Unblemished

Featured
 
3.7
 
4.0 (1)
1266 0
Unblemished
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
October 11, 2016
ISBN
978-0718081010
Buy This Book
      

Eliyana can’t bear to look at her own reflection. But what if that were only one Reflection—one world? What if another world exists where her blemish could become her strength? Eliyana is used to the shadows. With a birthmark covering half her face, she just hopes to graduate high school unscathed. That is, until Joshua hops a fence and changes her perspective. No one, aside from her mother, has ever treated her like he does: normal. Maybe even beautiful. Because of Joshua, Eliyana finally begins to believe she could be loved. But one night her mother doesn’t come home, and that’s when everything gets weird. Now Joshua is her new, and rather reluctant, legal Guardian. Add a hooded stalker and a Central Park battle to the mix and you’ve gone from weird to otherworldly. Eliyana soon finds herself in a world much larger and more complicated than she’s ever known. A world enslaved by a powerful and vile man. And Eliyana holds the answer to defeating him. How can an ordinary girl, a blemished girl, become a savior when she can’t even save herself?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Dimensional Reflections
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
A swift moving worlds-within-worlds urban fantasy, tinged with teenaged romance and insecurities aplenty.

The tale is told from the first-person present-tense viewpoint of almost-18-year-old Eliyana. Eli is a New York City native (or so she thinks), who is reeling from the recent death of her mother… along with the strange fact that she’s fallen under the legal guardianship of her best friend and neighbor—who she is desperately and unrequitedly in love with. As if her current circumstances weren’t difficult enough, Eli is nearly friendless and plagued by low self-esteem—both of which a direct result of her having an intricate birthmark stamped across one side of her face.


What I Liked:

Author Sara Ella’s urban debut is reminiscent of a blend between Julie Kagawa's Iron Fae series (minus the iron allergy) and Square/Ubi's Kingdom Hearts (minus the obvious Disney references.) Which is an interesting strategy, if it was intentional--combining the essence of a book and video game. It’s not something I’ve seen done before. And in this reader’s perception, it offers advantages to both the plot and the action scenes.

The classic good vs. evil struggle was acknowledged and clearly represented in the concepts of the Verity and Void. And the corruption of character that results in the “Soulless” doesn’t leave much room for confusion. I particularly appreciated the rules behind the process and the limitations regarding children.

Despite my general dislike of love-triangles—especially in combination with the “bad-boy-with-a-heart-of-gold” trope—I genuinely grew to like the competing anti-hero figure. As depth was layered on, he actually became my favorite out of the entire cast. (Although the unlikely husband/wife duo introduced partway through was also a highlight—if only for the stereotype breakaway.) And despite my usual hesitation over present-tense telling, Ella pulled off the style competently.

The map at the front of the book makes for a great side-by-side visual of the “reflections,” and came in handy at several points as world building and hopping eventually ensued.

What Didn’t Work For Me:

-Holy product placement, Batman!
I can’t recall ever seeing so many name brands brought up so often in even a standard contemporary. (Seriously, I'd be surprised if the author wasn't receiving some sort of kickback from Ugg boots.) It’s a minor issue in the grand scheme of writing, but it may distract readers who pick up on this sort of thing.

-Initially the detail about Eli being a vegetarian is interesting and novel--as it was one of the only personal things we get to learn about her before being launched into the action. But it took until the last quarter of the book to learn WHY she avoids meat... which turns out to be a sanctimonious-sounding "eww it had a face; how could anyone possibly..." mentality. I was hoping for more complexity to her, but it ultimately felt more like an afterthought than an enriching thread.

-I'm going to have to call extreme negligence on Eli's mom. She fled to a dangerous alternate world with her infant child, knowing an evil king would be hunting her and knowing full well when a "Guardian" moved in next door to monitor her. Yet she didn't bother warning or prepping Eli about ANYTHING. No fairy stories she'd later realize were true... no basic self-defense classes so she wouldn't be painfully helpless when her past eventually caught up to her... nothing. Not even a hopeful (if fantastical) explanation as to why the facial birthmark/tattoo made Eli special rather than freakish. Everyone acts as if she was safer not knowing anything about her origins, but there’s no evidence that this is the case. (It’s quite to the contrary in every respect.) Eli is clearly in far more danger due to her overwhelming ignorance and lack of anything to draw on for information.

-I’m also afraid I can't say I was a fan of how fast Eli is invented her own realm-based colloquialisms. It would have made more sense if we'd heard her exposed to them courtesy of the native characters, but that doesn’t seem to be the case. The behavior appears to have developed without gradual organic adoption, and so feels rather forced.

Note: Those looking for cleaner, less objectionable content than market standard are likely to be pleased with this pick. While difficult subjects are touched on, the handling is subtle—nothing I could look back on and consider gratuitous or triggering.

