie of wild animals for a stay...
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Hattie the magician―she’s a natural performer, and you’re invited...
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When spring arrives, baby animals come out to play with...
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The delightful follow-up to When Dimple Met Rishi and There’s...
The Child of Chaos
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This is what fantasy fiction should be." --Piers Anthony, New...
Want to Read Rate this book 1 of 5 stars2 of 5 stars3 of 5 stars4 of 5 stars5 of 5 stars Preview Star-Spangled: The Story of a Flag, a Battle, and the American Anthem
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
“O say can you see” begins one of the most...

Latest Member Reviews

A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."
Summer and July
 
5.0
"'Summer and July' by Paul Mosier is a beautifully written story perfect for summer reading. Readers will find themselves immersed..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
"SCARLET ODYSSEY is a high fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Men are often raised to be..."
Tigers, Not Daughters
 
5.0
"TIGERS, NOT DAUGHTERS is a lyrical book of sisterhood and grief. The Torres sisters had tried to escape their father..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
4.0
"The fallout and protests following police choking George Floyd to death in Minnesota has consumed social media for the last..."
when you were everything
 
4.3
"WHEN YOU WERE EVERYTHING by Ashley Woodfolk is a YA Contemporary novel told in two timelines, “then” and “now.” The..."
Path of Night (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #3)
 
5.0
"PATH OF NIGHT is another great installment of the books based on the Netflix show, CHILLING ADVENTURES OF SABRINA. This..."
Unravel the Dusk (The Blood of Stars, #2)
 
5.0
"UNRAVEL THE DUSK is an enchanting sequel and finale to a unique YA fantasy. Maia is a tailor who dreamed..."