Maid of the King's Court

Featured
 
3.2 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
2176 0
Maid of the King's Court
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
March 14, 2017
ISBN
978-0763688066
Buy This Book
      

In the vibrant, volatile court of Henry VIII, can even the most willful young woman direct her own fate and follow her heart in a world ruled by powerful men? Clever, headstrong Elizabeth Rose Camperdowne knows her duty. As the sole heiress to an old but impoverished noble family, Eliza must marry a man of wealth and title — it’s the only fate for a girl of her standing. But when a surprising turn of events lands her in the royal court as a maid of honor to Anne of Cleves, Eliza is drawn into the dizzying, dangerous orbit of Henry the Eighth and struggles to distinguish friend from foe. Is her glamorous flirt of a cousin, Katherine Howard, an ally in this deceptive place, or is she Eliza’s worst enemy? And then there’s Ned Barsby, the king’s handsome page, who is entirely unsuitable for Eliza but impossible to ignore. British historian Lucy Worsley provides a vivid, romantic glimpse of the treachery, tragedy, and thrills of life in the Tudor court.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Maid of the King's Court
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
MAID OF THE KING’S COURT by Lucy Worsley is a YA historical fiction novel set in England during the reign of King Henry the Eighth. The book follows Elizabeth Camperdowne, who must find a suitable man to marry in order to provide her family with wealth and stability. As circumstances unfold and she has the opportunity to become the King’s mistress, everyone urges her to take action quickly. However, Eliza has her own hesitations, aware that most of the King’s past lovers are now beheaded. Must she ignore the danger and succumb to the pressure, or will she forge her own way?

This novel offers a fresh take on a time period and characters that have been written about frequently. Queen Katherine Howard finally is given human motivations and dilemmas, instead of being painted as calculating and manipulative as history would have you believe. This story, in many ways, is written in defense of her, not necessarily condoning her decisions, but making them relatable. Additionally, Eliza, an entirely fictional character and the main protagonist, has a feisty spirit and a compelling view of the world around her. Though Eliza and the other maids function primarily for men’s pleasure, Worsley does not make the ladies weak or doting. It is for this reason that the novel manages to have contemporary appeal.

With that being said, the most compelling story arc is the forbidden relationship between Ned Barsby, the King’s page, and Eliza. However, often this budding romance takes a backseat to what is transpiring with the King and what is happening in court. In fact, the ending of the novel, which is the payoff I was waiting for the entire time, feels very rushed and unsatisfying. Personally, I would have loved the middle of the story to be shortened and then the plot extended to see how Eliza lives with the consequences of her actions. It seems as though the historical events are prioritized over the fictional elements, while the latter is the most intriguing part!

Overall, the novel definitely makes me reflect upon gender politics and what has both changed and stayed the same. It is always an extra bonus when a book is more than just entertainment, but also thought-provoking at the same time. MAID OF THE KING’S COURT is a coming of age story, but will appeal to an adult audience as well due to mature subjects.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Maid of the King's Court
(Updated: December 29, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Elizabeth Camperdowne's one main purpose in life is to marry well to help her family. When an opportunity to do this turns bad, she's sent to royal court as a maid of honour. She's drawn to another maid, Katherine Howard, her cousin. Elizabeth knows her place but that doesn't mean she's not attracted to Ned Barsby, the king's page. All of this is set in the very volatile Tudor court where a wrong word or move can equal death.

What worked: I'm a huge fan of the Tudors. Worsley shows readers a glimpse of what might have happened in the Tudor Court. Political intrigue runs high and power plays happen daily.

We see Elizabeth first as a 12 year-old betrothed to a rich family. Women at this time were discouraged to be outspoken and their main purpose was to further their families roles and prestige in court. The author is the chief curator at the Historic Royal Palace and she uses this research to bring life to the Tudor court. Katherine is shown as a scheming young woman who uses her wits to gain the attention of King Henry the Eighth. I didn't find her that likable as she uses her looks to get ahead even to the point of using others, including Elizabeth, to get her way. But Worsley brings life to Katherine and shows readers many other layers to her personality. We see someone who isn't the airheaded queen who ended up being beheaded due to her poor choices. She's smart, conning, but also is determined to rise up in the court.