For a debut book, the author shows a lot of potential. I look forward to checking out her progress once she has a few more works under her belt.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Good Series start
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Keeping up with some of the special abilities was a bit tough. but an overall small shortcoming for a very enjoyable start to this series.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Naked Mole Rat Saves the World
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can Kit’s super-weird superpower save her world? ...
The Brokenhearted
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
teenage girl is transformed into a reluctant superhero and...
Brave Enough
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Teenager Cason Martin is the youngest ballerina in the Atlanta...
I Wanna Be Where You Are
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Chloe Pierce’s mom forbids her to apply for a...
The Moment We Fell (Mystic Shores Series, Book #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Nothing good happens when people keep secrets. ...
The Hit List
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Los Angeles Conservatory for the Arts is supposed to...
Amelia Fang and the Barbaric Ball (Amelia Fang, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A hilarious illustrated middle grade series for reluctant readers starring...
Amelia Fang and the Unicorns of Glitteropolis (Amelia Fang, #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
The second book in a hilarious heavily illustrated middle-grade series...
Small World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Nanda is born, the whole of her world is...
On the First Day of Summer Vacation
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
When school is out, it’s time to celebrate and have...
Ada Twist and the Perilous Pants (The Questioneers, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An instant New York Times bestseller! ...
Bad Bella
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bella is the very best dog a family could ask...
Dear Justice League
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hello! Justice League here. Ask us anything! ...
Cracking the Bell
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Friday Night Lights meets Concussion in this powerful and important...
Ghosts of Lock Tower
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A haunted tower, an evil ghost, a monster spawned from...
Babies Can Sleep Anywhere
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
What better way to encourage a little one to sleep...

Latest Member Reviews

Amelia Fang and the Barbaric Ball (Amelia Fang, #1)
 
4.0
"AMELIA FANG AND THE BARBARIC BALL is the first book in the Amelia Fang series, a fantasy/magical middle grade series..."
Amelia Fang and the Unicorns of Glitteropolis (Amelia Fang, #2)
 
4.5
"AMELIA FANG AND THE UNICORNS OF GLITTEROPOLIS is ultimately about harmful stereotypes, problems with misinformation, and the subversion of overly..."
Small World
 
5.0
"SMALL WORLD is a gorgeous celebration of growing up and following your dreams. When Nanda was born, her world was..."
On the First Day of Summer Vacation
 
3.5
"ON THE FIRST DAY OF SUMMER VACATION uses the tune of The 12 Days of Christmas to present the fun..."
Ada Twist and the Perilous Pants (The Questioneers, #2)
 
5.0
"Budding scientists, rejoice! The Questioneers is the perfect series to show you the how and to have some extra scientific..."
Bad Bella
 
4.0
"Bella lives with the McBrides, who have several small children and often forget Bella's needs. She gets in trouble for..."
Dear Justice League
 
5.0
"In this short, middle grade graphic novel, DC superheroes from the Justice League answer e mails from young fans. Superman..."
Shake It Off! (Wish #8)
 
4.0
"Bria has made some poor choices concerning friends and social media back home in Chicago, so her parents have decided..."
Babies Can Sleep Anywhere
 
4.0
"BABIES CAN SLEEP ANYWHERE is a cute rhyming book about sleep. The book goes through where animals sleep (e.g. puppy..."
The Bad Guys in The Big Bad Wolf (The Bad Guys, #9)
 
4.5
"This episode of THE BAD GUYS has the crew planning for a way to stop the aliens and help the..."
Not if I Can Help It
 
4.0
"Willa has struggled with a sensory processing disorder her whole life, but with supportive parents and some occupational therapy, she..."
Emily Out of Focus
 
4.0
"Emily and her parents go to China to bring home the little girl they are adopting. Emily isn't crazy about..."
A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
"A SMALL ZOMBIE PROBLEM is a charming story in the vein of A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS and Tim Burton...."
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
"MY FUNNY BUNNY is about dealing with disappointments and not judging others too quickly. It's the main character's sixth birthday,..."
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
"KINDNESS RULES! is a fun new manners book, perfect for preschoolers. Magic Manners, an elephant who knows her stuff, teaches..."
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
"Be prepared to fall in love with the tenacious TEENY TINY GHOST in this sweet book, perfect for Halloween. The..."
Solving for M
 
5.0
"SOLVING FOR M is a beautiful and enthralling middle grade novel about finding your way in a new school and..."
A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
"A PUMPKIN FOR PETER tells the story of when Peter Rabbit went with his mother and sisters to go pick..."
A Parade of Elephants
 
4.5
"Five elephants march along the pages of Kevin Henkes's picture book, A PARADE OF ELEPHANTS. As they make their way..."
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
"My Fate According to the Butterfly is probably the first Middle Grade novel I’ve read in a very long time...."