The Ship Beyond Time

Featured
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
1316 0
Theshipbeyondtime.jpg
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
February 28, 2017
ISBN
0062380788
Buy This Book
      

The breathtaking sequel to the acclaimed The Girl from Everywhere. Nix has spent her whole life journeying to places both real and imagined aboard her time-traveling father’s ship. And now it’s finally time for her to take the helm. Her future lies bright before her—until she learns that she is destined to lose the one she loves. Desperate to change her fate, Nix sails her crew to a mythical utopia to meet another Navigator who promises to teach her how to manipulate time. But everything in this utopia is constantly changing, and nothing is what it seems. Not even her relationship with Kash: best friend, thief, charmer extraordinaire. Heidi Heilig weaves fantasy, history, and romance together to tackle questions of free will, fate, and what it means to love another person. At the center of this adventure are extraordinary, complicated, and multicultural characters who leap off the page, and an intricate, recognizable world that has no bounds. This sequel—and conclusion—to The Girl from Everywhere includes five black-and-white maps of historical and mythical locations. Fans of Rachel Hartman, Rae Carson, and Outlander will be swept away.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

For the Adventurous Ones!
(Updated: April 10, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Writing a review for this book is definitely bittersweet! The Ship Beyond Time was an incredible sequel, I couldn’t have asked for a better book to follow up The Girl from Everywhere. At the same time, I’m so sad that this is the end of one of my favorite series.

This series truly is unlike anything else. It has pretty much everything I could ever ask for.

Time-travel? Check.
Complex, lovable characters? Definitely.
Ships? Check.
Your new OTP? Done.

I remember being completely fascinated with the world that Heidi Heilig created in the first book. The way everything was connected to each other, and traveling from New York to Hawaii, all just felt so real. It was a book that threw me into the world with the characters, and kept me entertained from beginning to end. And even though this book feels very different from the first, it still kept me just as entertained, if not more.

When I first started this book I was instantly worried about the news that Nix got. Her father tells her that she will lose the one she loves- Kash. Kash is the love of her life, and her best friend, and life without him is unimaginable. Anyone who has read the first book knows that their bond is unbreakable, and that their relationship is one of the best parts of this series.

Kash and Nix are probably one of my favorite book couples. Their relationship just feels so natural, and despite having different personalities, they are such a fun, interesting couple to read about. Kash is charismatic and swoony, while Nix is strong, brave, and smart.

“I would not end up like my father.”

As much as I love Kash and Nix together, they were just as great individually. I mean, I really admire Nix and her strength and resilience throughout this series. Her relationship with her father has always been complicated, and even after the first book it remains that way. The rest of the plot is a bit complicated to explain, and I will admit that I still didn’t get all of it in this book either, but it never really took away anything from the book. To sum up everything, basically Nix seeks the help of another Navigator who says he can manipulate time, which only makes things that much more complicated for Nix.

Overall, a very well-written book that takes you on a really exciting adventure! I got so lost in this book, and series in general, and I’m sad to see it end! However, Heidi didn’t disappoint and gave me an ending that was practically perfect.

Final thoughts?

This book is truly a mixture of everything you could possibly think of. There is history, romance, traveling, friendships, complex characters, action-packed scenes, and diversity! I feel lucky to have found such an awesome series, and it’s even written by an incredible person. Nix and Kash are some of my all-time favorite characters, and I know anyone who reads this series will love them as much as I do. Highly recommend this one, there’s a little of everything for everyone to enjoy!

P.S Read the author’s note for this one!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two friends in the 1980's were graduating from Cosmetology School....
Twisting Minds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
How can you trust your heart when you can't trust...
The Art of Holding On
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life happens, whether you’re ready or not. All you can...
Breaking Through: How Female Athletes Shattered Stereotypes in the Roaring Twenties
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author Sue Macy offers a fresh and timely account...
Outlawed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
OUTLANDER meets Robin Hood. Traveling through time...
The Path We Take
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He’s alone He’s tattooed He’s badly burnt ...
Half-Blood Mage
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A cursed dragon hunter A half-blood mage...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
If genetic engineering could guarantee you and your family perfect...
Slayer (Slayer, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Into every generation a Slayer is born… ...
Magic Bound
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Starting a new school is never easy and this time...
When Wishes Bleed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One Prince. One Witch. One Fate. ...
Dealing in Dreams
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Outsiders meets Mad Max: Fury Road in this fast-paced...
Girls With Sharp Sticks (Girls With Sharp Sticks, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Some of the prettiest flowers have the sharpest thorns. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Young Trib follows orders and fights. The Puritanics are...
Fae Hunter
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can one mortal take on all of Faerieland? ...
Rising
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Four tests. Seven days. Nine teens. ...

Latest Member Reviews

The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
"Agatha loves the work of Detective Hercule Poirot. He's actually her imaginary friend and she uses his work to influence..."
Starfell: Willow Moss & the Lost Day (Starfell, #1)
 
4.0
"STARFELL is a charming and magic-filled middle grade fantasy that sweeps young readers away into another world. Willow Moss seemed..."
Journey of the Pale Bear
 
5.0
"What an adventure I just had! From the moment, I opened the book, I was transported to the 13th century..."
Hey Grandude!
 
4.5
"'Hey Grandude!' by Paul McCartney, illustrated by Kathryn Durst, is a fun, colorful, and exciting adventure. The illustrations enhance the..."
The Peacock Detectives
 
4.0
"THE PEACOCK DETECTIVES is a story told by a young narrator, who is in Grade 6 but reads at a..."
Big Nate: Back to Back Hits: On a Roll and Goes for Broke
 
5.0
"This is a combination of two Big Nate novels; Big Nate on a Roll and Big Nate Goes For Broke...."
The Fowl Twins (The Fowl Twins, #1)
 
5.0
"I have never read the original Artemis Fowl books but now I absolutely intend to. The Fowl Twins is highly..."
Amelia Bedelia & Friends: Beat the Clock
 
5.0
"Brilliant. This was the perfect book to read with my five year old niece. It's every bit as..."
Amelia Bedelia & Friends: The Cat's Meow
 
5.0
"Cute and Fun There's no end to the adorableness of Amelia Bedelia and this book is no different. Amelia..."
The Monster Hypothesis
 
5.0
"THE MONSTER HYPOTHESIS is a really fun middle grade investigative mystery. Kick is living with her grandmother, a fake psychic..."
Carnevil (Monsterstreet #3)
 
5.0
"Ren and Kip aren't sure what to expect when they visit their Aunt for Halloween. She works at an Old..."
Stuffed
 
4.0
"STUFFED follows Clark and Foon. Clark is a boy who loves stuffed animals and feels that they keep him safe...."