Vivid glimpse into the volatile Tudor court where men held the power over everything, including the destiny of women. Readers see the courage of Elizabeth and how she takes destiny into her own hands.
Good Points
1. Intriguing look into the court life of King Henry the VIII
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Red Queen,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The world is brimming full of incredible inventions - but...
Sisters of Shadow and Light
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The night my sister was born, the stars died and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He thinks she's shallow, she thinks he's a nerd. What...
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A groovy New York Times bestseller! ...
Seneca Element (The Seneca Society Book 2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you knew that creating singularity between your mind...
Our Year of Love and Parties
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this poignant, funny, and romantic novel, four nights...
Strayborn
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Elemental Manipulation is tricky. Only those with the power can...
The Path Divided
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every choice has a consequence. When a magical picture...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Marlee Stanley joins her two sisters and the...
Shadowscent
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
An Ember in the Ashes meets Indiana Jones in...
Reverie
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inception meets The Magicians, except with better wigs and...
Dark Saints Academy: The Soul Catcher
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
They call me the Dark Queen… Ryleigh...
Scarred
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
Life leaves you scarred. Love can make you beautiful....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two friends in the 1980's were graduating from Cosmetology School....
Twisting Minds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
How can you trust your heart when you can't trust...

Latest Member Reviews

Pippin No Lickin'
 
5.0
"As a family with 2 busy boys, 14 and 12, we appreciate Layne’s contribution to helping children understand the importance..."
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
"'Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party' by Kimberly & James Dean is a cute story about friendship and..."
The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
"Agatha loves the work of Detective Hercule Poirot. He's actually her imaginary friend and she uses his work to influence..."
Starfell: Willow Moss & the Lost Day (Starfell, #1)
 
4.0
"STARFELL is a charming and magic-filled middle grade fantasy that sweeps young readers away into another world. Willow Moss seemed..."
Journey of the Pale Bear
 
5.0
"What an adventure I just had! From the moment, I opened the book, I was transported to the 13th century..."
Hey Grandude!
 
4.5
"'Hey Grandude!' by Paul McCartney, illustrated by Kathryn Durst, is a fun, colorful, and exciting adventure. The illustrations enhance the..."
The Peacock Detectives
 
4.0
"THE PEACOCK DETECTIVES is a story told by a young narrator, who is in Grade 6 but reads at a..."
Big Nate: Back to Back Hits: On a Roll and Goes for Broke
 
5.0
"This is a combination of two Big Nate novels; Big Nate on a Roll and Big Nate Goes For Broke...."
The Fowl Twins (The Fowl Twins, #1)
 
5.0
"I have never read the original Artemis Fowl books but now I absolutely intend to. The Fowl Twins is highly..."
Amelia Bedelia & Friends: Beat the Clock
 
5.0
"Brilliant. This was the perfect book to read with my five year old niece. It's every bit as..."
Amelia Bedelia & Friends: The Cat's Meow
 
5.0
"Cute and Fun There's no end to the adorableness of Amelia Bedelia and this book is no different. Amelia..."
The Monster Hypothesis
 
5.0
"THE MONSTER HYPOTHESIS is a really fun middle grade investigative mystery. Kick is living with her grandmother, a fake psychic..."
Carnevil (Monsterstreet #3)
 
5.0
"Ren and Kip aren't sure what to expect when they visit their Aunt for Halloween. She works at an Old..."
Stuffed
 
4.0
"STUFFED follows Clark and Foon. Clark is a boy who loves stuffed animals and feels that they keep him safe...."
The Edge of the Word (Mightier than the Sword, #2)
 
5.0
"THE EDGE OF THE WORD is another absolutely delightful interactive story, where you are the main character in the book...."
Rat Rule 79: An Adventure (Yonder, #1)
 
5.0
"RAT RULE 79 is charming, ridiculous, and completely engaging. Fred is about to turn thirteen in a new place, as..."
Magic Tree House Deluxe Holiday Edition: Christmas in Camelot
 
4.0
"Jack and Annie get an invitation from "M" to spend Christmas in Camelot, which excites them since they haven't heard..."
Awesome Dog 5000 (#1)
 
4.0
"Marty Fontana and his mother move to a new town for her job, and have a house that belonged to..."
The Big Game
 
4.0
"Danny lives in Texas with his mother and former Pittsburgh Steelers player father, who now sells farm machinery. The father..."
Pippa Park Raises Her Game
 
4.0
"Pippa loves to play basketball and struggles a tiny bit in school. She lives with her much older sister, Mina,..."