You Before Anyone Else

 
0.0
 
3.5 (2)
854 0
You Before Anyone Else
Age Range
14+
Release Date
August 02, 2016
ISBN
9781492604921
Buy This Book
      
Model Finley needs someone to help her shed her "good girl" persona, so she'll try Eddie on for size.

New York City model Finley is fed up with hearing the same feedback at castings: she needs to take some serious action to wipe the "good girl" stamp from her resume if she wants to launch to stardom.

Enter Eddie Wells. He's shallow, predictable…and just as lost as Finley feels. Deep down, Finley is drawn to Eddie's bravado, his intensity. Except Eddie is hiding something. A big something. And when it surfaces, both loving and leaving Finley will become so much harder.

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.5
Plot 
 
3.5  (2)
Characters 
 
3.5  (2)
Writing Style 
 
3.5  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
OK
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
"You Before Anyone Else" builds the romantic relationship between two aspiring models, Finley and Eddie. The book is told in alternating point of views between the two. Both are working towards larger goals and modeling is a financial step towards doing so. Finley is close with her family, helping to fill the hole her mother's death left behind with her two young brothers. She wants to save up enough money to re-open her mother's ballet studio and teach ballet. Eddie is on a quest for financial independence from his wealthy parents.

Finley is tired of being the good, boring girl- she needs the big jobs that come with being edgier. Eddie needs to stay away from drugs/bad decisions and be more of a good, boring guy. Their story begins with a game of beer pong and a one-night stand. It slowly grows from there, as they seem fated to continue to run into each other.

The book has a very slow and confusing beginning. I found Eddie's secret to be quite obvious and was expecting a bigger secret/reveal from the synopsis. It was also somewhat difficult to bounce between the two as their voices seemed quite similar. Neither was in a very great place and both had a lot of anger and frustration. However, they both seemed to have no shortage of modeling jobs. Around a third of the way through the book, things came together and the plot emerged. Their relationship grew some legs and the foundation was built. Each of them gained some dimensions to their personality. The story got better from there.

My favorite characters were Finley's brothers, who gave a taste for her family and also Eddie's adorable soft side. They had some really great roles in the story and were just too cute. They also served an important function in both Finley and Eddie's lives. I liked how both Finley and Eddie were reaching towards their dreams. Eddie was all work towards it, but Finley seemed to have things fall into her lap a bit (e.g. helping her friend at a ballet-themed photoshoot and then having it go from there). That was okay for me, as I was happy it was working out for her/sometimes things happen in lucky/random-seeming ways.

I am not sure if I would consider this a YA book- maybe only for much older teens; I'd definitely classify it as a new adult book. It has a lot of intense topics such as sex, drug/alcohol abuse, etc. In summary, loved the later 2/3 of the book but wish the first third was a bit clearer/faster paced. It reads very slowly like a character study through only their interactions.

Please note that I received this book from the publisher through netgalley in exchange for my honest review.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Nice
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
You Before Anyone Else was an interesting and enlightening read that takes us into the model world. Narrated through the eyes of Finley and Eddie, this novel was fun and enjoyable. I loved the plot of the novel and the relationship between Finley and Eddie. I would recommend this novel to fans of contemporary romance.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Salty, Bitter, Sweet
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A slow-burn romance in a cutthroat kitchen! There’s more to...
The Midnight Lie (The Midnight Lie, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Set in the world of the New York Times–bestselling Winner’s...
The Winter Duke
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
She survived the curse. Now she must survive the throne....
Most Likely (Most Likely, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the creator of the hit TV series The Bold...
Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...

Latest Member Reviews

Most Likely (Most Likely, #1)
 
5.0
"MOST LIKELY is a fantastic YA contemporary about friendship. The book starts with a woman becoming president and reflecting back..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."