The Ship Beyond Time

Featured
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
1315 0
Theshipbeyondtime.jpg
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
February 28, 2017
ISBN
0062380788
Buy This Book
      

The breathtaking sequel to the acclaimed The Girl from Everywhere. Nix has spent her whole life journeying to places both real and imagined aboard her time-traveling father’s ship. And now it’s finally time for her to take the helm. Her future lies bright before her—until she learns that she is destined to lose the one she loves. Desperate to change her fate, Nix sails her crew to a mythical utopia to meet another Navigator who promises to teach her how to manipulate time. But everything in this utopia is constantly changing, and nothing is what it seems. Not even her relationship with Kash: best friend, thief, charmer extraordinaire. Heidi Heilig weaves fantasy, history, and romance together to tackle questions of free will, fate, and what it means to love another person. At the center of this adventure are extraordinary, complicated, and multicultural characters who leap off the page, and an intricate, recognizable world that has no bounds. This sequel—and conclusion—to The Girl from Everywhere includes five black-and-white maps of historical and mythical locations. Fans of Rachel Hartman, Rae Carson, and Outlander will be swept away.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

For the Adventurous Ones!
(Updated: April 10, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Writing a review for this book is definitely bittersweet! The Ship Beyond Time was an incredible sequel, I couldn’t have asked for a better book to follow up The Girl from Everywhere. At the same time, I’m so sad that this is the end of one of my favorite series.

This series truly is unlike anything else. It has pretty much everything I could ever ask for.

Time-travel? Check.
Complex, lovable characters? Definitely.
Ships? Check.
Your new OTP? Done.

I remember being completely fascinated with the world that Heidi Heilig created in the first book. The way everything was connected to each other, and traveling from New York to Hawaii, all just felt so real. It was a book that threw me into the world with the characters, and kept me entertained from beginning to end. And even though this book feels very different from the first, it still kept me just as entertained, if not more.

When I first started this book I was instantly worried about the news that Nix got. Her father tells her that she will lose the one she loves- Kash. Kash is the love of her life, and her best friend, and life without him is unimaginable. Anyone who has read the first book knows that their bond is unbreakable, and that their relationship is one of the best parts of this series.

Kash and Nix are probably one of my favorite book couples. Their relationship just feels so natural, and despite having different personalities, they are such a fun, interesting couple to read about. Kash is charismatic and swoony, while Nix is strong, brave, and smart.

“I would not end up like my father.”

As much as I love Kash and Nix together, they were just as great individually. I mean, I really admire Nix and her strength and resilience throughout this series. Her relationship with her father has always been complicated, and even after the first book it remains that way. The rest of the plot is a bit complicated to explain, and I will admit that I still didn’t get all of it in this book either, but it never really took away anything from the book. To sum up everything, basically Nix seeks the help of another Navigator who says he can manipulate time, which only makes things that much more complicated for Nix.

Overall, a very well-written book that takes you on a really exciting adventure! I got so lost in this book, and series in general, and I’m sad to see it end! However, Heidi didn’t disappoint and gave me an ending that was practically perfect.

Final thoughts?

This book is truly a mixture of everything you could possibly think of. There is history, romance, traveling, friendships, complex characters, action-packed scenes, and diversity! I feel lucky to have found such an awesome series, and it’s even written by an incredible person. Nix and Kash are some of my all-time favorite characters, and I know anyone who reads this series will love them as much as I do. Highly recommend this one, there’s a little of everything for everyone to enjoy!

P.S Read the author’s note for this one!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two friends in the 1980's were graduating from Cosmetology School....
Twisting Minds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
How can you trust your heart when you can't trust...
The Art of Holding On
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life happens, whether you’re ready or not. All you can...
Breaking Through: How Female Athletes Shattered Stereotypes in the Roaring Twenties
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author Sue Macy offers a fresh and timely account...
Outlawed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
OUTLANDER meets Robin Hood. Traveling through time...
The Path We Take
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He’s alone He’s tattooed He’s badly burnt ...
Half-Blood Mage
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A cursed dragon hunter A half-blood mage...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
If genetic engineering could guarantee you and your family perfect...
Slayer (Slayer, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Into every generation a Slayer is born… ...
Magic Bound
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Starting a new school is never easy and this time...
When Wishes Bleed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One Prince. One Witch. One Fate. ...
Dealing in Dreams
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Outsiders meets Mad Max: Fury Road in this fast-paced...
Girls With Sharp Sticks (Girls With Sharp Sticks, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Some of the prettiest flowers have the sharpest thorns. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Young Trib follows orders and fights. The Puritanics are...
Fae Hunter
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can one mortal take on all of Faerieland? ...
Rising
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Four tests. Seven days. Nine teens. ...

Latest Member Reviews

Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
"Isn't great to finish a series and feel satisfied? Sword and Pen by Rachel Caine is the final book in..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
3.7
"I snapped this one up because I love Wonder Woman, and I much appreciated Leigh Bardugo's adept writing in Six..."
Our Year in Love and Parties
 
4.0
"What I loved: The story was told through the unique lens of four specific events with..."
Jack Kerouac is Dead to Me
 
4.3
"JACK KEROUAC IS DEAD TO ME is Gae Polisner’s most recent YA Contemporary novel. Like in her other books, she..."
Woven in Moonlight
 
5.0
"Woven in Moonlight is a beautiful and lush fantasy, based on the culture and history of Bolivia. It is set..."
We Are All His Creatures: Tales of P. T. Barnum, the Greatest Showman
 
3.0
"WE ARE ALL HIS CREATURES by Deborah Noyes is a series of eleven short stories about the beloved showman, P.T...."
Jane Anonymous: A Novel
 
4.7
"JANE ANONYMOUS follows two timelines: one while Jane was captured for 7 months and one after she is back home...."
Finding Mr. Better-Than-You
 
4.3
"FINDING MR. BETTER-THAN-YOU starts off like a cheesy romantic comedy, but ends up being a lot more fulfilling light-hearted YA..."
Freaky in Fresno
 
3.7
"FREAKY IN FRESNO is a spin on the old novel, FREAKY FRIDAY. Ricki (nickname for Lyric) had a falling out..."
Only Mostly Devastated
 
4.3
"ONLY MOSTLY DEVASTATED is a charming YA contemporary romance that follows Ollie. Ollie had lived in California, until this year..."
Neffatira's First Challenge
 
5.0
"The descriptions are very beautiful and you can perceive the feelings of the characters to the point of empathy. ..."
Ink in the Blood (Ink in the Blood Duology #1)
 
4.3
"INK IN THE BLOOD is an engaging and atmospheric YA fantasy. Celia Sand was delighted when she was chosen to..."