Frozen Charlotte

FeaturedHot
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
4880 0
Frozen Charlotte
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
November 29, 2016
ISBN
9780545941082
Buy This Book
      

When her best friend dies under mysterious circumstances, Sophie sets off to stay with her cousins on the remote Isle of Skye. It's been years since she last saw them--brooding Cameron with his scarred hand; Piper, who seems too perfect to be real; and peculiar little Lilias with her fear of bones. Still, Sophie never expected the strange new rules the family now lives by: Make no mention of Cameron's accident. Never leave the front gate unlocked. Above all, don't speak of the girl who's no longer there, the sister whose death might have closer ties to Sophie's past--and more sinister consequences for her future--than she ever knew.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Don't play with the creepy dolls!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Sophie seems to have very bad luck when it comes to the supernatural, but she's never entirely sure that unexplained forces are to blame. Is it really the Ouija board app that causes her best friend Jay to drown? Wracked with grief and no small portion of guilt, Sophie is sent off to the wind swept Island of Skye to be with her cousins and uncle. This doesn't seem like a particularly good idea-- Cameron has had an accident that leaves him sensitive and withdrawn, and no one is allowed to talk about it. Lilias is obsessed with the dolls that belonged to her dead sister. Piper seems normal, but that may only be a front she uses so that she can manipulate everyone around her. When the dolls, a relic from the house's past use as a girls' school, start to come to life in extremely frightening ways, the adults seem to be completely clueless. Not only are the dolls a threat, but her cousins' dysfunctions rise to the surface as well. Can Sophie save herself from the mounting forces of evil?
Good Points
Sophie was a great character who was trying to make the best of a bad situation. She has fond memories of her cousins and time spent at their house, and is overwhelmed at how things have changed. She's trying very hard to get over the death of her friend, Jay, and her parents are being supportive and constructive-- her mother reassures her that the app couldn't have caused or even predicted Jay's death. The fact that she hears voices and gets panicked by them seems out of character for her, and therefore all the more frightening.

The cousins are also well portrayed. Does she have an emotional or mental problem? Is she really possessed by dolls? Is Piper good or evil? What's up with Cameron? He seems like a good guy most of the time, but when will his accident be explained? The delicious air of uncertainly makes this book even more harrowing. I'm not a fan of being scared, but Frozen Charlotte certainly achieves this affect in a subtle yet utterly spine chilling way.

Perfect for fans of Katie Alender, Monaghan's Mary series and Rachel Hawkins' Hex Hall books, Frozen Charlotte was a textbook Gothic novel. Desolate house, insane relatives, and creepy killer dolls that are possessed by pure evil, and spreading that evil to family members. Actually, DON'T recommend this to readers who don't like creepy dolls, because you will be responsible for their nightmares!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Zora's Zucchini
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first zucchini of a summer garden is always exciting,...
Libby Loves Science
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Libby loves science! In this STEM-themed picture book, a companion...
The Hidden Rainbow
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
All the colors of the rainbow are hidden in the...
The Places We Sleep
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A family divided, a country going to war, and a...
Chasing Starlight
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Midwestern high school seniors and swim teammates Alli and Brandon...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
True love has never been more deadly in this lush...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Across race and time, a magical battle for freedom... ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Grace Richardson is a young mortal woman whose only concerns...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...

Latest Member Reviews

Dating Makes Perfect
 
5.0
"DATING MAKES PERFECT is a beautifully written YA contemporary romance that had me grinning from ear-to-ear. Winnie has two older..."
Chasing Starlight
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."